Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Wyoming: Everything You Need To Know

A DUI conviction can result in license suspension in Wyoming, and your insurer may cancel your policy, considering you a high-risk driver. You may retain your policy, but the rates may spike by around 91%. Wyoming drivers pay an average of $1,521 per year for car insurance with a DUI and $794 without a DUI.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 10/12/2022
Written By     |  

Drivers charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in Wyoming can get the cheapest full coverage and minimum coverage car insurance from State Farm. Based on MoneyGeek’s findings, State Farm is also the best car insurance provider in Wyoming after a DUI for both policies.

iconribbonBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI2022

Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2022

In Wyoming and every other state, car insurance providers may legally deny you a policy if you have a DUI conviction. Should they decide to cover you, your rates are considerably higher than those without a DUI because DUI drivers are riskier to insure and may file claims.

MoneyGeek’s research indicates that in Wyoming, full coverage car insurance for people with DUI convictions could increase by around 91%. Plus, Wyoming DUI laws include a 90-day license suspension.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Wyoming After a DUI

MoneyGeek’s nationwide analysis shows that State Farm and Progressive are the cheapest car insurance companies for DUI offenders. However, the most affordable insurers in Wyoming after a DUI are State Farm and Allstate.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Wyoming After a DUI

Full coverage car insurance provides added protection but costs more than state minimum coverage. MoneyGeek found the cheapest full coverage car insurance in Wyoming for someone with a DUI, on average, is with:

  • State Farm: $790 per year
  • Allstate: $1,018 per year

While USAA had the second-best rate at roughly $920 per year, its policies are only available to active and retired military and their families.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Rank
    Company
    Annual Premium
  • 1
    State Farm
    $790
  • 2
    USAA
    $920
  • 3
    Allstate
    $1,018
  • 4
    GEICO
    $2,098
  • 5
    MetLife
    $2,109

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Wyoming After a DUI

The lowest-priced car insurance policy after a DUI is minimum coverage. It may not give much protection, but it is an option to avoid the higher cost of full coverage after a DUI in Wyoming.

From MoneyGeek’s research, the two insurers that provide, on average, the cheapest minimum coverage to DUI drivers in Wyoming are:

  • State Farm: $272 per year
  • Allstate: $481 per year

USAA had the second-lowest annual cost at around $352, but its policies are only for military members and their families.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

The cheapest auto policy in Wyoming is state minimum car insurance, but it may not offer adequate protection after an at-fault accident. That’s because of its low liability limits and lack of coverage for your vehicle. MoneyGeek recommends determining how much car insurance you need to get the necessary protection.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Wyoming After a DUI

To get the best car insurance with a DUI, MoneyGeek ranked insurance providers across factors like financial stability, affordability and customer satisfaction. We concluded that the best insurance company in Wyoming for full coverage and minimum coverage car insurance, if you have a DUI, is State Farm.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Wyoming After a DUI

For drivers with a DUI conviction in Wyoming, the top two car insurance companies for a full coverage policy are State Farm and Allstate.


1
State FarmBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.3

5/5

Affordability

4/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

State Farm drivers in Wyoming pay an average of $726 per year for full coverage car insurance without a DUI. For DUI offenders, the rate increases by nearly 9% to $790 a year.

More About State Farm

State Farm is a top-rated car insurance provider. It provides add-on rideshare insurance, plus several discounts, like bundling. However, it lacks unique add-on coverages like accident forgiveness and gap insurance.

2
Allstate
Score:4.1

4.2/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

A full coverage policy in Wyoming from Allstate costs around $827 for drivers with no DUI. People with a DUI conviction pay around 23% more at roughly $1,018 per year.

More About Allstate

Allstate scores well for claims and customer satisfaction. It offers add-on custom parts and sound system coverage. However, it lacks some common discounts, like multiple car, and does not provide better car replacement add-on coverage.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Wyoming After a DUI

Minimum coverage car insurance features the lowest rates but may fail to meet your coverage needs. MoneyGeek analyzed insurance companies in Wyoming and found that the cheapest providers of minimum coverage car insurance for DUI offenders are State Farm and Allstate.


