Now is a great time for finding the cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts. From 2018 to 2019, car insurance premiums dropped a notable 29.5%, making car insurance more affordable than ever. However, it is still important for you to seek out your own personalized car insurance quotes given car insurance companies base their rates on a number of individual factors. Shopping around is the best way to find cheap insurance.
The Best Cheap Car Insurance in Massachusetts for 2020
Compare auto insurance rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- The Best Affordable Car Insurance in Massachusetts for 2020
The Best Cheap Car Insurance Companies for MA Drivers in 2020
To find the best car insurance in Massachusetts, start with the following top five car insurance companies serving the state. Listed below you’ll find approximate car insurance costs for the average driver from these companies. However, it’s important to note these rates don’t apply to all drivers.
Car insurance quotes are dependent on a number of factors such as age, gender, type of vehicle, driving record, location and others. Therefore, you need to speak with a variety of Massachusetts car insurance companies to get personalized quotes based on those factors for an accurate look at your car insurance costs.
The Best Car Insurance Companies in Massachusetts for 2020
In order to help Massachusetts drivers find cheap insurance, MoneyGeek uses its own unique rating system to determine which Massachusetts car insurance companies are the best. This system utilizes a combination of ratings from such reputable outlets as AM Best and JD Power.
For instance, AM Best's financial strength rating speaks to the company’s ability to pay claims, while JD Power’s Affordability score looks at the pricing of car insurance policies. These along with such factors as reliability and customer service help determine which companies are worthy of your money.
Market Share by Company
In Massachusetts, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the largest car insurance company is MAPFRE Insurance Group, which has 23.28% of the market share in the state.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Drivers With a DUI in Massachusetts
Having a DUI on your driving record comes with certain penalties, including up to 30 months in jail and fines ranging from $500 to $5,000. It also will have an adverse effect on your car insurance premiums as well.
The effects of a DUI on your car insurance rates could carry over the long term, so it’s important for you to check with a variety of Massachusetts car insurance companies each year when it’s time to renew. Because each company weighs a DUI differently in their evaluation, rates will vary from insurer to insurer.
Cheapest Car Insurance for MA Speeding or Distracted Driving Tickets
Moving violations like speeding or distracted driving tickets can lead to higher car insurance premiums. Drivers with these tickets on their records are seen as higher-risk drivers in the eyes of the insurance companies. In fact, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in Massachusetts, there were 343 accidents in 218 related to distracted driving, another factor the insurance companies take into account when determining risk and, thus, insurance rates.
There’s no set timeframe for how long a speeding or distracted driving ticket can affect car insurance rates, but it definitely will have short-term effects. To keep rates affordable, check with a number of Massachusetts car insurance companies for personalized quotes based on your individual factors before renewing your policy each year.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in MA for Drivers With Bad Credit
While many states use a driver’s credit score to impact rates, Massachusetts state law protects drivers from rate increases based on credit score. For Massachusetts, the average credit score is 723, higher than the national average of 703 for 2019. A good credit score is generally considered to be 700 and higher. While a lower score shouldn’t inform your car insurance rates in Massachusetts, it could impact other areas of your finances, like home loans and credit lines. Raising your credit score could help you improve your finances overall.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Massachusetts for Seniors
Keeping older drivers safe is a goal for everyone to achieve. In Massachusetts, 59 of the 469 drivers involved in fatal traffic crashes in 2017 were age 65 or older, per the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Although Massachusetts does not revoke driving privileges due to age, it does require all drivers age 75 and older to take an in-person vision test or to provide a vision screening certificate.
Car insurance for seniors in Massachusetts can be higher due to their elevated risk for accidents, something every car insurance company considers when quoting rates.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Students
Massachusetts Car Insurance: How Much a Teen Driver Will Cost You
Median annual price change for families with a teen driver on their policy:$1,840 INCREASE
This is a difference of 87%.
In Massachusetts, teen drivers with a learner's permit do not need to be listed on the policyholder's insurance. Once they get their junior operator's license (JOL), however, they should be listed under the parents' policy. Rather than purchasing cheap insurance for their teens, parents should invest in vehicles with high safety ratings and additional safety features, which qualifies them for lower payments thanks to a state mandate.
According to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, motor vehicles are one of the leading causes of death among teen drivers. The good news is, there has been a sharp decline in injury rates for drivers ages 16 and 17. This decline can help keep car insurance costs down.
Premium Comparison by Student Type
PREMIUM COMPARISON FOR TWO ADULTS + A 16-YEAR-OLD
Town and Country Limiteds$3,668
This is 43% less expensive.
