Utah Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws

In Utah, car insurance laws state that drivers must carry a minimum coverage of 25/65/15, along with personal injury protection (PIP), to register their cars. This means your insurance policy must cover $25,000 in bodily injury per person, up to $65,000 per accident and $15,000 in property damage and $3,000 for personal injury protection. Failure to meet the minimum insurance requirements set by the state can result in penalties, fines, suspension or jail time. While having the minimum coverage protects third parties in the event of an accident, additional coverage and add-ons can protect you and your vehicle as well.

Loading...
tip icon

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Utah?

How much car insurance do you need in Utah? Legally, you must carry a minimum amount of liability and PIP insurance to drive in Utah:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $65,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $15,000 per accident for property damage
  • $3,000 per personal injury protection

You may see the liability limits written as 25/65/15 and personal injury protection referenced as PIP coverage or insurance. These coverage minimums can be increased as needed for greater financial protection for an additional cost.

Loading...

What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?

Liability insurance is required in most states, including Utah. Liability coverage pays for the other party’s injuries and property damage if you cause an accident. In Utah, liability limits are 25/65/15, which means you are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person for injuries and $65,000 per accident for all parties involved. Property damage liability pays for property, like another person’s car or home, you cause damage to. In Utah, you must carry at least $15,000 in property damage coverage.

PIP insurance, or personal injury protection, is coverage that pays for injuries you receive in a car accident, regardless of who is at fault. If you have PIP insurance, you are eligible to receive benefits up to the limits in your car insurance policy, no matter if you are the driver, passenger, a pedestrian or riding a bicycle. In Utah, PIP insurance provides coverage for:

  1. Medical and hospital expenses
  2. Lost wages
  3. Funeral expenses
  4. Heir compensation
  5. Loss of service

The minimum for medical expenses is $3,000 per person. Lost wages are covered for either 85% of gross income or $250 per week, whichever is less, up to a year. Funeral benefit maximums are $1,500 per person, and heirs can be compensated up to $3,000. If you are unable to perform basic tasks at home like childcare or housework due to injuries from the accident, up to $20 per day for a year can be paid for assistance.

How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Utah?

The cost of car insurance can vary in Utah based on several factors, including your age, ZIP code, driving record, credit score, the type of car you drive and other criteria. The cost for different car insurance companies will also vary in Utah.

The cheapest car insurance rate in Utah is offered by USAA and costs roughly $356 annually. However, USAA policies are only available to military members and their families. GEICO is the second cheapest option, costing an average of $393 per year.

Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Utah

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Utah
  • Company
    Annually
    Monthly
  • 1.
    $356
    $30
  • 2.
    $393
    $33
  • 3.
    $637
    $53
  • 4.
    $697
    $58
  • 5.
    $701
    $58

These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Utah driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.

MoneyGeek compared car insurance rates at state minimum limits of 25/65/15 liability and $3,000 PIP insurance for a 40-year-old male Utah resident driving a 2010 Toyota Camry with a clean driving record and credit score.

Loading...

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Utah While Leasing a Car?

While Utah mandates certain liability limit thresholds, a leasing company may have its own requirements if you lease your car. Most leasing companies require full coverage car insurance with minimum liability limits of 100/300/50. To find out the minimum coverage required to meet your leasing terms, contact your leasing company. Additionally, if you are shopping for a leased car, be sure you understand the terms of the agreement and the minimum car insurance requirements you will be required to meet to satisfy the lease agreement.

If you are unsure how much car insurance you should have in Utah, MoneyGeek recommends at least 50/100/50 liability limits and full coverage car insurance. While Utah has a low risk of uninsured motorists at 6.5% of drivers, you may not be covered for injuries or property damage if an uninsured or underinsured motorist hits you and you do not have full coverage car insurance.

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Utah

Drivers can face penalties if they drive without car insurance in Utah. You must carry proof of insurance and provide it if asked to be a law enforcement officer. This can be with a printed ID card or policy declaration page, or you can show electronic proof of insurance on your phone.

Utah also compares its motor vehicle registration database to a database of insurance policies to verify current insurance. If the registration system discovers there is not a corresponding insurance policy for the car, you may receive a notice requesting proof of insurance. Failure to provide current proof of insurance can result in a court appearance.

To reinstate your vehicle registration, you must have current car insurance and show proof of insurance. You may be required to carry SR-22 insurance and will have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee. Proof of insurance is required for three years from the date of suspension.

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Utah

Here are answers to frequently asked questions about car insurance in Utah.

Learn More About Car Insurance

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources