You need to have insurance if you want to drive in Connecticut. Being a tort state, you’ll be obliged to cover the other driver’s medical and repair expenses if you cause an accident. Car insurance laws in Connecticut require a policy with liability limits of at least 25/50/25. You also need uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage with the same thresholds. Connecticut’s car insurance laws are strict — you can get penalized for driving without insurance, not being able to show proof of insurance during a traffic stop or if you let your policy lapse, resulting in a coverage gap.
Connecticut Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Connecticut?
When calculating how much car insurance you need in Connecticut, there are several things to consider. Primarily, you need to be aware of Connecticut’s car insurance requirements.
According to Connecticut’s insurance laws, you must have at least liability coverage of 25/50/25 and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance with 25/50 limits. It protects you from the other driver’s cost of damages up until the following thresholds:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person for uninsured/underinsured motorists
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident for uninsured/underinsured motorists
In Connecticut, all registered vehicles need to be insured. To avoid penalties for driving with no insurance in Connecticut, make sure your policy fulfills these minimum requirements.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Connecticut’s minimum requirements of 25/50/25 mean that if you cause an accident, your insurance protects against costs of damages from the other party’s medical bills up to $50,000 for all people, with a limit of $25,000 per individual. If their car or any other property is damaged, your insurance provider also helps with expenses up to $25,000.
Connecticut’s car insurance requirements also include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. It helps you pay for costs incurred due to a collision with an uninsured driver. Connecticut’s minimum car insurance requirements state that you need to have at least $25,000 worth of coverage for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident. If you want more protection, you can choose to increase your limits up to double your liability coverage.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Connecticut?
Car insurance providers consider several factors when setting premiums. These include some personal information such as your age, driving history and credit standing. Where you live in Connecticut also factors into how much you pay for car insurance each year.
Comparing quotes from several providers is always encouraged because carriers don’t compute rates the same way. The insurance company providing the cheapest minimum car insurance option in Connecticut is USAA. Their policy costs $425 per year on average but is only available to present and former military members and their families. Another affordable option is GEICO, which offers more widely available policies. You can buy insurance with similar coverage for an average annual rate of $470.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Connecticut
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Connecticut
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Connecticut driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
The table shows rates for policies meeting Connecticut’s minimum car insurance requirements of 25/50/25 for liability coverage. It also includes uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance with 25/50 limits for bodily injuries.
To complete this analysis, MoneyGeek used the sample profile of a 40-year-old male driving a 2010 Toyota Camry. His profile includes a clean driving record and a good credit standing.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Connecticut While Leasing a Car?
While you only need liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury insurance to fulfill Connecticut’s minimum car insurance requirements, it may not be enough if you’re driving a leased car.
The lender sets car insurance requirements for leased cars in Connecticut, not the state. Most leasing companies require you to have physical damage insurance — meaning comprehensive and collision coverage — to make sure their assets are protected. It means you’ll need a full coverage car insurance policy. They also prefer your liability limits to be at least 100/300/50.
Before you go looking around for quotes, it’s best to get in touch with your leasing company to know their specific requirements. It’s also an opportunity to understand their process and payment terms.
Although a policy fulfilling Connecticut’s car insurance requirements allows you to drive in the state, MoneyGeek recommends getting a full coverage policy with at least 50/100/50 limits.
Connecticut currently ranks 44th among states with regards to the number of uninsured drivers. It may not be high, but 6.6% of all drivers are still uninsured. Uninsured/uninsured motorist insurance doesn’t just cover your medical expenses if the at-fault driver has no coverage — you can also use it in the event of a hit-and-run.
Consider your options before determining how much car insurance you need in Connecticut. Although it may result in a higher premium, more coverage will also provide you more protection on the road.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Connecticut
Connecticut’s car insurance laws are strict. The state has a mandatory insurance reporting law, which requires carriers to submit records of any uninsured vehicle.
The penalties for driving with no insurance in Connecticut include:
- Up to $500 fine and up to three months in jail for the vehicle owner
- $100–1,000 fine for the driver
- One month suspension of license and registration for the first offense
- Six months suspension of license and registration for subsequent offenses
To have your driver’s license reinstated, you need to file for SR-22 insurance and pay a $175 restoration fee.
Connecticut also has a different set of penalties for other insurance-related offenses. It includes failing to show proof of insurance and not maintaining an updated car insurance policy.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Connecticut
Here are several questions drivers frequently ask about car insurance laws in Connecticut.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles. "Insurance Compliance Frequently Asked Questions." Accessed September 18, 2021.
- Connecticut Insurance Department. "Automobile Coverage Information." Accessed September 17, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured Motorists." Accessed September 17, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "What determines the price of an auto insurance policy?." Accessed September 17, 2021.