Cheaper premium for college vs. high school drivers
Median premium change with a college student vs. high school driver:
This is a savings of 30%.
Potential discounts for teens in Massachusetts
Impact on annual premium with good student and defensive driving discounts:
Massachusetts students: a long-distance discount
You may pay a smaller annual family premium if your child lives 150 miles or more away from home.
$3,517 at home
$3,409 at school
$108 IN SAVINGS
$3,517 at home
$3,409 at school
$108 IN SAVINGS
Insurance Rate Information for Military Drivers and Veterans
If you're one of the approximately 3,500 active-duty military personnel stationed in Massachusetts, or even if it's already your home state, chances are discounts on auto insurance are available to you and your family. Veterans qualify, too.
The state attorney general's office offers some tips for buying auto insurance in Massachusetts as well as the solid suggestion to get all premium quotes in writing as you compare rates.Once your insurance is covered, you can register the vehicle at the DMV. If you are a disabled veteran, you won't have to pay registration fees or property taxes on your vehicle. If you bought and registered a car or truck in your home state, you don't have to re-register in Massachusetts. You'll still have to carry at least the mandated minimum insurance under Massachusetts law while deployed here. There is one twist in the law: if you bought and registered a vehicle outside your home state and are then stationed in Massachusetts, you've got 30 days to register it in the state.
Age savings for Massachusetts service members
Median auto insurance for service members: $1,469
Who Needs Car Insurance in Massachusetts?
Every driver in Massachusetts is required to have auto insurance or an approved alternative (see below). Your car insurance must include four types of coverage:
- Liability insurance in case of injury.
- Liability insurance in case of property damage.
- Personal injury insurance.
- Insurance against uninsured motorists.
All licensed drivers in the household must be listed on a car's insurance plan, unless they submit an exclusion form to their insurance company.
Proof of Insurance in Massachusetts
To get a car registered, drivers must first get it insured. From that point forward, they do not need to carry an insurance card — their insurance information will be on their registration, which should be kept inside the vehicle. Drivers need to show their registration when a police officer asks to see it, when they register their vehicle and after they are in a car accident.
Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements in Massachusetts
Here's the breakdown of the minimum amounts needed on a Massachusetts car insurance policy:
- $20,000 per person for injury to others.
- $40,000 per accident for injury to others.
- $20,000 per person for injury caused by an uninsured driver.
- $40,000 per accident for injury caused by an uninsured driver.
- $8,000 of personal injury protection per person/accident.
- $5,000 of property damage protection per accident.
These are just the minimum requirements, and experts recommend carrying more liability insurance coverage. (See: How Much Vehicle Insurance Do You Need?).
Alternatives to Insurance in Massachusetts
The commonwealth of Massachusetts encourages motorists to get traditional auto insurance, but drivers can skip this requirement if they put down at least $10,000 as a cash deposit or liability bond. This money will be used to settle claims should the driver be at fault in an accident, but it's unlikely to meet the total costs. Drivers who choose this route should be aware that other parties can go after their savings and homes if they don't have auto insurance.
Explore average rates for your city.
Car Insurance Requirements in MA: How Much Coverage Do You Need?
What percentage of drivers in Massachusetts lack vehicle insurance?
National average: 12.6%
Source:Insurance Information Institute.
Cheap car insurance is great — provided the car is never in a crash. When accidents happen, the minimum insurance likely won't be enough to cover costs. According to the Insurance Information Institute, drivers should be aiming for $100,000/$300,000 of coverage for personal and accident liability, far above the levels mandated by Massachusetts.
And while collision and comprehensive coverage are optional, if you have a newer model car, you may want to consider getting those as well.
Massachusetts requires insurance companies to offer discounts to drivers with a history of careful driving. Discounts are also required for drivers over the age of 65 and for cars with certain safety and security features, including anti-theft devices.
Individual insurance companies may offer their own discounts in addition to those listed above. For more on the subject and the type of discounts you may qualify for, see the MoneyGeek guide to car insurance.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your car insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- Commonwealth of Massachusetts. “Transportation Safety and Injury Prevention.” Accessed March 14, 2020.
- National Association of Insurance Commissioners. “2018 Market Share Reports for Property/Casualty Groups and Companies By State and Countrywide.” Accessed March 14, 2020.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “NHTSA FATALITY ANALYSIS REPORTING SYSTEM (FARS).” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “Traffic Safety Facts 2017 Data: Older Population.” Accessed March 14, 2020.