What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Wisconsin?
How much car insurance do you need in Wisconsin? According to state laws, you need to have minimum liability insurance to drive in Wisconsin. This includes:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 in property damage coverage
You might see these liability limit requirements expressed as 25/50/10 liability insurance. Depending on your needs, you can pay more for higher limits and add-ons.
Not all minimum coverage costs the same
Comparing quotes will help you find the cheapest policy.
Choose your best option
Compare rates and coverage options from top insurers.
Compare multiple insurers' quotes to maximize your savings.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Most states, including Wisconsin, require liability insurance. If you are involved in an accident, liability coverage pays for the costs incurred by other involved parties. Wisconsin employs a state minimum liability requirement of 25/50/10, which means you need to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person for injuries or death and $50,000 per accident for all parties. If another person’s property, like their car or home, gets damaged in an accident, property damage insurance pays for that. You need a minimum of $10,000 in property damage coverage in Wisconsin.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Wisconsin?
Several factors can influence the cost of car insurance in Wisconsin, including your age, credit score, driving record, ZIP code, and car make or model. Prices also vary across different insurance providers in Wisconsin.
The most affordable car insurance in Wisconsin is offered by USAA and costs an average of $201 per year. However, USAA policies are only available to current and former military members and their families. The second cheapest option is GEICO, which costs about $311 per year.
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Wisconsin driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
For this study, MoneyGeek analyzed car insurance rates with the state minimum limits of 25/50/10 liability with a sample profile of a 40-year-old male driver with good credit and a clean driving record, driving a 2010 Toyota Camry.
MoneyGeek also ranked the best car insurance companies in Wisconsin for those who want strong service and affordable rates.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Wisconsin While Leasing a Car?
If you lease a car in Wisconsin, the leasing company can have different insurance requirements that are separate from the state minimum liability requirements. Most leasing companies require full-coverage car insurance with 100/300/50 minimum liability limits. You can contact your leasing company to find out the minimum coverage required to meet your leasing terms. Be sure you understand the exact terms of the lease agreement and the minimum insurance requirements to ensure that you meet the same.
If you are unsure about how much car insurance you need in Wisconsin, MoneyGeek recommends getting at least 50/100/50 liability limits and full-coverage insurance. Wisconsin has a moderate risk of uninsured motorists at 13.3% of drivers. A full-coverage policy protects you in the event of an accident involving an uninsured or underinsured motorist by covering injuries and property damage.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Wisconsin
Driving without insurance in Wisconsin can result in various penalties. You need to carry proof of insurance at all times while driving and display it promptly when requested by a law enforcement officer. This can be a printed document or ID or electronic proof of insurance.
If you are found to be driving without proof of insurance, here are some of the consequences that you can expect:
- A fine of up to $500
- A spot fine up to $10
- A $5,000 fine for producing false or fraudulent insurance documents
- Revocation of license and registration for repeat offenders
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Wisconsin
Here are answers to questions drivers ask about car insurance in Wisconsin.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About Mark Fitzpatrick
- CARCO. "CARCO FAQs." Accessed July 9, 2021.
- Claims Journal. "Does Automobile Insurance Follow the Car or the Driver?." Accessed June 26, 2021.
- CollisionClaims.com. "Wisconsin Diminished Value Claims." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Factbook." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelly Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation. "Minimum insurance requirements." Accessed July 11, 2021.