Georgians paid an average of $1,608 in annual car insurance premiums during 2019. Out of the entire country, Georgia currently ranks 35th for offering cheap insurance. While that cost may seem steep, affordable car insurance in Georgia can be found. Many factors affect rates so take time to compare car insurance quotes to find the one that meets your needs best.
The Best Cheap Car Insurance in Georgia for 2020
Compare auto insurance rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- The Best Affordable Car Insurance in Georgia for 2020
Real Quotes to Help You Find the Cheapest Car Insurance in Georgia
Most Georgia drivers select from the five top car insurance companies in the state when choosing coverage. The table below provides an approximate cost from each company. These numbers only offer an estimate, so remember that your quote could be different. Take the time to find the best option for you and use MoneyGeek’s discount checklist to find the cheapest car insurance in Georgia.
Many factors impact the individual cost of car insurance in Georgia, including the driver’s age, gender, the type of car they drive and their driving record. Georgia auto insurance companies will consider all of these factors when determining a quote.
The Best Car Insurance Companies in Georgia for 2020
Finding top-rated auto insurance in Georgia can take some time and effort. MoneyGeek developed a unique system that takes into account ratings from well-known outlets such as JD Power and AM Best to score insurers. The following table was created by assessing each company against metrics of customer satisfaction, affordability, reliability and claims scores.
Market Share by Company
According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, State Farm Group operates as the largest auto insurer in Georgia. The group wrote more than 1.3 million direct premiums in 2018. Check out the other top insurers in Georgia below.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Drivers With a DUI in Georgia
Data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that nearly 3,700 people died in Georgia due to alcohol-involved crashes. The rate of deaths per 100,000 people due to drunk driving sits lower than the national average and the Georgia DMV plans to keep it that way. In addition to facing prison time, fines, fees and license suspension, those convicted of a DUI can also expect their insurance to go up. The following table looks at approximate costs of car insurance for those with a DUI conviction.
Finding cheap car insurance with a DUI in Georgia can feel nearly impossible, but keeping a pristine driving record and taking part in an alcohol awareness driving course can help. DUIs currently stay on your record for a decade in Georgia, after which time your rates should reduce further. Learn more about the real costs of a DUI by reviewing our guide.
Cheapest Car Insurance for GA Speeding or Distracted Driving Tickets
If you get a ticket in Georgia for speeding or distracted driving, finding cheap car insurance may take some extra work, but it can be done. Georgia instituted a new law in 2018 prohibiting motorists from using their cellphones while driving, causing distracted driving tickets to increase. First-time offenders must pay a $50 fine and receive a point on their license. Getting such a ticket can impact your insurance rates. The following table looks at a few approximate costs for coverage for those with tickets.
The high toll of distracted driving can add up, but it will go away in time – provided you don’t get another ticket. The Georgia Department of Driver Services assigns various points for driving infractions, but residents can obtain a points reduction of up to seven points once per every five years.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in GA for Drivers With Bad Credit
Credit scores act as an important component for insurance companies when developing quotes because the scores help them assess an applicant’s ability to pay their monthly premiums. Experian states that a credit score of 670 serves as the lowest number considered “good.” As of 2019, Georgia holds an average credit score of 682. The higher your credit score, the lower the auto insurance premiums you will likely have to pay.
Check out the following estimates on what Georgia drivers with low credit scores may have to pay for auto insurance.
Improving your credit score takes time, but it can be done. Making timely payments, keeping your credit card utilization rates down and using credit responsibly can help raise your score.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Georgia for Seniors
Georgia seniors accounted for 13.5% of the 2,283 drivers involved in fatal Georgia crashes during 2017. While the majority of seniors are competent and safe drivers, Georgia auto insurance companies sometimes charge this demographic higher rates. Factors such as the driver’s age, the type of car they drive, the amount of driving done and their driving record all affect senior auto insurance rates. The following table showcases what seniors in Georgia can expect to pay for car insurance.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services requires residents aged 64 and older to pass a vision screening test each time they renew their license. Want to learn more about getting cheap car insurance for seniors in Georgia? Check out MoneyGeek’s guide on car insurance for seniors.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Students
Georgia Car Insurance: How Much a Teen Driver Will Cost You
Median annual price change for families with a teen driver on their policy:$2,207 INCREASE
This is a difference of 121%.
Georgia uses a graduated driver's license program for drivers aged 18 and younger. The Teenage and Adult Driving Responsibility Act (TADRA) was passed in response to the high number of fatal vehicle crashes involving young drivers in Georgia. The program provides a way for teens to gain experience driving under the safest conditions and avoiding high-risk situations.
To graduate from a learner's permit to an intermediate license in Georgia, you must complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least six hours at night. If you want to get your intermediate license at age 16, you must complete a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services. Anyone under age 18 who wants a driver's license must also be enrolled in school.
To keep insurance rates as low as possible, AAA advises Georgia parents to ask their insurance agent about raising their deductible, seeing if their teen qualifies for a good student discount, and signing a parent-teen driving agreement. This may help keep rates down and children safe by preventing collisions and DUIs.
Even though your child is going off to college, don't expect your insurance premiums to decline quite yet. Unfortunately, statistics show that drivers under age 25 — especially males — are more likely to get in accidents, so expect their insurance rates to remain high for quite a while.
Students can help offset those costs by getting good grades. In Georgia, insurance companies must offer discounts on liability, first-party medical, and collision coverage to good students. The requirement extends to college students. Qualifying learners must rank in the upper 20% of their class, have a "B" or 3.0 GPA or better, or make the Dean's list or honor roll. If your child meets the criteria, ask your insurer about the discount.
Georgia drivers under the age of 21 accounted for 17.9% of all drivers involved in fatal crashes during 2018. Young drivers do not possess the depth of experience held by those who have been behind the wheel longer. Because of this, expect for auto insurance rates to sit higher for teens than adults. The table below gives a few approximate costs for young drivers in Georgia.
Premium Comparison by Student Type
PREMIUM COMPARISON FOR TWO ADULTS + A 16-YEAR-OLD
Town and Country Limiteds$3,893
This is 37% less expensive.
Cheaper premium for college vs. high school drivers
Median premium change with a college student vs. high school driver:
This is a savings of 25%.
Potential discounts for teens in Georgia
Impact on annual premium with good student and defensive driving discounts:
Georgia students: a long-distance discount
You may pay a smaller annual family premium if your child lives 150 miles or more away from home.
$4,285 at home
$3,625 at school
$660 IN SAVINGS
$3,579 at home
$3,142 at school
$437 IN SAVINGS
Insurance Rate Information for Military Drivers and Veterans
Georgia currently has nearly 130,000 active, reserve and civilian-military personnel. If you are in the Armed Forces, ask your insurance agent how the company handles military deployments and insurance. Make sure you stay on top of premiums and renewals and ask if you will be penalized for allowing your policy to lapse while on deployment.
In Georgia, you may cancel your registration while on deployment as long as the vehicle will not be driven on public roads during your absence. You must submit a form to the Tax Commissioner's office in your home county and have your commanding officer certify your deployment.
The following table features estimates of what military drivers and veterans can expect to pay for auto insurance in Georgia.
Age savings for Georgia service members
Median auto insurance for service members: $1,310
Who Needs Car Insurance in Georgia?
If you own a car, you must hold liability insurance for it to drive on public roads and highways. You must also have liability insurance to register a vehicle in Georgia.
Proof of Insurance in Georgia
By law, your insurance company must issue an insurance card for each vehicle it insures. You must carry this card in your vehicle at all times, but it no longer suffices to prove that you have insurance. For that, your insurance policy will have to show up as active in the Electronic Insurance Compliance System's database. Law enforcement and vehicle registration officials have access to the database and can check your insurance status on the spot. You can also check your own insurance status through the Georgia Drives e-Service.
Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements in Georgia
Georgia's minimum limits of liability insurance are:
- Injury Liability of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per occurrence
- Property Damage Liability of $25,000 per occurrence
Note that these are the state's legal minimums. Experts strongly recommend you consider higher limits and additional coverage. For other common types of protection, see the MoneyGeek guide to Car Insurance.
Explore average rates for your city.
Car Insurance Requirements in Georgia: How Much Coverage Do You Need?
What percentage of drivers in Georgia lack vehicle insurance?
National average: 13%
Source:Insurance Information Institute.
Georgia law requires you to carry liability insurance, but that only covers the other party's expenses if you cause an accident. It won't cover your medical costs or damage to your vehicle.
If you have a new vehicle with a loan, your lender will probably require that you carry collision and comprehensive insurance to cover damage to your vehicle in the event of an accident, theft or natural disaster. If, on the other hand, your car is old and you don't owe money on it, you may choose to forgo this insurance.
You may want to consider uninsured motorist coverage to protect yourself from other drivers who skirt the law. "About twenty states require drivers to purchase uninsured motorist coverage," says Michael Barry, vice president of media relations at the Insurance Information Institute. "And it is a good idea to do so even in states where it is not mandatory to do so. About one in seven U.S. drivers are uninsured, so your uninsured motorist coverage gives you financial protection if you're involved in an accident with someone who meets that criterion."
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your car insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Expert Advice on Finding Cheap Car Insurance in Georgia
- What are the key factors drivers in Georgia should look for when searching for the best auto insurance coverage?
- What steps can drivers in Georgia take to find affordable car insurance?
- How do regulations and rules in Georgia impact insurance pricing and how consumers might shop for coverage?
- The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. "Georgia’s distracted driving law turns 1: Has anything changed?." Accessed March 11, 2020.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. "Sobering Facts: Drunk Driving in Georgia." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Defense Manpower Data Center. "Military and Civilian Personnel by Service/Agency by State/Country." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Driving Laws. "DUI Laws by State." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Experian. "2019 Consumer Credit Review." Accessed March 11, 2020.
- Georgia Department of Driver Services. "Points and Points Reduction." Accessed March 11, 2020.
- Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety. "2018 Georgia Traffic Fatality Data." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Insurance Commissioner of the State of Delaware. "The Instant Insurance Guide: Auto." Accessed March 3, 2020.
- National Association of Insurance Commissioners. "2018 Market Share Reports." Accessed March 11, 2020.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. "Traffic Safety Facts." Accessed March 11, 2020.
- Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner. "Automobile Insurance." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- The Schneider Law Firm. "How Long Will a DUI Conviction Stay On My Record?." Accessed March 10, 2020.