1
State FarmBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

4/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

5/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

In Wyoming, a minimum coverage policy from State Farm costs approximately $246 per year without a DUI. Drivers pay an average of $272 with a DUI, a roughly 10% increase.

More About State Farm

State Farm provides some of the most common car insurance discounts like airbags and multiple vehicle. It also offers add-on rideshare insurance. State Farm had the highest affordability score, although it lacks unique add-on coverages, such as OEM.

2
Allstate
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

3/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

For drivers without a DUI, Allstate charges about $407 per year for minimum coverage car insurance in Wyoming. People with a DUI pay around 18% more, averaging $481 per year.

More About Allstate

Allstate provides cheap car insurance to young drivers. On average, the insurer is the second cheapest in Wyoming and offers sound system and custom parts add-on coverage. However, Allstate does not provide better car replacement add-on coverage and some common discounts like defensive driving.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Wyoming After a DUI?

On average, car insurance for DUI offenders in Wyoming costs around 91% more than before the DUI conviction. A full coverage policy with a DUI offense averages $1,521 per year. Meanwhile, drivers with no DUI pay around $794 per year. Below is a comparison of costs before and after a DUI in Wyoming for car insurance.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$794
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$1,521
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$727 more

This is 92% more expensive.

After a DUI, insurers treat you as a high-risk driver since you are more likely to file claims. Your car insurance rates do increase significantly. You can use MoneyGeek’s auto insurance calculator below to obtain a personalized cost estimate and see how it changes after a DUI conviction.

Auto Insurance Calculator

See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.

Wyoming
Female
30-65
Clean

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates

Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.

low end

on average

high end

Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.

USAA
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Apart from the increased car insurance premium, a DUI has added expenses. The other DUI-related costs include:

  • Fines, court and attorney fees. A DUI conviction could result in fines and court fees. You may also need to hire an attorney.
  • Towing/impound fee. After an arrest, you need to pay the towing and impound fees for your car to get it back.
  • Drug education and treatment. In some states, DUI offenders need to enroll in an alcohol or drug education program, which is not free.
  • DMV reinstatement fee. If your license is suspended, you pay a fee to reinstate your driving privileges.

Getting Car Insurance in Wyoming After a DUI

While some auto insurance companies still offer car insurance after a DUI, others may deny coverage. Since these are private businesses, they can legally decide to cancel your policy or not renew it.

Getting car insurance after a DUI offense in Wyoming can be hard due to the 10-year look-back period. However, you can still find options by shopping around.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

If convicted of a DUI in Wyoming, you must file an SR-22 form. The SR-22 is a document that the insurer submits to the DMV to prove that your policy meets the required minimum coverage. Filing the SR-22 comes with additional costs, including fees, and you may lose discounts.

Wyoming DUI Laws

Aside from paying a higher premium for car insurance after a DUI, you may also get penalized, spend time in jail or lose your driving privileges. In Wyoming, the charges and severity of penalties vary based on the number of offenses, age and blood alcohol content, among other factors.

  • This is an icon

    Driving With a BAC at or Above 0.08% Is Considered a DUI

    Blood alcohol content or BAC refers to the amount of alcohol in a person’s bloodstream.

    In Wyoming, the DUI BAC threshold is 0.08% if you are 21 years or older, 0.02% if you are under 21 years and 0.04% if you have a commercial driving license. If you refuse to take the BAC test, you are charged with a DUI.

  • This is an icon

    Driving With a BAC of 0.15% Will Result in Increased Penalties

    If you have a BAC of 0.15% or more, you face additional penalties in Wyoming.

  • This is an icon

    90-Day Administrative License Suspension on First Offense

    If your BAC is 0.08% or above, your license is suspended for 90 days.

  • This is an icon

    Ignition Interlock

    Drivers with a BAC of 0.15% or higher and those with repeated convictions must install an ignition interlock in their car for a specified period. The ignition interlock device disables the car engine if alcohol is detected in the driver’s breath.

Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin

Frequently Asked Questions

Will insurance cover me after a DUI in Wyoming? MoneyGeek responded to this and various other commonly asked questions about auto insurance after a DUI.

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Wyoming, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources