All Virginia drivers are required to carry proof of insurance while driving. But finding the cheapest car insurance in Virginia doesn’t mean having to sacrifice quality for cost. By requesting free car insurance quotes from multiple Virginia auto insurance companies you will raise your chances of finding the best plan for you at the best price. Car insurance rates are dependent on a variety of factors including your age, gender, the type of car you drive and driving history, so it’s important to speak with multiple providers and compare car insurance quotes before making your selection.
The Best Cheap Car Insurance in Virginia for 2020
Compare auto insurance rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- The Best Affordable Car Insurance in Virginia for 2020
The Best Cheap Car Insurance Companies for Virginia Drivers in 2020
Most drivers in the state will be able to choose from the top five car insurance companies when seeking affordable car insurance in Virginia. The table below provides approximate rates for the average driver from each of the state’s main providers.
It's important to remember that each person is unique and personal details and driving record will be taken into consideration when preparing a quote. While this table provides approximate rates for each provider, please request a personalized quote to learn more. Not sure how much coverage you need? MoneyGeek can help with that too!
The Best Car Insurance Companies in Virginia for 2020
MoneyGeek has created a unique rating system to highlight the five Virginia car insurance companies and help you with your search. This system is based on ratings from reputable outlets like J.D. Power and AM best, including J.D. Power’s customer satisfaction score and AM Best’s financial strength rating. The best insurance companies have high ratings in reliability, affordability, and customer satisfaction.
Market Share by Company
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) reported that the CEICO Group holds 19.01% of the market share, making it the largest car insurance company in the state of Virginia. The following table showcases the four largest companies in the state.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Drivers With a DUI in Virginia
Driving under the influence is one of the leading causes of fatal accidents in the country. Being cited with a DUI will likely result in jail time, fines, a license suspension and a spike in your insurance rates. In the state of Virginia, DUI offenders can face a minimum of five days in jail, a minimum of $250 in fines and a one-year license suspension. The following table showcases what drivers in Virginia who get a DUI can expect to pay in auto insurance.
It’s not uncommon for insurance rates to double overnight after a DUI, and the minimum estimated cost for a DUI is estimated at $45,435. Finding cheap car insurance with a DUI in Virginia will require requesting quotes from multiple insurance providers who will look at your offense in addition to other regularly considered factors (age, gender, etc.) to give you the best rate possible.
Cheapest Car Insurance for VA Speeding or Distracted Driving Tickets
According to the NHTSA, 778 accidents in 2018 were the result of distracted driving, but 2,841 people were killed in crashes involving a distracted driver across the country that same year in total. It might feel like distracted driving or speeding shouldn’t result in a citation or an increase in insurance rates, but they are intended to discourage distracted driving and to keep people safe. According to Insurance.com, a texting ticket can cause your insurance rates to increase by 26% on average. The following chart features the rates that drivers in Virginia can expect to pay for auto insurance after receiving a distracted driving or speeding ticket.
If you do receive a speeding or distracted driving ticket, don’t panic. The amount your rate increases will depend on your insurance provider and your previous driving history, but you will likely see a change in your fees for months or years. To find cheap car insurance after getting a ticket in Virginia, speak with multiple top-rated auto insurance companies in Virginia to request a free car insurance quote before choosing your plan.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in VA for Drivers With Bad Credit
The average credit score in Virginia in 2019 was 709 — meaning most drivers score “good” on the FICO credit score scale. However, poor credit can negatively impact a variety of items including your car insurance rates. Some companies look at your credit score to determine your financial responsibility and reliability, which is why having a lower score might lead to higher insurance rates. The following are auto insurance estimates for individuals with poor credit in Virginia.
Insurance providers will take your credit score into consideration, so rates can vary from driver to driver. If you do have bad credit and are searching for cheap car insurance quotes, it’s important to recognize the root of your credit issues and work to improve it.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Virginia for Seniors
Senior drivers face a unique set of driving challenges that come with age, such as vision and hearing loss, slower reflexes and shorter attention spans. Therefore, the state of Virginia has implemented a series of procedures and rules for mature drivers to ensure the safety of everyone on the road. Drivers over the age of 75 must renew their license in person at the DMV every five years.
The following table shows what senior drivers in Virginia may pay for auto insurance.
Due to the increased risks older drivers face behind the wheel (7,359 car crash fatalities in 2017 involved a driver over 65), insurance companies are often likely to increase their rates. However, senior drivers tend to have a lot of experience behind the wheel and often take more precautions — they’re more likely to wear a seatbelt while driving and avoid texting and talking on the phone. If you’re looking for affordable car insurance in Virginia as a senior, a good driving record can help keep your rates down.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Students
Virginia Car Insurance: How Much a Teen Driver Will Cost You
Median annual price change for families with a teen driver on their policy:$1,465 INCREASE
This is a difference of 97%.
Virginia has put laws and regulations in place to keep young drivers safe. Still, auto insurance for teen drivers is almost always greater than for older drivers. To control these costs, the Virginia DMV suggests asking the insurance company for a higher deductible on any damages.
For college students enrolling in school outside of Virginia, let the insurance company know if a vehicle will be used in the student's state for more than 30 days per year, or consider scaling back the student's coverage to "occasional driver" if your child won't be using a car often.
The table below demonstrates approximate rates for young drivers. Unfortunately, teen drivers lack maturity and experience behind the wheel and therefore are the most expensive demographic to insure. Compare car insurance quotes and don’t forget to ask the insurance company about discounts for good grades and safe driving. Letting your teen use a large-frame family sedan with advanced crash protection and safety features may also lower your premium.
Premium Comparison by Student Type
PREMIUM COMPARISON FOR TWO ADULTS + 16-YEAR-OLD
Town and Country Limiteds$2,994
This is 36% less expensive.
Cheaper premium for college vs. high school drivers
Median premium change with a college student vs. high school driver:
This is a savings of 28%.
Potential discounts for teens in Virginia
Impact on annual premium with good student and defensive driving discounts:
Virginia students: a long-distance discount
You may pay a smaller annual family premium if your child lives 150 miles or more away from home.
$3,080 at home
$2,477 at school
$603 IN SAVINGS
$2,710 at home
$2,218 at school
$492 IN SAVINGS
Insurance Rate Information for Military Drivers and Veterans
The major insurance carriers in Virginia offer reduced rates for the state's active-duty military personnel and veterans. Geico maintains a special military center to serve the numerous bases in Virginia. In addition, there are also specialty insurance carriers who work just with military families on their coverage needs. Get at least three price quotes in writing to make a good comparison of prevailing rates.
The state DMV guide for military personnel covers insurance, licensing and registration requirements for enlisted men and women. While stationed in Virginia, if you purchase a vehicle, you can register that vehicle in your home state or in Virginia. Vehicles titled and registered in your name can be driven with a valid out-of-state license plate, but only if you are the sole owner. Co-owners must also be on active duty; otherwise, the vehicle must be registered in Virginia.
If you're from Virginia but stationed outside the state, most of the business you would normally need to conduct with the DMV can be done online.
Insurers operating in Virginia that give discounts to military personnel and veterans include GEICO and USAA. With GEICO specifically, you may see discounts of up to 15%. The following table reflects estimates of what active-duty and veteran military personnel can expect to pay in Virginia for auto insurance.
Age savings for Virginia service members
Median auto insurance for service members: $1,045
Who Needs Car Insurance in Virginia?
In Virginia, car owners are financially responsible for their vehicles, whether they're driven or parked by the curb. The state doesn't require insurance for vehicles stored on private property, but they cannot be registered for road use. A classic Mustang that's getting restored in the garage, for example, doesn't need to be covered by insurance until it's licensed and registered.
Proof of Insurance in Virginia
Virginia drivers are required to carry proof of insurance (or the uninsured motorists' fee) while driving. Although insurance carriers still recommend keeping a card in the glovebox, the Virginia vehicle code allows drivers to store their insurance information on a smartphone. The insurance card should have:
- Your name.
- The policy number.
- A telephone number to call for help in filing claims.
You have to provide proof of insurance or the uninsured motorists' fee after an accident and be prepared to show it to any law enforcement officer who asks to see it.
Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements in Virginia
Virginia requires you to have minimum liability insurance coverage of:
- $25,000 for injury to a single person.
- $50,000 for all injured persons in an accident. Once that $50,000 has been used up, any other injured individuals who want compensation can file a civil lawsuit against you.
- $20,000 for property damage.
Virginia cracks down on uninsured motorists with an online verification system that detects vehicle owners who don't comply with state law.
Alternatives to Insurance in Virginia
If you own business vehicles, you may be able to self-insure or purchase a surety bond in lieu of insurance.
If you don't have auto insurance, you can still register your vehicle in Virginia and buy license plates by paying a mandatory $500 uninsured motorist's fee each year. Paying this fee does not provide any auto insurance coverage. If you're an uninsured driver in Virginia, remember that you are personally liable for any accident you cause.
Car Insurance Requirements in Virginia: How Much Coverage Do You Need?
What percentage of drivers in Virginia lack vehicle insurance?
National average: 13%
Source:Insurance Information Institute.
Nearly everyone wants cheap car insurance, but the required minimum isn't always enough to protect you.
If you can afford extra coverage, the Insurance Information Institute recommends a policy that pays $100,000 per injured person or $300,000 (known as 100/300) for all people injured in an accident. Consumer advocates also recommend uninsured motorist insurance, which would cover your medical bills in case you're hit by a driver without car insurance.
If you have a loan for a new car, you'll also have to buy collision and comprehensive insurance. Having trouble getting insurance because of a poor driving record or other reasons? Virginia has an assigned risk car insurance program that will help you get coverage, although it may cost more than regular insurance.
For more on the type of discounts you may qualify for, see the MoneyGeek guide to car insurance.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your car insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- AIPSO. “Plan Sites: Virginia.” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Commonwealth of Virginia State Corporation Commission. “Auto Insurance Consumers Guide.” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Driving Laws Published by NOLO. "DUI Laws by State." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Experian. "2019 Consumer Credit Review." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Insurance.com. "Texting Tickets and Car Insurance: How Much Does Your Insurance Go Up?" Accessed March 10, 2020.
- National Association of Insurance Commissioners. "2018 Market Share Reports." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Authority. “Traffic Safety Facts: 2017 Data.” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Nationwide. “How Much Car Insurance Do I Need?” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. “DMV206.” Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. "Mature Driver Safety." Accessed March 10, 2020.
- Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. “Teen Driving Restrictions.” Accessed March 10, 2020.