What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Maine?
Maine has specific car insurance coverage minimums that drivers must meet to drive in the state legally. How much car insurance do you need in Maine? Maine car insurance laws require drivers to have liability coverage, medical payments coverage and uninsured or underinsured motorist (UM) coverage as per the following limits:
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury
- $100,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
- $2,000 per person for medical payments
- $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for UM coverage
Car insurance requirements in Maine are not just limited to the 50/100/25 liability coverage. Drivers in the state are also required to have a minimum of $2,000 per person in medical coverage to cover you or your passengers if you have an accident. Maine also requires insurance to protect against damage caused by uninsured or uninsured motorists, with minimum limits of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
The minimum coverage limits set by the state are typically only the bare minimum protections that you need to comply with the law. You can opt for insurance with higher coverage limits to ensure that you have sufficient protection for yourself and your passengers in case of an accident. Higher coverage limits will cost more in terms of premiums but offer more protection than the minimums set by Maine car insurance laws.
Not all minimum coverage costs the same
Comparing quotes will help you find the cheapest policy.
Choose your best option
Compare rates and coverage options from top insurers.
Compare multiple insurers' quotes to maximize your savings.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Maine insurance laws require that drivers have liability, medical payments and uninsured or underinsured motorist (UM) coverage. Maine’s liability coverage limits are typically indicated as 50/100/25 to reference the stipulated limits of $50,000 per person for bodily injury, $100,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage.
The medical payments coverage is set by the state at a minimum of $2,000 per person and is meant to pay for any medical expenses you or your passengers may incur in the event of an accident. Uninsured motorist coverage protects you and your passengers if you have an accident caused by a driver who does not have insurance or has insurance that is not sufficient. In Maine, your UM coverage limit should be equal to your liability limit if it is higher than the minimum.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Maine?
Car insurance rates in Maine vary depending on various factors, including the driver’s age, ZIP code, driving record and credit score. Different insurers also charge varying rates, so the premiums you pay will also depend on the provider you choose.
The cheapest car insurance in Maine is from USAA at an average cost of $187 yearly. However, only current and former members of the military are eligible for a USAA policy. The least expensive option for people not in the military is GEICO, which costs $252 per year on average.
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Maine driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
MoneyGeek analyzed car insurance rates based on Maine’s minimum liability coverage limits of 50/100/25, UM coverage limits of 50/100 and medical coverage of $2,000 per person. The rates used are based on a driver profile of a 40-year-old male in Maine driving a 2010 Toyota Camry with a good driving record and credit score.
MoneyGeek also ranked the best car insurance companies in Maine for those who want strong service and affordable rates.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Maine While Leasing a Car?
If you want to lease a car in Maine, the minimum car insurance coverage requirements will be stipulated by the leasing company and not the state. In most cases, leasing companies will require you to have full coverage car insurance with minimum limits of 100/300/50. However, this can vary depending on the particular company, so you can contact your preferred leasing company to find out their minimum coverage requirements.
For drivers in Maine, MoneyGeek recommends a full coverage policy of at least 50/100/50, which provides robust protection in case of an accident. Although Maine has a low percentage of uninsured motorists at 4.9%, it is still smart to have a full coverage policy in case you get into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Maine
It is illegal to drive a car in Maine without car insurance. Divers without car insurance, or those with insurance that does not meet Maine’s car insurance laws, may face legal penalties. These penalties include:
- Fines: For the first and subsequent offenses, drivers found to be driving without proof of insurance may be fined between $100 to $500. Should the driver fail to surrender their registration and license after suspension, they will be fined $2,000.
- Suspension of license and registration: If you are unable to produce proof of insurance, your license and registration may be suspended until you provide proof that you have valid car insurance. Once your license is suspended, your insurer will need to file an SR-22 certificate as proof that you have valid car insurance.
- SR-22 requirement: Drivers who have had their licenses suspended will need to hold an SR-22 policy for a period of up to three years.
- Reinstatement fees: Once you provide proof of insurance, you will need to pay reinstatement fees for your license to be reinstated. You will pay a $50 reinstatement fee, a $20–30 license fee and a $35 registration fee.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Maine
If you would like to find out about Maine car insurance requirements, here are some answers to the most commonly asked questions.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About Mark Fitzpatrick
- CARCO. "CARCO FAQs." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Factbook." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelly Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. "Frequently Asked Questions." Accessed May 16, 2023.
- Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. "Suspensions and Revocations." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- State of Maine. "Insurance Required by Law." Accessed October 23, 2023.