Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Rhode Island: Everything You Need to Know


Enter your ZIP code to get started

Shield

Free. Simple. Secure.

Updated: May 20, 2024

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure

In Rhode Island, State Farm offers the cheapest car insurance rates post-DUI for full and minimum coverage policies. Overall, Allstate offers the greatest balance of affordability and quality service, making it the best car insurer for full and minimum coverage policies for someone with a DUI in Rhode Island.

MoneyGeek Logo IconBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI
2024

Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2023

Insurance companies in Rhode Island are legally allowed to refuse coverage to DUI offenders. If your auto insurer does choose to renew your car insurance after a DUI, your premiums will increase by up to 86% compared to the average cost of car insurance without a DUI in Rhode Island.

Violations like DUIs increase the cost of your car insurance. The risk associated with DUI offenders is higher because they are more likely to get into accidents. DUI offenders in Rhode Island also risk stiff penalties, including fines, license suspension and jail time.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Rhode Island After a DUI

Nationally, the cheapest companies for car insurance with a DUI are State Farm and Progressive, but this can vary from state to state. State Farm has the cheapest car insurance rates for drivers with a DUI looking for minimum or full coverage policies in Rhode Island. USAA may be the most affordable for you if you have a military background.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Rhode Island After a DUI

Rates for full coverage car insurance after a DUI can be costly, but you can still find affordable rates by comparing quotes. The cheapest car insurance companies for full coverage in Rhode Island if you have a DUI are:

  • State Farm: $790 per year
  • Travelers: $2,289 per year

USAA, which costs $1,972 per year, may be the second-cheapest for you if you have a military background.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
1CompanyState FarmAnnual Premium$790
2CompanyUSAAAnnual Premium$1,972
3CompanyTravelersAnnual Premium$2,289
4CompanyProgressiveAnnual Premium$2,375
5CompanyAllstateAnnual Premium$2,658

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Rhode Island After a DUI

If you are looking for affordable minimum coverage car insurance for drivers with a DUI, the cheapest companies in Rhode Island are:

  • State Farm: $430 per year
  • Progressive: $1,373 per year

USAA is one of the cheapest options at $1,007 per year, but only drivers with a military background are eligible for a USAA policy.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
State FarmMinimum Annual Premium$430
USAAMinimum Annual Premium$1,007
ProgressiveMinimum Annual Premium$1,373
TravelersMinimum Annual Premium$1,537
AllstateMinimum Annual Premium$1,558
mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

The cheapest car insurance option is a minimum coverage policy. Minimum coverage policies meet the minimum car insurance requirements set by Rhode Island state laws but may not offer sufficient protection. Understanding how much car insurance coverage you need before choosing a minimum coverage policy is important.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Rhode Island After a DUI

Allstate is the best car insurance company for full coverage and minimum coverage car insurance after a DUI in Rhode Island. MoneyGeek’s ranking system uses a combination of affordability scores, financial stability, customer satisfaction and claims ratings to rank the top providers.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Rhode Island After a DUI

If you are looking for the best balance of quality service and affordability, Allstate and Travelers are the best companies in Rhode Island for drivers with a DUI violation who need full coverage car insurance.


1
AllstateBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4

2.9/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Allstate’s full coverage policy costs an average of $1,895 per year, but if you have a DUI, you will pay $2,658 per year, which is around 40% more.

More About Allstate

Allstate ranks high for claims and financial stability and its policies are typically moderately priced. Allstate offers unique discounts like early signing and responsible payment discounts. You can also get unique add-on coverages such as custom parts and portable electronics and media coverage.

2
Travelers
Score:4

4.2/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

3.5/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Drivers with a DUI pay $2,289 for full coverage from Travelers, which is 58% higher than the average rate of $1,443 that you would pay for the same policy without a DUI.

More About Travelers

Travelers has excellent complaints, financial stability and discount ratings. This provider offers a variety of add-on coverages, including accident forgiveness, new car replacement and gap insurance. Allstate also offers multiple discounts like new vehicle and alternative energy discounts.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Rhode Island After a DUI

Allstate and Progressive are the best car insurance companies for minimum coverage in Rhode Island if you have a DUI. Minimum coverage policies tend to be more affordable, but they may not offer you the level of coverage that you need.


1
AllstateBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

3/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Minimum coverage car insurance with a DUI from Allstate costs $1,558 per year in Rhode Island. This is 53% higher than the cost of a policy without a DUI, which is $1,015 per year.

More About Allstate

Allstate has average customer service ratings but ranks high for complaints and financial stability. You can get unique discounts like their early signing and responsible payment discounts and unique add-on coverages like customized parts coverage and portable media coverage.

2
Progressive
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

2/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

The average cost of a minimum coverage policy from Progressive in Rhode Island is $1,022 per year. If you have a DUI, you will pay 34% more for the same policy at $1,373 per year.

More About Progressive

Progressive ranks high in complaints, affordability, discounts and financial stability. You can get various add-on coverages like custom parts coverage. You can also get multiple discounts, including their continuously insured and online sign-up discounts that are rarely offered by other insurers.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Rhode Island After a DUI?

In Rhode Island, your car insurance premiums for full coverage may increase by 86%. This means your rate could go from an average of $1,730 per year without DUI to $3,229 per year with a DUI. Rates typically increase after a DUI because the insurer will categorize you as a high-risk driver, meaning you are more likely to get into accidents.

Below, you can see how full coverage car insurance rates vary before and after a DUI in Rhode Island.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$1,730
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$3,229
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$1,499 more

This is 87% more expensive.

In Rhode Island, car insurance with a DUI can be higher by up to 86% compared to the cost of car insurance without a DUI. To check rates based on your profile, you can use MoneyGeek’s auto insurance calculator below.

Car Insurance Calculator

MoneyGeeks's car insurance calculator will give you a customized estimate of your auto insurance cost. It's free to use, requires no personal information and we won't send you any spam.

High
Average
Low

Rates updated:

Jul 15, 2024

Shield Insurance
Why You Can Trust MoneyGeek

Although MoneyGeek partners with some of the companies we recommend, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of writers, editors and licensed agents. Learn more about our editorial policies and expert editorial team.

mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

DUIs usually have several additional legal and cost implications and cause an increase in your car insurance premiums. Some of the costs and penalties include:

  • Fines, attorney and court fees: Once you are cited for a DUI, you will need to appear in court and will likely pay a fine as well as court fees. You will also incur attorney fees if you get a lawyer to help you with the proceedings.
  • Towing and impound fees: After a DUI arrest, your car will be towed and impounded, so you will need to pay the towing and impound charges to get your car released.
  • Drug education and treatment: You may be required to attend an alcohol or drug education program for a certain length of time following a DUI.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: If your driving license is suspended after your driving conviction, the DMV will charge you a reinstatement fee.

Getting Car Insurance in Rhode Island After a DUI

You may have difficulty getting car insurance after a DUI offense in Rhode Island. This is because some insurers will decline to offer coverage to high-risk drivers. Because they are private businesses, insurance providers are not required to provide coverage for high-risk drivers.

A DUI violation will also stay on your driving record for five years. During this look-back period, it can be challenging to get car insurance in Rhode Island.

It is possible to get affordable car insurance after a DUI in Rhode Island, but you will need to shop around and compare quotes from different providers to get the cheapest rates.

mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Rhode Island does not require drivers with a DUI on record to file SR-22 insurance. However, you will still pay significantly higher rates for car insurance with a DUI than someone with a clean record. You can find the best car insurance rates for high-risk drivers by comparing quotes from multiple providers.

Rhode Island DUI Laws

Different states have their own laws and legal implications after a DUI. In Rhode Island, penalties for DUIs may include suspension of your driver’s license, court fines and other charges. MoneyGeek broke down Rhode Island DUI laws to help you understand the possible penalties of a DUI.

    bac1 icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) refers to the level of alcohol in your blood. Driving with a BAC level higher than 0.08% in Rhode Island is a DUI offense. Even if you are below this threshold, you could still get arrested if you look like you can’t drive properly.

    bac2 icon

    Driving with a BAC of 0.15% will result in increased penalties

    • If your BAC is equal to or higher than 0.15%, you will incur a fine of $500 and community service of 20 to 60 hours for a first offense.
    • Your license may also be suspended for 3–18 months.
    • You will also be required to take a course on driving while intoxicated.
    driverLicense icon

    30–180 days administrative license suspension on first offense

    After your first DUI offense, your license may be suspended for a period ranging from 30 to 180 days.

    ignition icon

    Ignition interlocks are mandatory for all DUI convictions

    In Rhode Island, ignition interlocks are mandatory for all DUI offenses.

    car2Colored icon

    Open container laws

    It is illegal for you to drive with an open container present in your vehicle in Rhode Island and you risk having your license suspended and incurring a fine if you violate this law.

Compare Auto Insurance Rates

Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

Frequently Asked Questions

MoneyGeek answered frequently asked questions about car insurance after a DUI in Rhode Island to help you learn more.

Will my insurer continue to cover me if I get a DUI in Rhode Island?
How much do car insurance premiums increase in Rhode Island after a DUI?
What is the cheapest car insurance company in Rhode Island after a DUI?
How long will having a DUI affect my car insurance rates?
How do I get car insurance if I have a DUI?

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Rhode Island, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

About Mark Fitzpatrick


Mark Fitzpatrick headshot

Mark Fitzpatrick has analyzed the property and casualty insurance market for over five years, conducting original research and creating personalized content for every kind of buyer. Currently, he leads P&C insurance content production at MoneyGeek. Fitzpatrick has been quoted in several insurance-related publications, including CNBC, NBC News and Mashable.

Fitzpatrick earned a master’s degree in economics and international relations from Johns Hopkins University and a bachelor’s degree from Boston College. He is passionate about using his knowledge of economics and insurance to bring transparency around financial topics and help others feel confident in their money moves.


sources