Mississippi Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
Car insurance regulations in Mississippi require drivers to have a mandatory 25/50/25 liability coverage. This means that Mississippi car insurance requirements have minimum coverage limits of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage. Mississippi drivers can also opt to get additional coverages, such as medical payments and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage. It is illegal to drive without the mandatory liability car insurance in Mississippi, and doing so could attract penalties, including fines and suspension of your driver’s license.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Mississippi?
Mississippi car insurance laws specify certain minimum coverages that you must have to drive legally in the state. How much car insurance do you need in Mississippi to meet the state’s car insurance requirements?
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
Legally, 25/50/25 is the basic minimum you need to drive in Mississippi. However, liability coverage does not cover your injuries or damage to your car, so Mississippi drivers can choose to get additional coverage to protect themselves in case of an accident.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Mississippi only requires drivers to have mandatory liability insurance. Liability insurance covers you for any injuries or damage you may cause to the other party in the event of an accident. This means that your liability insurance should cover a minimum of $25,000 per person for any third-party bodily injury, with a limit per accident of $50,000. Your liability insurance should also have a minimum of $25,000 to cover property damage.
While Mississippi regulations only require liability insurance, drivers can also choose to get coverage for their own medical expenses and property damage, regardless of who is at fault. In Mississippi, drivers can get optional add-ons like medical payments coverage, which will cover you for medical expenses incurred due to an accident. You can also get uninsured motorist coverage in Mississippi to protect yourself if you get into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Mississippi?
Several factors will determine your car insurance premiums in Mississippi. These include your age, driving record, credit score and other factors. Different insurers also charge different rates, so the insurer you choose will impact your car insurance premiums.
The cheapest car insurance provider in Mississippi is USAA at an average of $296 yearly, but this provider is only available to current and former military members and their families. For those not eligible for a USAA policy, the most affordable car insurance in Mississippi is GEICO, which costs $382 yearly on average.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Mississippi
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Mississippi
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Mississippi driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
MoneyGeek obtained car insurance costs based on the minimum 25/50/25 coverage limits set by the state of Mississippi. For this analysis, the base profile used is for a 40-year-old male Mississippi resident with a clean driving record and good credit score who drives a 2010 Toyota Camry.
MoneyGeek also ranked the best car insurance companies in Mississippi for those who want strong service and affordable rates.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Mississippi While Leasing a Car?
Leasing companies in Mississippi may have their own minimum car insurance requirements that differ from those of the state. This means that you may have to check with your leasing company to find out their requirements for minimum coverages before leasing. In most cases, leasing companies require drivers to have a full coverage car insurance policy with 100/300/50 minimum limits.
Mississippi car insurance laws only mandate liability insurance to drive legally in the state. However, this type of coverage leaves the driver without protection since it only covers injuries and property damage to third parties. In 2019, Mississippi had the highest percentage of uninsured motorists in the nation at 29.4%. This means that the risk of getting into a collision with an uninsured driver in the state is higher than in every other state, and drivers need to have collision and comprehensive insurance to protect themselves fully. MoneyGeek recommends at least 50/100/50 full coverage insurance in Mississippi.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Mississippi
Driving without valid car insurance that meets the state’s minimum liability requirements in Mississippi is illegal and attracts penalties and fines. Driving without proof of insurance in Mississippi could lead to a misdemeanor conviction, imposition of a $500 fine and suspension of driving privileges.
- Fines: Driving without car insurance in Mississippi will attract a fine of $500. This fine can be reduced to $100 if you produce proof of insurance or an SR-22 certificate before the date of the hearing.
- License suspension: If you are unable to produce proof of valid car insurance, your driver’s license may be suspended for a period of up to one year or until you are able to provide proof of insurance.
- SR-22 requirement: If you have had your license suspended for driving without insurance, you will be required to produce an SR-22 certificate as proof that you have car insurance before your driving license is reinstated. You will be required to hold SR-22 car insurance for three years.
- Reinstatement fees: Drivers who want to get their licenses reinstated will have to pay a $25 reinstatement fee and the applicable license renewal fees.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Mississippi
The state regulations in Mississippi do not require drivers to have coverages like personal injury protection and uninsured motorist. To help you familiarize yourself with Mississippi’s car insurance laws, here are the answers to some frequently asked questions.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Factbook." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Background on Compulsory Auto Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelley Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 13, 2021.
- Mississippi Insurance Department. "Auto Insurance." Accessed July 13, 2021.