Owning and operating a car continues to be a major expense for many Maine residents. In fact, according to AAA’s 2019 Your Driving Costs study, the average cost to own and operate a 2019 model vehicle was $9,282 in 2019. A portion of those costs come from auto insurance coverage, which is why it’s important to always review your auto insurance policy annually, checking for the cheapest car insurance in Maine. To make sure you get accurate auto insurance quotes, you need to get an individual quote — based on your own location, age, driving record and other factors — from several different companies.
The Best Cheap Car Insurance in Maine for 2020
Compare auto insurance rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- The Best Affordable Car Insurance in Maine for 2020
The Best Cheap Car Insurance Companies for Maine Drivers in 2020
When shopping for affordable car insurance in Maine, most residents will have coverage options from five of the top insurance companies available today. Listed below, you’ll find those insurance companies along with the approximate costs for the average driver.
These numbers are just estimates; personalized quotes are dependent upon the driver’s individual factors. These factors include your age, driving record, age of the car, personal credit score and zip code, among others.
Quotes also are dependent upon the individual Maine car insurance company because each company utilizes its own algorithm for evaluating the driver’s factors. In addition, each company offers its own variety of discounts, which could affect the cost of the quote.
The Best Car Insurance Companies in Maine for 2020
To determine the best car insurance companies in Maine, MoneyGeek examines a number of factors for each company, including affordability, customer satisfaction, claims resolution and financial strength rating.
To ensure the best rating available, MoneyGeek studies a combination of ratings, such as JD Power’s claims score and AM Best’s financial strength ratings. Each rating is weighted equally and scored on a 100-point scale.
Market Share by Company
If you want affordable car insurance in Maine with a reliable company that provides a high level of customer service, you may want to obtain a personalized quote from one or more of the top insurance companies operating in the state. In Maine, the largest car insurance company is Progressive, which garners 14.87% of the market share in the state. The following table showcases Maine’s other biggest insurance companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Drivers With a DUI in Maine
A conviction for driving under the influence in Maine leads to a minimum of 30 days of jail time and a minimum fine of $500. However, a DUI conviction also can negatively impact your car insurance rates, resulting in higher premiums. Check out the following estimates of what drivers in Maine can expect to pay for auto insurance if they receive a DUI.
A DUI conviction can continue to negatively impact insurance rates for several years, in addition to the legal fees, fines and other expenses you may incur resulting from a DUI. To find the best rates with a DUI on your record, it’s important to shop around annually to see if specific companies may have more favorable evaluations of drivers with a DUI conviction.
Cheapest Car Insurance for ME Speeding or Distracted Driving Tickets
Moving violations such as speeding or distracted driving also will negatively impact your car insurance rates. In fact, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were 128 distracted driving accidents in 2018, a key factor auto insurance companies in Maine use as an indicator of accident potential in the state. The following table features estimates of what drivers in Maine can expect to pay for car insurance if they get a speeding or distracted driving ticket.
The effects of a ticket on your car insurance rates may be short-term for a first-time offense or long-term for repeat offenders. To help you get the best rates under these circumstances, it’s important to shop for new rates each year when it’s time to renew your current policy. Checking with different insurance companies could result in a better rate.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in ME for Drivers With Bad Credit
Many auto insurance companies take into account a driver’s credit score given it could indicate the likelihood of those drivers filing an insurance claim. Those with good credit scores — a credit score of 700 or higher is generally considered a good credit score – are viewed as less likely to file a claim than those with lower credit scores. In Maine, the average credit score for residents is 715.
The following estimates reflect what drivers in Maine could pay for auto insurance if they have a poor credit score. Consult with companies directly for a more personalized quote.
Because auto insurance companies do not weigh credit scores equally, your rate quote may be vastly different from insurer to insurer, particularly if you have a low credit score.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Maine for Seniors
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in 2017, 21.1% of drivers involved in fatal traffic crashes in Maine were ages 65 or older. To keep these numbers down, seniors living in Maine are subjected to stricter guidelines when it comes to driver’s license renewal.
Unlike younger residents, Maine residents who are 65 and older must renew their driver’s license every four years instead of every six years. Also, according to the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles, once they turn age 62, seniors must have a vision test every time they renew their driver’s license. The following estimates reflect what seniors in Maine can expect to pay for auto insurance.
Car insurance quotes for seniors vary based on their individual circumstances and the insurer issuing the quote. Therefore, it’s important to shop around each year before renewing your car insurance policy to ensure you receive the lowest rates.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Students
Maine Car Insurance: How Much a Teen Driver Will Cost You
Median annual price change for families with a teen driver on their policy:$1,274 INCREASE
This is a difference of 108%.
Most parents of teenagers and college students in Maine want to ensure their children are safe on the road without overpaying for car insurance. While having a teenage driver on your policy will drive the price of premiums up, you can reduce the impact on your wallet by investing in a car with a strong crash rating and proven safety features. Apart from those factors, you should also ask about discounts for good students and teens who take defensive driving courses. And it’s important to know your options for college-aged drivers planning on attending an out-of-state school.
