What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Wyoming?
How much car insurance do you need in Wyoming? According to state laws, you must always have a minimum amount of liability insurance in Wyoming to legally drive your vehicle:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 total per accident for bodily injury
- $20,000 Property damage liability coverage
These liability limits might be expressed at 25/50/20 liability insurance. If you want greater financial protection, you can increase these minimums by paying more for your insurance.
Not all minimum coverage costs the same
Comparing quotes will help you find the cheapest policy.
Choose your best option
Compare rates and coverage options from top insurers.
Compare multiple insurers' quotes to maximize your savings.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Most states, like Wyoming, have state laws mandating liability insurance. If you cause an accident, liability insurance pays to cover other parties’ costs in injury and property damage cases. The state minimum liability limits in Wyoming are 25/50/20, which means you need to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person for bodily injury to a total of $50,000 per accident. If another party has their personal property damaged in an accident, the property damage liability covers that. Therefore, you need a minimum of $20,000 in property damage coverage in Wyoming.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Wyoming?
Several factors can determine the cost of car insurance in Wyoming. These include your age, ZIP code, driving record, credit standing, the type of car you drive and others. Also, costs can vary among different car insurance providers in Wyoming.
The cheapest car insurance in Wyoming is USAA, which costs approximately $180 per year. However, USAA policies are only available to current and former military members and their families. The second most affordable option is GEICO, which costs about $206 per year.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Wyoming
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Wyoming
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Wyoming driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
MoneyGeek compared car insurance rates with the state minimum limits using a sample driver profile: a 40-year-old male driver with a clean driving record and good credit standing driving a 2010 Toyota Camry.
MoneyGeek also ranked the best car insurance companies in Wyoming for those who want strong service and affordable rates.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Wyoming While Leasing a Car?
Suppose you want to lease a car in Wyoming. In that case, it is crucial to go through your leasing terms to fully understand the minimum insurance requirements of the leasing company, which can be different from the state minimum insurance requirements. Most companies would require full-coverage insurance with at least 100/300/50 liability coverage.
If you are unsure how much insurance you should have in Wyoming, MoneyGeek recommends a minimum of 50/100/50 liability limits and full-coverage insurance. Although Wyoming has a relatively low risk of uninsured motorists at 5.8% of drivers, you should still consider uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. This way, you remain financially protected if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Wyoming
Persons driving their cars without insurance in Wyoming are liable to face penalties. Therefore, all drivers need to carry proof of insurance while driving and present that proof to law enforcement officers when asked. In such cases, you need to display a physical ID card or certificate as electronic proof of insurance is not accepted by local law enforcement. Failure to provide proof of insurance is recognized as a misdemeanor offense.
If caught driving without insurance or failing to provide proof of insurance when asked, these are the possible consequences:
- A fine of up to $750 for the first offense
- Jail time of up to six months
- Suspension of driving license
- A $50 for reinstatement of license
- The requirement to file an SR-22 form
- A fine between $500 and $1,5000 for repeat offenses
- Extra jail time of up to six more months
- Revocation of license and registration
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Wyoming
Don't miss these frequently asked questions about car insurance in Wyoming.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About Mark Fitzpatrick
- CARCO. "CARCO FAQs." Accessed July 9, 2021.
- Claims Journal. "Does Automobile Insurance Follow the Car or the Driver?." Accessed June 26, 2021.
- CollisionClaims.com. "Wyoming Diminished Value Claims." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Factbook." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelly Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- RMIIA. "Uninsured Motorists: Wyoming." Accessed July 11, 2021.