Ohio Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws

Ohio car insurance laws require drivers to have a policy with minimum coverage of 25/50/25. This means you need at least $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident and $25,000 for property damage liability. Auto insurance protects you from possible financial loss in the event of an at-fault accident. It is also a requirement for the registration of a motor vehicle in Ohio. If you want better protection, consider getting higher liability limits and additional coverage.

Loading...
tip icon

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Ohio?

To determine how much car insurance you need in Ohio, you have to evaluate your needs and circumstances as a driver. However, it must meet the minimum requirements in Ohio. This means your policy should include:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage

Ohio minimum car insurance only provides basic protection. If you think you need additional protection, purchase higher liability limits and extra coverage.

Loading...

What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?

According to Ohio car insurance laws, you must have a policy with at least 25/50/25 liability limits to legally operate a motor vehicle in the state. Liability insurance would cover the other party’s injuries and property damage if you caused the accident. For a policy with only the state minimum coverage, you can get up to $25,000 for bodily injuries per person and $50,000 per accident for all parties involved. For property damage, the minimum liability limit is $25,000.

How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Ohio?

The cost of your auto insurance will depend on your circumstances. Insurers evaluate individualized factors like your age, credit history, driving history and ZIP code, among other factors, when calculating premiums. Rates will also vary depending on the insurance provider. So shop around and compare personalized quotes to find the best policy and price.

Based on average rates for Ohio drivers with minimum liability-only coverage, the cheapest widely available option is Erie. Their average rate is $274 per year. The most affordable option in Ohio is USAA, with an average annual rate of $238. However, only current military members, veterans and their families qualify for USAA policies.

Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Ohio

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Ohio
  • Company
    Annually
    Monthly
  • 1.
    $238
    $20
  • 2.
    $274
    $23
  • 3.
    $331
    $28
  • 4.
    $343
    $29
  • 5.
    $433
    $36

These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Ohio driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.

For Ohio residents who lease cars, the minimum car insurance coverage requirement may be different. In most cases, leasing companies require a full coverage car insurance policy with 100/300/50 liability limits. But this may vary depending on the insurer. To find out your Ohio car lease insurance requirements, contact your financial leasing company.

Loading...

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Ohio While Leasing a Car?

For Ohio residents who lease cars, the minimum car insurance coverage requirement may be different. In most cases, leasing companies require a full coverage car insurance policy with 100/300/50 liability limits. But this may vary depending on the insurer. To find out your Ohio car lease insurance requirements, contact your financial leasing company.

How much car insurance do you need? This depends on your needs. While a state minimum liability-only policy may be enough for some Ohio drivers, others may need more comprehensive protection. MoneyGeek recommends full coverage insurance with 50/100/50 liability limits.

You may also need additional coverage, such as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If a driver with limited or no coverage hits you, the expenses you incur for related injuries and property damage will not be covered if you do not have a full coverage policy. In Ohio, 13% of drivers are uninsured.

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Ohio

Under Ohio car insurance laws, all drivers and vehicle owners must carry an auto insurance policy. It should meet the state minimum requirements. Additionally, you must be able to present proof of insurance to law enforcement officers when needed. Failure to comply with these regulations can lead to fines, penalties and suspension, such as:

  • First offense: Fines and penalties decided by a court of law, driver's license suspended until all requirements are met. A $160 restoration fee for vehicle registration and license plates or you may have your vehicle and license plates confiscated for 30 days.
  • Second offense: Fines and penalties decided by a court of law. Your driver's license gets suspended for an entire year. You may be granted limited driving privileges after 15 days, a $360 restoration fee for vehicle registration and license plates or vehicle and license plates confiscated for 60 days.
  • Third and subsequent offenses: Fines and penalties as decided by a court of law, Driver's license is suspended for two years. Limited driving privileges may be granted after 30 days, a $660 restoration fee for vehicle registration and license plates or your vehicle may be impounded and sold and you may have a five-year suspension on registering vehicles.

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Ohio

Here are some of the frequently asked questions about Ohio car insurance.

Learn More About Car Insurance

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources