SR-22 insurance in Connecticut is similar to standard car insurance policies but with a higher premium. If you're caught driving under the influence or you get convicted of other major driving infractions, your insurance company will have to file for an SR-22. This confirms your coverage limit meets Connecticut’s minimum requirements. After comparing SR-22 policies from various car insurance companies, MoneyGeek found State Farm to have the cheapest policy at $817 per year on average.
Connecticut SR-22 Insurance: What it is and How Much it Costs
Which Connecticut Insurance Companies Offer the Cheapest SR-22 Insurance?
Compared to a traditional car insurance policy, SR-22 insurance is more expensive due to the seriousness of the infraction. On average, SR-22 insurance in Connecticut with minimum coverage limits costs $1,629 per year if it’s filed because you have a DUI on your record. The rate of a car insurance policy for a driver with no violations costs $833 yearly.
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance rates in Connecticut, it’s best to compare policies. Carriers offer varying rates for SR-22 insurance in Connecticut. Based on our study, MoneyGeek found that State Farm has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Connecticut, which costs $817 per year.
Cheapest Companies for SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut
Scroll for more
These rates are for car insurance policies meeting the minimum requirements in Connecticut or full coverage that protects you against costs up to $300,000 in bodily injuries per accident, with a $100,000 limit per person and $100,000 for property damage.
Beyond the policy’s premium, other factors add to the total cost of SR-22 insurance in Connecticut. These include filing fees, the gravity of your driving violation and being ineligible for driver discounts. Comparing policies from several carriers in Connecticut offering SR-22 policies will help you find the best rates for auto insurance in Connecticut.
There is a one-time filing fee of around $25 for SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut.
Insurers often offer driver discounts for clean records. If you previously were eligible for discounts, you’ll lose these discounts, adding to the overall expense of SR-22 insurance.
Policy premiums vary, depending on the severity of your infraction. A hit and run, which is considered a worse violation than a DUI, has a higher rate.
What Is SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut? Who Needs It? How Do You Get It?
Although commonly referred to as insurance, SR-22 is a form as opposed to an insurance policy. It’s filed by your car insurance company to provide proof that your policy meets the minimum requirements in Connecticut for liability coverage. SR-22 insurance is required by drivers who have repeated driving violations or major driving violations, such as driving under the influence. Car insurance rates after having a DUI on your record may be significantly higher.
Drivers required to file an SR-22 need to show that their auto insurance policy in Connecticut meets the minimum liability coverage requirements. These include:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
- $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut? And for How Long Do They Need It?
An SR-22 is not required for every driving violation you commit. Minor infractions generally won’t necessitate an SR-22, although they may result in higher car insurance rates if you're issued speeding tickets or are involved in a standard accident.
Although the violations requiring an SR-22 varies between states, the following are all considered severe infractions that require SR-22 insurance:
- Driving under the influence
- Driving without insurance
- Driving with a suspended license
- Reckless driving
The details of your conviction dictate how long you’ll need to carry SR-22 insurance in Connecticut. On average, however, drivers are required to hold on to it for three years.
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut?
The company handling your car insurance in Connecticut can file an SR-22 with the state at your request. Having an SR-22 added to your auto insurance policy in Connecticut only costs a one-time fee of $25, but it increases your annual premium depending on the severity of your violation. Since drivers requiring SR-22 insurance are considered high risk, some car insurance companies may choose not to cover you.
Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut
If you commit a major driving violation in Connecticut, your license can get suspended. You may be required to get SR-22 insurance to get it back, proving that your car insurance policy meets the state’s minimum liability coverage requirements.
If you regularly rent a car because you don’t own one, you can choose to buy a non-owner car insurance policy. This is a cheaper option for SR-22 insurance in Connecticut and is ideal for drivers who frequently borrow cars from friends and family.
The average cost of non-owner insurance in Connecticut is $1,357 per year, although carriers may offer different rates. MoneyGeek compared various policies and found that State Farm offers the cheapest coverage at $440 annually on average. Progressive is the second cheapest option, costing roughly $505 annually.
The Average Cost of Non-Owner SR-22 Car Insurance in Connecticut
Scroll for more
Connecticut prices are based on non-owner car insurance policies for drivers with a DUI on their records that cover damages up to $100,000 from bodily injuries, with a maximum limit of $50,000 per person and $50,000 from property damage.
FAQs About SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut
Drivers who are considered high risk often need SR-22 insurance. Here are questions drivers frequently ask regarding the filing process, which carriers to purchase it from and how much SR-22 insurance in Connecticut costs.
Read More About Car Insurance
MoneyGeek analyzed renters insurance premiums from nine insurance companies in Connecticut that were provided in partnership with Quadrant. Our analysis includes quotes from ZIP codes across Connecticut. Quotes were gathered for policies that meet the state’s minimum coverage requirements and for full coverage policies with $100,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, $300,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per accident and $100,000 in property damage liability per accident. Rates are for the same driver with both a clean record and a DUI.
About the Author