Getting Car Insurance in Alaska After a DUI (2023)
Compare Rates and Save on Car Insurance
The best, cheapest and most widely available insurer for both a full coverage and minimum coverage policy in Alaska is State Farm.
Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2023
Your car insurance provider may choose to cancel your policy or increase your car insurance rates after a DUI conviction. Regardless of which state you live in, insurers are legally allowed to refuse coverage if you have a DUI.
For insurers that do provide coverage, expect your car insurance rates to increase. This is due to the fact that drivers with a DUI are seen as being higher risk. Car insurance for DUI offenders in Alaska is 52.77% higher than for those with a clean record.
In addition to fees, Alaska DUI laws mandate installing ignition interlock devices on your vehicle. You can also get your license temporarily revoked and have limited driving privileges for a certain period.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Alaska After a DUI
Progressive and State Farm are the top companies in the country that offer the cheapest car insurance after a DUI. In Alaska, the most affordable car insurance provider for both full coverage and minimum coverage policies after a DUI is State Farm.
Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Alaska After a DUI
Based on MoneyGeek’s research, the cheapest full coverage car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI are offered by the following insurers, on average:
- State Farm: $1,042 per year
- Progressive: $1,262 per year
USAA offers the second cheapest car insurance for DUI drivers at roughly $1,050 per year. However, only military members and their families are eligible for policies from this insurer.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Alaska After a DUI
For drivers who plan to get the cheapest minimum car insurance coverage for DUI in Alaska, the following companies are the most affordable options, on average:
- State Farm: $599 per year
- Allstate: $726 per year
Although USAA has the most affordable policies at an average of $543 per year, their policies are only offered to military families.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
To legally drive in Alaska or any other state, you must meet the minimum car insurance requirements. While you are essentially covered with this type of policy, it is usually not enough for most drivers.
Figuring out how much car insurance you actually need is important to ensure that you have the ideal protection while on the road.
Top Car Insurance Companies in Alaska After a DUI
To determine the best car insurance companies in Alaska for drivers with a DUI, MoneyGeek ranked insurers based on a combination of affordability, customer satisfaction, financial stability, and more. The best company in Alaska for full coverage and minimum coverage is State Farm.
Best Companies for Full Coverage in Alaska After a DUI
The best companies in Alaska for a full coverage policy after a DUI are State Farm and Progressive. Read more about these insurers in the table below.
A State Farm full coverage policy for drivers with a clean record costs an average of $954 per year. In contrast, DUI offenders pay $1,042 on average for the same policy, which translates to an increase of 9.22%.
State Farm has the best full coverage car insurance rates if you have a DUI in Alaska. It offers its policies across 50 states and has impressive financial stability ratings, according to A.M. Best.
A full coverage policy from Progressive for a driver without a DUI is $1,028 per year on average. On the other hand, those with a DUI on their record will pay an average of $1,262 per year for the same policy. That’s around 22.77% more.
Progressive, according to MoneyGeek’s studies, ranks well in claims and financial stability. Progressive’s policies are available in 48 states. It offers excellent discounts and unique coverages.
Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Alaska After a DUI
MoneyGeek reviewed the top two providers that offer the best car insurance rates for a minimum coverage policy after a DUI. Buying a minimum coverage gives you the cheapest rates, but the coverage is usually not sufficient for most drivers.
Without a DUI record, drivers in Alaska pay around $546 per year for minimum coverage. Having a DUI on your record increases the rates to about $599 per year, which is a 9.22% increase.
State Farm is available in all 50 states. It is one of the best options available and it has one of the highest financial stability ratings according to A.M. Best.
For a minimum coverage policy, Allstate charges an average of $502 per year for a driver with a clean record and about $726 per year for a driver with a DUI violation. This is a 39.2% increase.
Allstate is available in all 50 states. It has above-average complaints rating score and an average satisfaction score, according to MoneyGeek’s study.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Alaska After a DUI?
Having a DUI in Alaska increases your insurance rates by about 52.77%. A full coverage policy in Alaska costs an average of $911 per year. After a DUI, car insurance rates for the same policy will go up to about $1,392 per year. This increase is due to the fact that companies will see you as riskier to insure.
Below is a comparison of full coverage car insurance before and after a DUI in Alaska:
How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?
This is 53% more expensive.
Because drivers with violations pose a higher risk on the road, their car insurance premiums will normally be higher. MoneyGeek’s car insurance calculator provides you with a personalized car insurance cost based on the details you provide. This should give you a ballpark estimate of your car insurance rates after a DUI.
Auto Insurance Calculator
See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.
Aside from increased insurance premiums, there are other financial implications after a DUI offense. These include:
- Fines, court, and attorney fees: Expect to pay various court fees in Alaska after your first DUI conviction. You might also need a DUI attorney to help you post bail.
- Towing / Impound fee: After an at-fault accident where you are taken into custody, you will need to have your car towed. This could entail additional charges.
- Drug education and treatment: If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Alaska, the courts will require you to undergo a substance abuse evaluation. This may involve enrolling in a program and undergoing random drug testing, which incurs fees.
- DMV reinstatement fee: Following the loss of your driving privilege, you will need to undergo a series of steps to reinstate your license after a DUI. These will also involve fees.
- Other damages: In an accident where you are at fault, especially in a tort state like Alaska, you are liable to pay for the other driver’s bills as a result of the collision.
Getting Car Insurance in Alaska After a DUI
Car insurance providers may sometimes refuse coverage for drivers with a DUI on their records. Alaska’s look-back period of 15 years may compound the challenge of getting car insurance after this type of violation.
In addition to having your license revoked temporarily, you may also face higher car insurance premiums after a DUI conviction. When this happens, the best course of action is to compare quotes from various providers to find the best rates for your profile.
An SR-22 in Alaska proves that you have auto insurance that at least meets the minimum car insurance requirement in the state. This is required by your respective state when you commit a driving-related violation, such as reckless driving, accidents, or getting a DUI.
Alaska DUI Laws
If you are convicted of a DUI in Alaska, you could have your license temporarily revoked, pay fines, and spend time in jail. Drivers with more severe violations pay higher fees.
Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI
The DUI blood alcohol content (BAC) threshold in Alaska is 0.08%. This refers to the amount of alcohol in a person’s bloodstream. However, even if you aren’t over the threshold, you could still be arrested if your driving is impaired.
Administrative license suspension on the first offense
According to Alaska law, they may revoke your driving privileges when you commit a driving-related offense. The revocation period for the first DUI offense is 90 days and longer for repeat offenses.
Limited driving privilege
Alaska drivers should wait at least 30 days to be able to drive again with a limited license.
Ignition interlocks are mandatory for all convictions
Drivers in Alaska are required to install ignition interlocks that automatically disable the engine when alcohol is detected on their breath. Alaska law mandates this for all types of DUI convictions.
Open container laws
There are no open container laws in Alaska.
Repeat offender laws
There are no repeat offender laws in Alaska.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Frequently Asked Questions
It can be challenging to understand everything about car insurance in Alaska after a DUI. MoneyGeek answers some frequently asked questions about the subject to help you better understand the requirements.
To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Alaska, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims, and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.