You may feel like you have your work cut out for you when searching for the cheapest car insurance in Connecticut, considering that the state ranked as the 10th most expensive state for auto insurance, according to the Insurance Information Institute. Even though the average Connecticuter paid $1,694 in 2019 to cover their car, remember that insurance rates are dependent on several key factors. Requesting quotes from a few insurance companies can help ensure you lock in the best rate possible, based on your specific situation.
The Best Cheap Car Insurance in Connecticut for 2020
Compare auto insurance rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- The Best Affordable Car Insurance in Connecticut for 2020
The Best Cheap Car Insurance Companies for Connecticut Drivers in 2020
As your hunt for the most affordable car insurance in Connecticut begins, you’ll likely notice that five familiar car insurance companies come up in your search. The table below features the most common options in Connecticut and highlights the approximate costs for an average driver. Because these are auto insurance quote averages, remember that the actual estimates you receive may vary.
The right coverage for you and your family will look different from others because several factors affect the final number. A middle-aged person with a clean driving record and a safe-rated automobile will pay less than a recently licensed 16-year-old driving their older sister’s clunker. Common factors affecting the cost include driving record, the size and age of a car along with the driver’s profession, marital status and credit score.
The Best Car Insurance Companies in Connecticut for 2020
In order to identify the top-rated auto insurance companies in Connecticut, MoneyGeek designed a unique scoring system. The table below pulls ratings from reputable outlets such as J.D. Power and AM Best to see how popular Connecticut car insurance companies stack up. The final MoneyGeek score considers factors such as affordability, customer satisfaction, company financial strength and rate of claims. Scores are out of 100, which each of the following weighted equally:
Market Share by Company
Data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners identified the Berkshire Hathaway Group as the largest insurer in Connecticut. Wondering about the other large insurance groups in the state? Check out the table below.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Drivers With a DUI in Connecticut
Approximately 2.1% of Connecticut residents admitted to driving after drinking too much within the previous 30 days, during a 2012 study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. While this rate is lower than several other states, Connecticut takes safe driving seriously and penalizes drivers who have a DUI on their record. Aside from jail time, fines, fees and license suspension, insurance premiums also go up. The table below looks at approximate costs for drivers with a DUI at several companies.
A DUI typically shows up on both driving and criminal records. Each state sets its own rules regarding record expungement, making it imperative to discuss the issue with a lawyer. You should plan to pay higher rates for at least three years, but potentially for up to a decade. To get the best rates, regularly shop around with insurance companies, maintain a stellar driving record and learn when your convictions will fall off your records. After the records fall off, reapply with a new insurance company. Check out our guide on the Real Costs of a DUI & How to Avoid Them for more tips.
Cheapest Car Insurance for CT Speeding or Distracted Driving Tickets
Tickets, whether for speeding or distracted driving, can cause insurance rates to increase substantially. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration found that 276 crashes in Connecticut during 2018 were the result of distracted driving. Distracted driving can cost far more than higher insurance premiums, making it critical for drivers to stay focused behind the wheel. The following table looks at the average cost of insurance per month for Connecticut drivers with a ticket on their record.
As with DUIs, individual states set laws regarding how long speeding and distracted driving tickets stay on a driver’s record. According to Progressive Insurance, most insurance companies follow a three-year rule. Some insurers may not increase rates for a first-time offender, though they will remove the safe driving discount. Check with multiple insurers to find the best rate possible.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Connecticut for Drivers With Bad Credit
Bad credit scores do not predict whether an individual is more likely to get in a wreck, but they do help Connecticut auto insurance companies ascertain someone’s ability to pay their premiums. Connecticuters had average FICO scores of 717 in 2018, ranking 15th nationwide. Raising your credit score may take a bit of time and effort, but it can be done. In the interim, consider the following average monthly costs of auto insurance for individuals with bad credit scores.
Because insurance companies use unique criteria and metrics for assessing risk around clients with questionable credit, you may see a variety of quotes in your search. Auto insurers must pull your credit history to provide a personalized quote, these types of credit inquiries do not affect your score like those done by mortgage lenders or other creditors.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Connecticut for Seniors
To find cheap car insurance in Connecticut for seniors, several factors need to be on your side. These include driving record, type of car owned and whether a mature driver refresher course has been taken recently. Connecticut’s DMV requires senior drivers to renew their license in-person every two years to ensure they can safely operate a vehicle. Drivers ages 65 and over accounted for 15.2% of fatal wrecks in 2017, making insurers reasonably thoughtful about how to best insure the demographic. We highlight a few average monthly costs for seniors in the table below.
A few of the factors affecting car insurance for seniors include the type of coverage required, driving frequency and overall health. Retired seniors who previously commuted daily but now drive less frequently sometimes qualify for reduced rates, as do those who can demonstrate a lack of vision and/or hearing impairments.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Students
Connecticut Car Insurance: How Much a Teen Driver Will Cost You
Median annual price change for families with a teen driver on their policy:$2,596 INCREASE
This is a difference of 122%.
Getting cheap car insurance for young drivers in Connecticut starts with parents adding their children to their insurance policy and finding them a safe, reliable car. Requiring your child to take a driver’s education course and maintain good grades may result in Good Student and Defensive Driving discounts becoming available. Shop around for the best options and remember to research what happens if/when your child heads to college in a different state. Such a change can impact your premium or require them to get a separate policy.
Even though parents or guardians typically cover the costs of insurance for high school and college students, several unique factors impact cost. Because young drivers possess little-to-no experience on the roads, they must prove themselves to insurers. Following the introduction of stricter graduated driver licensing laws in Connecticut, fatality rates for crashes involving 16- and 17-year olds fell from 6.3% in 2003–2008 to 2.2% in 2009–2013. As teens and young adults prove their driving abilities, rates drop.
Premium Comparison by Student Type
PREMIUM COMPARISON FOR TWO ADULTS + 16-YEAR-OLD
Town and Country Limiteds$4,184
This is 29% less expensive.
Cheaper premium for college vs. high school drivers
Median premium change with a college student vs. high school driver:
This is a savings of 22%.
Potential discounts for teens in Connecticut
Impact on annual premium with good student and defensive driving discounts:
Connecticut students: a long-distance discount
You may pay a smaller annual family premium if your child lives 150 miles or more away from home.
$4,299 at home
$3,565 at school
$734 IN SAVINGS
$3,726 at home
$3,203 at school
$523 IN SAVINGS
Insurance Rate Information for Military Drivers and Veterans
Many auto insurers in Connecticut offer discounts to veterans and enlisted service members, with some companies catering specifically to military personnel. Regardless of your chosen route, contact several insurers to find the best deal. Even though military and veteran discounts exist, insurance companies still look at driving records to determine premiums.
The Department of Defense reported nearly 16,000 active, reserve, and civilian-military members resided in Connecticut as of December 2019. Each of these individuals must hold proof of insurance to register their vehicles. The good news is that once you show proof of insurance as an active duty military member, you can bypass certain fees associated with new/renewal registration, temporary plates, safety plates and the Clean Air Act. However, you'll still have to pay title and lien fees, vehicle or record transfer fees, duplicate registration, special plate fees and sales tax.
Age savings for Connecticut service members
Median auto insurance for service members: $1,556
Who Needs Car Insurance in Connecticut?
Every Connecticut driver needs liability insurance. If you own a registered car but plan to abstain from driving for a while, you can drop liability coverage and apply for suspension of liability through your insurance company. The car remains registered but cannot be driven until liability insurance is reinstated.
If you have a car that is inoperable or in storage and don't want to pay any insurance at all, you can turn in its license plate to the DMV and place it on hold.
Proof of Insurance in Connecticut
The state of Connecticut accepts proof of insurance in two forms: an insurance card or a Certificate Of Liability Insurance. You must show one of these two items if in an accident or if a law enforcement officer asks to see it.
Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements in Connecticut
Every registered car needs to be insured for at least the following amounts, as outlined by the State of Connecticut Insurance Department:
- $25,000 in liability for injuries to another person.
- $50,000 in liability for injuries to multiple people in an accident.
- $25,000 in liability for damage to a car or other property.
- $20,000 to cover one person in case of a collision caused by an uninsured/underinsured driver.
In the case of liability coverage, the state DMV encourages people to purchase policies with higher limits, as do most industry experts (see the following section below: How Much Vehicle Insurance Do You Need?).
High-Risk Auto Insurance Program in Connecticut
Alternatives to Insurance in Connecticut
Drivers who don't want to invest in insurance from a company may "self-insure" in Connecticut. Here are the steps:
- Make a cash deposit or other financial arrangement that covers the minimum liability amounts given above.
- Get approval from the state insurance commissioner by showing you can efficiently pay out claims in the event of a traffic incident.
- Self-insured drivers who are responsible for traffic collisions should hope the damage or injuries aren't too serious. Otherwise, just like other drivers with low limits, they may find themselves depleting their savings or putting their home at risk if they are sued.
Explore average rates for your city.
Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut: How Much Coverage Do You Need?
What percentage of drivers in Connecticut lack vehicle insurance?
National average: 13%
Source:Insurance Information Institute.
In a severe car accident, cheap car insurance may not cut it. In fact, insurance experts recommend $100,000/$300,000 in liability coverage for injuries just to be safe.
If you own a fairly new vehicle, look into collision and comprehensive insurance. If you bought a new car on financing, lenders require you to carry both types of insurance. If you are in an accident or something unexpected happens to your vehicle — say, it gets crushed by a falling tree — you will be able to repair or replace it.
You may also want to consider getting more than the minimum of uninsured motorist insurance. This helps protect you in a hit-and-run accident as well as an accident if an uninsured driver hits you.
For more on the issue, see our MoneyGeek guide to car insurance.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your car insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Motor Vehicle Safety.” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- Defense Manpower Data Center. “Military and Civilian Personnel by Service/Agency by State/Country.” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- Experian. “2019 Consumer Credit Review.” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- Experian. “Why Do Car Insurance Companies Base Their Rates on Credit Scores?” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- Insurance Information Institute. “Facts + Statistics: Auto insurance.” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- National Association of Insurance Commissioners. “2018 Market Share Reports.” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “Fatality Analysis Reporting Center Data.” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- Progressive. “Do speeding tickets and other violations affect insurance rates?” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- State of Connecticut DMV. “Two-Year Photo License Renewal for Individuals 65 or Over.” Accessed March 2, 2020.
- State of Connecticut DMV Center for Teen Safe Driving. “Teenage Motor Vehicle Crash Fatalities in Connecticut, 2008-2013: A Critical Appraisal After the Passage of a Stronger Graduated Driver Licensing Law.” Accessed March 2, 2020.