MoneyGeek determined Progressive is the cheapest auto insurer in Oregon for full coverage car insurance after a DUI. It's also the most affordable option for a state minimum policy. If you're looking for the best insurer for drivers with a DUI conviction in Oregon, State Farm is it.
Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2023
Oregon law does not prohibit insurance companies from denying coverage if you have a DUI on your record since you are considered a high-risk driver after a DUI conviction. Some insurers may still offer you coverage but will charge a higher rate. You may pay around 52% more for car insurance with a DUI in Oregon.
In addition to license suspension, jail time and hefty fines are possible after a DUI conviction. The state may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Oregon After a DUI
MoneyGeek’s research shows Progressive and State Farm are the cheapest companies for a full coverage and state minimum policy nationwide after a DUI conviction. These insurers also offer the most affordable car insurance in Oregon for DUI offenders.
Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Oregon After a DUI
Full coverage offers the most protection since it covers the cost of damage to your vehicle in an at-fault accident, as well as theft and non-accident damage, such as hail. The cheapest, on average, full coverage policy in Oregon for drivers with a DUI on their record is with:
- Progressive: $1,234 per year
- State Farm: $1,251 per year
Because rates may increase after a DUI, you might need to save money on auto insurance and can’t afford full coverage. In that case, you could consider minimum coverage, although it has low liability limits and no comprehensive or collision coverage.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Oregon After a DUI
Oregon has a minimum coverage auto insurance requirement drivers must meet, with or without a DUI. It’s the cheapest policy available, but comes with the least protection.
MoneyGeek found, on average, the following companies offer the most affordable state minimum policy to drivers with a DUI conviction in Oregon:
- Progressive: $779 per year
- State Farm: $795 per year
In Oregon, USAA offers the cheapest state minimum policy to drivers with a DUI conviction at around $778 per year. However, its policies are only for military members and their families.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
While a minimum coverage policy helps you save money on car insurance after a DUI, it’s not always the best option since it does not offer much protection in an accident. If you want to find the policy that’s the best fit for your needs, you should start by estimating how much car insurance you need.
Top Car Insurance Companies in Oregon After a DUI
MoneyGeek found State Farm is the best insurer for a full coverage and minimum coverage policy for drivers with a DUI conviction in Oregon, and Progressive is the runner-up for both policy types. We analyzed companies’ affordability, customer satisfaction and financial stability ratings to find the top insurers.
Best Companies for Full Coverage in Oregon After a DUI
MoneyGeek ranked the best companies for full coverage car insurance after a DUI in Oregon — they are State Farm and Progressive. Below we explain their average costs, ratings, coverages and discounts.
State Farm’s average cost is $1,135 per year for full coverage to drivers with a clean record in Oregon, while drivers with a DUI conviction pay around $1,251 per year — a roughly 10% increase.
State Farm got an excellent affordability score for DUI offenders and great scores for customer satisfaction and discounts. It offers various discounts, including bundling and airbag. It also offers add-on rideshare insurance. However, policyholders cannot add unique coverages like original equipment manufacturer (OEM).
With Progressive, drivers with a clean record pay an average of $1,002 per year for full coverage. With a DUI, the cost increases by around 23% to an average of $1,234 per year.
For DUI offenders, Progressive gets a perfect affordability score; it also scores high for discounts and claims handling. The company offers discounts such as bundling, paperless billing and multiple car. It also offers unique add-on coverages like custom parts and equipment coverage (CPE).
Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Oregon After a DUI
MoneyGeek explained the costs and policy offerings of State Farm and Progressive, the best companies in Oregon for minimum coverage car insurance after a DUI, below.
Without a DUI in Oregon, State Farm’s minimum coverage policy’s average cost is $718 per year. With a DUI conviction, the cost increases to an average of $795 per year — that’s nearly 11% more.
With excellent ratings for affordability with a DUI, customer complaints and discounts, MoneyGeek found State Farm is the best insurer for minimum coverage. The company provides various discounts, including anti-theft device and bundling. It also offers add-on rideshare insurance but no unique add-on coverages.
Progressive’s minimum coverage policy in Oregon costs an average of $629 per year for drivers with a clean record. After a DUI conviction, the cost increases to an average of $779 per year, showing that a DUI can raise your car insurance costs by nearly 24%
Progressive ranks near-perfect for affordability with a DUI in Oregon and high for financial stability and discounts, making it a good choice for a minimum coverage policy. While it provides multiple discounts, like bundling, good student and paperless billing, common discounts like anti-theft system and airbag are not available.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Oregon After a DUI?
The cost of a full coverage policy in Oregon increases to $1,741 on average per year after a DUI conviction, compared to the average cost of $1,144 per year with a clean record. That’s because insurers consider you a high-risk driver. See the list below to understand the difference between full coverage car insurance costs before and after a DUI in Oregon.
How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?
This is 52% more expensive.
Since insurers consider you a high-risk driver after a DUI conviction, your insurance rates could increase significantly. You can use MoneyGeek’s auto insurance calculator if you want a personalized estimate of your car insurance costs based on your profile, including with a DUI in Oregon or without.
Auto Insurance Calculator
See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.
Having a DUI on your record does not only cause a high insurance premium; it may also have the following other financial repercussions:
- Fines, court and attorney fees: With a DUI conviction, you may have to pay hefty fines and cover court costs. You may also have to hire an attorney to help you post bail or represent you in court.
- Towing/impound fee: If you fail the alcohol test, the police arrest you and have your car towed. You have to pay a fee to release your vehicle from impound.
- Drug education and treatment: With a DUI conviction, you may have to go through drug education and treatment programs for rehabilitation.
- DMV reinstatement fee: After a DUI license suspension, you have to pay a fee to reinstate it.
Getting Car Insurance in Oregon After a DUI
It’s possible that an insurer may refuse to provide car insurance after a DUI conviction, which they are allowed to do since insurance companies are private businesses. You may also struggle to get insurance due to the look-back period of 10 years for Oregon.
However, companies do exist that insure DUI offenders. If you want the best possible car insurance rate with a DUI in Oregon, it’s essential to compare quotes from multiple companies and choose the company and policy that fit your needs.
In Oregon, the motor vehicle laws require drivers with a DUI to file an SR-22 form with the state. The document serves as proof of insurance and helps with license reinstatement after a DUI conviction.
Oregon DUI Laws
Besides an increased car insurance premium, there are legal consequences of a DUI conviction in Oregon, which include hefty fines, jail time and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. MoneyGeek explains Oregon DUI laws below.
Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI
Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) refers to the percentage of alcohol in your bloodstream. In Oregon, it’s illegal to drive with a BAC at or greater than 0.08%. Even if you’re not at this limit, the police officer may arrest you if you do not seem fit to drive the vehicle.
Driving With a BAC of 0.15% Will Result in Increased Penalties
If you’re driving in Oregon with a BAC of 0.15% or more, you have to pay a minimum fine of $2,000, up to $6,250.
90 Days Administrative License Suspension on First Offense
Drivers in Oregon who fail an alcohol test have their license suspended for 90 days if it’s their first offense.
Limited Driving Privileges for 30 Days After Failing an Alcohol Test
Upon failing an alcohol test, you may get a temporary driving permit for 30 days with limited driving privileges.
Ignition Interlock Device Is Mandatory for All Convictions
In Oregon, it’s mandatory to install an ignition interlock device in your car for all convictions and diversions if you want to regain your driving privileges.
Open Container Law
Oregon law prohibits you from having an open container of alcohol in your car, whether moving or parked.
Repeat Offender Law
If you have been convicted of driving offenses three or more times during the past five years, your driving privileges are permanently taken away.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Frequently Asked Questions
MoneyGeek gathered the following frequently asked questions about car insurance with a DUI conviction to help you understand how it works in Oregon.
To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Oregon, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.
About Mark Fitzpatrick
- DrivingLaws. "Oregon DUII Laws, Fines, and Consequences." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- Oregon Driver & Motor Vehicle Services. "Suspensions, Revocations and Cancelations." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- NCSL. "Increased Penalties for High Blood Alcohol Content." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- IIHS. "Alcohol and Drugs." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility. "National Drunk Driving Statistics Map - Responsibility.org." Accessed May 20, 2022.