Although car insurance rates increased a minimal 2.4% in the last year, you still can find the cheapest car insurance in Minnesota by taking the time to do some research. Car insurance quotes can vary based on a number of factors, including age, gender, location, type of vehicle and driving record. Checking with different Minnesota car insurance companies for quotes can help you find the best rates for cheap insurance.
The Best Cheap Car Insurance in Minnesota for 2020
Compare auto insurance rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- The Best Affordable Car Insurance in Minnesota for 2020
The Best Cheap Car Insurance Companies for Minnesota Drivers in 2020
When shopping around for affordable care insurance in Minnesota, residents likely will be able to choose from the top, familiar car insurance companies for rates. Here is a sample of quotes for the average driver.
The above rates are the approximate cost for the average driver. Specific costs depend on a number of factors, including age, gender, driving record, type of vehicle and location. To find the best car insurance in Minnesota, check with several companies for individual quotes tailored to your personal factors.
The Best Car Insurance Companies in Minnesota for 2020
In an effort to determine the best car insurance companies in Minnesota, MoneyGeek uses a unique rating system based on a combination of ratings from reputable outlets such as JD Power and AM Best. These include JD Power’s Affordability score and AM Best’s financial strength rating, which examine factors such as affordability, reliability, ability to pay policyholders and customer service. These ratings are weighed equally in order to provide a score on a 100-point scale.
There are many Minnesota car insurance companies, but it is State Farm that is the largest car insurance company in the state with 23.76% of the market share.
Market Share by Company
Cheapest Car Insurance for Drivers With a DUI in Minnesota
The effects of a DUI on your driving record in Minnesota go beyond jail time of up to 90 days and a $1,000 fine. It also can adversely affect your car insurance, resulting in increased premiums.
Because Minnesota car insurance companies weigh a DUI on your driving record on varying scales, it’s unknown just how long it will negatively impact your car insurance rates. Therefore, to keep your rates down, you should shop around for different car insurance quotes each year when it’s time to renew your policy.
Cheapest Car Insurance for MN Speeding or Distracted Driving Tickets
Speeding and distracted driving tickets can impact car insurance rates and not in a good way. These are seen as indicators of a higher risk driver, resulting in higher car insurance premiums. Distracted driving accidents are another indication of higher risk; in Minnesota, there were 349 distracted driving accidents in 2018.
In some cases, speeding and distracted driving tickets will have short-term effects on car insurance rates, while other cases will see long-term effects. To get the cheapest car insurance in Minnesota under these circumstances, the best approach is to check with various Minnesota car insurance companies for car insurance quotes every year when it’s time to renew your policy.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Minnesota for Drivers With Bad Credit
Credit scores are yet another factor Minnesota car insurance companies use to evaluate the risk level of drivers. Simply put, the higher the credit score, the lower the risk, and, therefore, the lower the insurance costs. In Minnesota, the average credit score is 733.
A good credit score is generally considered 700 or higher. There are steps you can take to raise your credit score, which can result in lower insurance rates. In the meantime, if you have bad credit, you still can find affordable car insurance in Minnesota by shopping around and getting personalized quotes from several different companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Minnesota for Seniors
As they get older, seniors in Minnesota naturally become higher risk drivers due to declining physical and, possibly, mental health faculties. However, older drivers generally are safe in Minnesota. In fact, according to the Minnesota Office of Traffic Safety, 20.4% of all licensed drivers in 2018 were age 65 and older, but they were involved in just 15.4% of all crashes. This will help keep the cost of car insurance for seniors affordable.
Car insurance for seniors can vary based on a number of factors, including their age, so it’s a good idea to compare car insurance quotes from several Minnesota car insurance companies every year when preparing to renew a policy.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Students
Minnesota Car Insurance: How Much a Teen Driver Will Cost You
Median annual price change for families with a teen driver on their policy:$1,493 INCREASE
This is a difference of 100%.
Minnesota has a graduated driver's license system to introduce teenage drivers to the behind-the-wheel experience, including a learning permit, a provisional license and a full license. In most cases, insurance companies will not charge for someone with a learner's permit when added to their parents’ policy. Once teeangers have a provisional or full license, they must have auto insurance in order to drive unaccompanied. Typically, it is cheaper for parents to add a teenage driver to a family policy. Providing car insurance for college students varies based on where they attend school, so talk with your insurance agent to ensure your student’s coverage is sufficient.
While teens and college students continue to be high risk drivers due in large part to their inexperience, there is good news. According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety, the number of teen-related accidents dropped from 17% in 2017 to 16% in 2018. The number of teen fatalities also dropped from 11% in 2011 to 8% in 2018. These lower rates can help keep teen car insurance rates affordable.
Premium Comparison by Student Type
PREMIUM COMPARISON FOR TWO ADULTS + A 16-YEAR-OLD
Town and Country Limiteds$3,246
This is 35% less expensive.
Cheaper premium for college vs. high school drivers
Median premium change with a college student vs. high school driver:
This is a savings of 20%.
Potential discounts for teens in Minnesota
Impact on annual premium with good student and defensive driving discounts:
Minnesota students: a long-distance discount
You may pay a smaller annual family premium if your child lives 150 miles or more away from home.
$3,628 at home
$3,154 at school
$474 IN SAVINGS
$3,026 at home
$2,718 at school
$308 IN SAVINGS
Insurance Rate Information for Military Drivers and Veterans
Military discounts on auto insurance are available for active-duty members of the armed forces and veterans in the North Star State, with about 600 active-duty members and more than 360,000 veterans. Major insurance carriers offer them, as well as specialized companies that work only with military members and vets. To find the best rate, consider your net worth and the value of your car, compare it with the mandated minimum insurance for Minnesota and get several quotes from insurance companies.
Once your auto insurance is squared away, as a military member you won't need to register your insured vehicle while stationed in Minnesota so long as it is properly registered in your home state. Minnesota residents on active duty out-of-state are exempt from registration tax for up to one year after discharge. You must be the owner or co-owner, and the vehicle must be registered in Minnesota throughout your service.
Age savings for Minnesota service members
Median auto insurance for service members: $1,109
Who Needs Car Insurance in Minnesota?
All vehicle owners, except the handful who choose to post a substantial bond (See Alternatives to Insurance, below). State law requires drivers to carry insurance at all times, including coverage for vehicles that owners are "contemplating" using.
Proof of Insurance in Minnesota
State law requires drivers to show an insurance card or other proof of coverage when
- Registering a vehicle
- Taking a driving test
- Renewing a vehicle registration
Requested by a law enforcement officer during a traffic stop or after an accident
The state legally allows drivers to carry proof of insurance electronically on a mobile device. Whether you carry it on your phone or in your wallet, your proof of insurance should include coverage, the insurance company's name, the expiration date of the policy, and a list of insured vehicles.
Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements in Minnesota
Minnesota has more basic insurance requirements than many other states. The types and minimum amounts of vehicle insurance you need to buy are:
Personal Injury Protection (PIP), also known as "no-fault" insurance
- $40,000 per person, per accident.
- $20,000 for medical expenses for any one person.
- $20,000 for income loss, funeral expenses, and other non-medical costs.
- $30,000 for injuries to one person in an accident.
- $60,000 for injuries to two or more individuals in an accident.
- $10,000 for property damage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
- $25,000 for injuries to one person in an accident.
- $50,000 for injuries to two or more people in an accident.
Underinsured Motorist Coverage
- $25,000 for injuries to one person in an accident.
- $50,000 for injuries to two or more people in an accident.
It's important to note that PIP coverage does not apply to motorcycles, so motorcyclists must purchase a separate policy.
Is this package enough to cover the costs of a catastrophic accident? See: "How Much Car Insurance Coverage Do I Need?" below.
Alternatives to Insurance in Minnesota
Residents have alternatives to purchasing automobile insurance in Minnesota as long as they can provide "proof of financial responsibility." In other words, the driver must prove he or she has enough savings or equity to meet the minimum liability requirements set by the state (via surety bond or cash deposit).
If the costs of a catastrophic accident exceed your bond or deposit, of course, you'll still be liable for the costs.
High-Risk Auto Insurance Program in Minnesota
The Minnesota Automobile Insurance Plan offers high-risk insurance plans to people who have a bad driving record and can't get coverage. To be eligible, applicants must demonstrate they have attempted to obtain automobile insurance within the past 60 days and were denied coverage.
Car Insurance Requirements in MN: How Much Coverage Do You Need?
What percentage of drivers in Minnesota lack vehicle insurance?
National average: 13%
Source:Insurance Information Institute.
Minnesota requires more insurance than most other states. However, the minimum coverage still isn't likely to cover all of the costs of an accident. The required no-fault coverage (PIP) only applies to the expenses from an injury in an accident (e.g. medical costs, wage loss, and funeral expenses); it won't cover vehicle repair or replacement.
You may want to consider a more robust insurance policy that will offer better protection. Most consumer and insurance industry groups recommend you have at least $100,000 per injury and $300,000 per accident, according to the Insurance Information Institute. For more on the different types of insurance coverage and possible discounts you may qualify for, see MoneyGeek guide to car insurance on the topic.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your car insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety. “Minnesota Motor Vehicle Crash Facts 2018.” Accessed March 15, 2020.
- Minnesota Office of Traffic Safety. “Older Drivers”. Accessed March 15, 2020.