Louisiana car insurance laws require drivers to have a minimum liability insurance coverage of 15/30/25 on their vehicles. Therefore, your car insurance policy should include a minimum of $30,000 in coverage for all individuals injured in an accident, with a $15,000 limit per person and a $25,000 limit for property damage. If you fail to meet these insurance requirements, you may face hefty fines, suspension of driving privileges, imprisonment or other penalties. However, the state minimum coverage only protects other individuals or property involved in an accident. You need extended coverage to likely cover everyone and everything involved in the accident.
Louisiana Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Louisiana?
Nearly every state in the United States requires motorists to have some automobile insurance coverage to drive a car lawfully. And one question that most drivers may have in mind is how much auto insurance you need in Louisiana. According to Louisiana's car insurance laws, all drivers must have at least the following insurance coverages:
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
These insurance limits can be increased as needed. Assume that the average cost of a car damaged in an accident caused by you exceeds $25,000. In that situation, the minimal property damage limitations will be insufficient, and you will be required to pay additional out-of-pocket charges to compensate the other party. Extending your coverage limits is always recommended to assist you in meeting these unexpected charges.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Liability coverage is required by law in Louisiana. It covers injuries and other losses you have caused to another motorist, their passengers and their property in the event of an accident. Drivers in Louisiana must have a minimum bodily injury and property damage liability coverage of 15/30/25. This implies that your insurance policy must have at least $15,000 in physical injury coverage per person, $30,000 in total coverage for all people involved in the accident and $25,000 in property damage coverage.
The bodily injury coverage limit per person is the maximum your insurance company will pay for a single person injured in a car accident caused by you. The bodily injury coverage per accident, on the other hand, specifies the maximum compensation your insurer will pay for all those injured in an accident in total. And, the property damage limit is the maximum amount your company will compensate for the other person's property damage, such as their car.
Note that a minimum liability coverage plan will not insure you or your vehicle. If you want to protect yourself and your car in the case of an accident. In that case, you must purchase personal injury protection (PIP) coverage to pay for any injuries you may experience in an accident, as well as collision coverage to pay for vehicle damage. The PIP coverage covers you and the other passengers in your vehicle.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Louisiana?
Many factors might affect your auto insurance premiums, including your age, ZIP code, driving history, credit score and the make and model of the car you drive. Furthermore, the rates vary across the different car insurance firms in the state.
USAA provides the cheapest vehicle insurance plan in Louisiana for roughly $740 per year in terms of average rates. However, USAA policies are only available to active and retired military personnel and their families. For this reason, Southern Farm Bureau is the least expensive widely available insurer for Louisiana drivers. Its cheapest coverage costs only $32 more than USAA's rate, on average, at $772 per year.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Louisiana
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Louisiana
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Louisiana driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
For this study, MoneyGeek compared rates for Louisiana's minimum liability coverage of 15/30/25 from various insurers for a 40-year-old male resident driving a 2010 Toyota Camry with a clean driving record and good credit score.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Louisiana While Leasing a Car?
There are many reasons to opt for a leased car. It’s one smart way to drive a different car every few years. However, you should be aware that the minimum coverage requirements for leased automobiles may differ from what the state needs. Leasing companies require you to return the car in the same condition in which the company gave it. This means you must maintain adequate insurance coverage during the lease duration. Most lessors in Louisiana need full coverage car insurance with a minimum liability limit of 100/300/50 before leasing an automobile.
For information on your leased car's minimum insurance needs, please contact your leasing provider in Louisiana. In addition, if you are new to leasing, before you pick a car or leasing company, you should consider their lease conditions, including Louisiana car lease insurance requirements.
Roughly 11.7% of the drivers in Louisiana are uninsured drivers. To protect yourself against harm to your vehicle if an uninsured driver hits you, MoneyGeek suggests that you buy a full coverage car insurance plan in the state even though the state's uninsured motorist's rate isn't that high. A comprehensive cover insurance policy combines liability, collision insurance and comprehensive coverage. We propose a 50/100/50 liability if you are not sure how much auto insurance you require in Louisiana.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Louisiana
Driving an uninsured car or driving without the state-mandated minimum insurance is illegal in Louisiana. Driving without active auto insurance that meets the state's minimum coverage requirements may result in significant fines, suspension of driving privileges, vehicle impoundment and more. The fines and penalties can be severe for those involved in an accident without valid car insurance.
At traffic stops or checkpoints of Louisiana, you may be pulled over by law enforcement authorities and asked to provide proof of insurance. If they find that you’re driving without insurance, you can be given a fine of between $500 and $1,000, along with the suspension of your driving privileges and impoundment of your car. You may also be barred from making insurance claims. Your vehicle will have a Temporary Vehicle Use Authorization sticker, which allows you to drive for three days and submit your insurance papers to the Office of Motor Vehicles within this period.
The penalties for not having car insurance in Louisiana may not be significantly different the second time you’re caught driving without valid insurance. And, from the third time and beyond, your license plates will be immediately removed and your driving privileges will be revoked. Your vehicle may be impounded and you’ll be barred from claiming any type of insurance. The procedure to reinstate your driving privileges can be cumbersome after the second offense.
If you are convicted of any traffic infraction while driving without valid vehicle insurance in Louisiana, you will face the following penalties:
- Fines between $500 and $1,000; vehicle impoundment; license plates removal; registration suspension; barring from making insurance claims for first-time offenders.
- Fines between $500 and $1,000, vehicle impoundment; license plates removal; registration suspension; barring from making insurance claims for second-time offenders.
- Fines between $500 and $1,000; vehicle impoundment; license plates removal; registration suspension; barring from making insurance claims for third and habitual offenders.
The reinstatement of driving privileges won’t be easy after a second offense. Driving without valid insurance in Louisiana may also label you as a high-risk driver. As a result, companies might hesitate to sell you auto insurance. However, with time and research, you can find one meeting your needs.
The following are the reinstatement conditions after being convicted for driving without insurance:
- First offense: Proof of insurance; $50 reinstatement fee; $10 administration fee; towing and storage fee for impounded vehicles; SR-22 certificate
- Second offense: Proof of insurance; $150 reinstatement fee, $10 administration fee; towing and storage fee for impounded vehicles; SR-22 certificate
- Third and subsequent offenses: Proof of insurance; $500 reinstatement fee, $10 administration fee; towing and storage fee for impounded vehicles; SR-22 certificate
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Louisiana
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- CARCO. "CARCO FAQs." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Claims Journal. "Does Automobile Insurance Follow the Car or the Driver?." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- CollisionClaims.com. "Louisiana Diminished Value." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Farmers. "CARCO Inspections." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Fact Book." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Background on: Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Kelley Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- LDI. "Consumers Guide to Auto Insurance." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- ValuePenguin. "Penalties for driving without insurance in Louisiana." Accessed July 13, 2021.