Because students and teens are considered high risk due to their lack of driving experience, insurers often charge higher rates for their car insurance coverage. The good news is, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the number of teen and student drivers who died in motor vehicle crashes has dropped. In 2016, 1,916 drivers ages 15 to 20 died in motor vehicle crashes. That number dropped 4% in 2017 to 1,830 drivers.
Parents in Maine who are expecting to add a young driver to their auto insurance plan can expect to pay the following estimates.
Premium Comparison by Student Type
PREMIUM COMPARISON FOR TWO ADULTS + 16-YEAR-OLD
Town and Country Limiteds$2,215
This is 44% less expensive.
Cheaper premium for college vs. high school drivers
Median premium change with a college student vs. high school driver:
This is a savings of 6%.
Potential discounts for teens in Maine
Impact on annual premium with good student and defensive driving discounts:
Maine students: a long-distance discount
You may pay a smaller annual family premium if your child lives 150 miles or more away from home.
$2,858 at home
$2,671 at school
$187 IN SAVINGS
$2,403 at home
$2,292 at school
$111 IN SAVINGS
Insurance Rate Information for Military Drivers and Veterans
If you're one of more than 800 active-duty military personnel living in Maine, you'll probably be able to get a discount on your auto insurance. The same holds true for more than 125,000 veterans living in the state. The major carriers, including USAA, Geico, and AFI, all offer discounts to military members and veterans. This discount, coupled with a good driving record, can help military families cut costs.
With proof of insurance in hand, you can then take advantage of Maine's "Rapid Renewal" online service to register a vehicle, even if deployed out of state. The state government's insurance website has further details on the minimum requirements and best rates in Maine.
The following table showcases estimates of what active-duty military personnel and veterans can expect to pay in Maine for their car insurance. Always consult with an insurance company directly for a more personalized quote.
Age savings for Maine service members
Median auto insurance for service members: $934
Who Needs Car Insurance in Maine?
As long as a car is registered in Maine, it needs insurance. Drivers can take their inoperable cars off insurance if they also turn in the registration and license plate. If the car holds some value, talk to an insurance agent about how to keep the vehicle protected from incidents that might happen to it while it's parked in the garage.
Proof of Insurance in Maine
Drivers in Maine receive an insurance card that they need to carry with them. Alternatively, they can use electronic proof of insurance. The card must show that a valid policy is in effect on the car being driven. There are three times you'll need to show it:
- When registering a vehicle
- When pulled over for a moving violation
- If you're in an accident that must be reported to the police
Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements in Maine
Maine has some of the highest minimum liability limits in the United States. It also mandates several different types of coverage:
- To cover an accident at which you are at fault, you must carry $50,000/$100,000 per person/accident to cover the costs of bodily injury to another party.
- To cover an accident at which you are at fault, you must carry $25,000 to cover damages to another person's property, such as a vehicle.
- To cover another driver who is at fault but does not have adequate insurance coverage, you must carry $50,000/$100,000 per person/accident to pay for bodily injuries to you or your passengers.
Whether an accident is caused by you or another driver, you must carry $2,000 in medical payments coverage to pay for medical or funeral expenses for people in your car.
Even with this generous coverage, industry experts generally encourage consumers to purchase higher limits and additional policies. (See below: "How Much Vehicle Insurance Do You Need?")
Alternatives to Insurance in Maine
Drivers who want to skip dealing with an insurance company have an alternative. They can get a certificate from a surety company. They can also deposit $127,000 in cash or securities (i.e., the amount of a minimum policy) with the treasurer of state, then show the receipt to the secretary of state. If everything is fine, they'll receive authorization from the secretary of state, which they must keep with them as proof of insurance in case of a collision or a traffic infraction.
Explore average rates for your city.
Car Insurance Requirements in Maine: How Much Coverage Do You Need?
What percentage of drivers in Maine lack vehicle insurance?
National average: 13%
Source:Insurance Information Institute.
The minimum coverage levels required by law may seem high, but they might not cover all of your costs in an accident. The right level for you depends on your assets and the value of your vehicle. Keep in mind that experts generally recommend liability policies of $100,000 per accident/$300,000 per injury for adequate protection, according to the Insurance Information Institute.
Experts also recommend collision and comprehensive coverage for any vehicle you're not planning on driving into the junkyard within a few years. Unlike other policies, these types of coverage look after your vehicle in case of accidents — both on the roadway and off.
Required state discount
Auto insurers in Maine have to give a discounted rate for three years to senior drivers (55 and older) who complete an accident prevention course, so long as they or a person living in their house has not been at fault in an accident or received a ticket within the last three years. The amount of the discount is up to the insurers, so, as always, it's smart to shop around. Seniors can take the course again after three years to renew the discount.
For more on the topic, see our MoneyGeek guide to car insurance.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your car insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- AAA. “2019 Your Driving Costs.” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “NHTSA FATALITY ANALYSIS REPORTING SYSTEM (FARS).” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “Traffic Safety Facts. 2017 Data: Older Population.” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. “Vision Screening.” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “Traffic Safety Facts. 2017 Data: Young Drivers.” Accessed March 10, 2020.