MoneyGeek’s analysis shows that in Nevada, drivers with a DUI can look at State Farm for the most affordable rates for both full and minimum coverage insurance. State Farm is also our pick for the best full coverage and minimum coverage car insurer in the state.
Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2023
It’s legal for insurance companies in Nevada to refuse to give car insurance to DUI offenders. Despite that, many carriers do offer car insurance after a DUI, but their policies are about 56.59% more expensive than those for drivers with clean records.
Insurance providers charge higher rates to DUI offenders because they see them as riskier to insure. Getting a DUI in Nevada can lead to jail time, fines, license revocation and mandatory interlock installation, on top of higher car insurance premiums.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Nevada After a DUI
Across the U.S., State Farm and Progressive have the most affordable car insurance for people with DUIs. State Farm also offers the cheapest post-DUI policies in Nevada. However, the cheapest provider can vary depending on the driver’s location.
Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Nevada After a DUI
Your car insurance costs after a DUI vary based on factors such as your preferred coverage level. Full coverage policies offer extensive financial protection, but they are more expensive compared to the state’s minimum insurance.
In Nevada, the following companies offer the lowest rates if you’re buying full coverage car insurance:
- State Farm: $1,777 per year
- Allstate: $2,417 per year
USAA also has affordable rates for drivers with DUIs at roughly $1,910 per year, but it’s only available for military members, veterans and their families.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Nevada After a DUI
The amount of coverage you buy affects your car insurance rates after a DUI. Although state minimum policies are cheaper, they offer less protection compared to full coverage insurance.
If you have a DUI in Nevada, you can look at these providers for the cheapest minimum coverage policies:
- State Farm: $970 per year
- Allstate: $1,201 per year
At approximately $1,026 per year, USAA is also an affordable option, but it’s only available to active and retired military personnel and their families.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
Although minimum coverage policies are usually the cheapest car insurance you can find, you may find their protections lacking. They include liability insurance, which covers third-party damages in case you’re at fault in an accident, but they don’t have comprehensive and collision coverage, which protects your own vehicle. It’s a good idea to consider the amount of insurance you need before deciding on a policy.
Top Car Insurance Companies in Nevada After a DUI
MoneyGeek analyzed Nevada’s highest-performing car insurance companies for someone with a DUI. We evaluated providers based on affordability, customer satisfaction, financial stability and more. Our study shows that State Farm is the top insurer for minimum and full coverage policies.
Best Companies for Full Coverage in Nevada After a DUI
If you’re looking for the best full coverage car insurance after a DUI, MoneyGeek’s analysis shows the best providers in Nevada are State Farm and Allstate. These insurers scored the highest out of the five we studied in the state. State Farm received excellent marks for customer satisfaction, financial stability and discounts, and Allstate gained high ratings for stability and its claims process.
After a DUI, you can get the cheapest full coverage policies from State Farm at approximately $1,777 per year. This is only 7.6% higher than the cost of the same policy for drivers with clean records at around $1,652 per year.
Due to State Farm’s excellent scores for satisfaction, financial stability and discounts, this company is our pick as Nevada’s top car insurance company for someone with a DUI. You can get discounts such as good driver and student discounts and add rideshare insurance to your policy. While State Farm is available in all 50 states and Washington, D.C., it lacks unique coverages like OEM coverage.
At roughly $2,417 per year, Allstate is an affordable option if you have a DUI and want full coverage car insurance in Nevada. However, that price is nearly 30% more expensive than what drivers without a DUI pay at approximately $1,865 per year.
Allstate is our runner-up pick for the best car insurance provider for DUI offenders in Nevada. This provider gained high scores for customer satisfaction and complaints, and it’s cheap for young drivers. It also offers custom parts and sound system coverage. Nonetheless, you can’t get common discounts such as those for multiple cars and defensive driving from this company, and it has below-average scores for affordability and discounts.
Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Nevada After a DUI
Based on MoneyGeek’s analysis, State Farm and Allstate are also the best companies in Nevada if you’re buying minimum coverage after a DUI. However, be reminded that although state minimum policies are affordable, their coverages might not be enough to ensure your financial protection during an accident.
State Farm’s minimum coverage policies for drivers with DUIs are Nevada’s most affordable, at approximately $970 per year. This is only 8.6% pricier compared to what drivers with a clean record pay at roughly $893 per year.
State Farm scored excellent for complaints, financial stability and discounts, and it’s MoneyGeek’s choice as the top car insurance company for someone with a DUI. Policyholders can leverage good driver and student discounts from this provider. Although it offers rideshare insurance as add-on coverage, it lacks unique coverages like OEM coverage.
With Allstate, the average annual premium for a minimum car insurance policy in Nevada is $1,201. This is roughly 27% more expensive than the company’s $947 average rate for clean drivers.
Allstate receives few customer complaints and has excellent financial stability. We appreciate the company’s low rates for young drivers and offering of unique coverages. However, Allstate lacks some common discounts.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Nevada After a DUI?
Your car insurance rates can increase by 56.59% following a DUI arrest or conviction in Nevada. The average cost of a full coverage insurance policy if you have a DUI is $2,761 per year, while it’s $1,763 for drivers with a clean record. You can use the list below to compare premium prices before and after a DUI.
How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?
This is 57% more expensive.
If you get a DUI, you can expect a significant increase in your auto insurance rates. It’s very risky to drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and since you were caught doing it, insurance companies will now see you as a high-risk driver. MoneyGeek’s car insurance calculator allows you to get a personalized estimate based on your profile.
Auto Insurance Calculator
See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.
Getting a DUI can be financially painful for you. On top of increased auto insurance premiums, you will also have to deal with the following costs:
- Fines, court and attorney fees: After a DUI, you’ll need to pay fines and court fees. You may also have to hire a lawyer in case you need to post bail or challenge an unfair ruling.
- Towing or impound fee: Your car can get towed and impounded following your arrest. To reclaim your vehicle, you’ll have to pay the relevant fees.
- Drug education and treatment: After getting a DUI, you may be required to undergo drug education and treatment.
- DMV reinstatement fee: You’ll have to pay a fee to regain your driving privileges.
Getting Car Insurance in Nevada After a DUI
It may be difficult for you to get car insurance after a DUI. Since insurance companies are private businesses, they can legally refuse to provide you with insurance after you’ve proven to be a risky driver. Because Nevada’s look-back period lasts for seven years, you can expect challenges in your car insurance throughout that duration.
Nonetheless, you can still find plenty of car insurance providers who will accept your application, but you should expect to pay more expensive premiums. MoneyGeek suggests you shop around and compare offers to find the cheapest ones.
After a high-risk traffic violation such as a DUI, you’re legally required to buy SR-22 insurance in Nevada before restoring your driving privileges. It’s a document verifying that you have the required minimum coverage in the state.
While the coverages in SR-22 insurance are similar to those found in standard insurance policies, they are more expensive. On top of the additional fees you need to pay to secure an SR-22 form, your car insurance rates will increase following the DUI violation.
Nevada DUI Laws
A DUI arrest and conviction can result in harsh legal consequences and several financial implications. In Nevada, you can be imprisoned, compelled to do community service, pay a fine, attend a mandatory DUI school, have your license revoked and more. MoneyGeek details Nevada’s DUI laws in the table below.
Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI
The percentage of alcohol in your bloodstream is called blood alcohol concentration (BAC). In Nevada, if you’re operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% (0.04% for commercial drivers) or higher, that’s considered a DUI. Additionally, BAC is just a guide, and you can still get arrested despite not exceeding the BAC threshold if it appears you can’t drive well.
Driving with a BAC of 0.18% or higher will result in increased penalties
If you’re caught driving with a BAC of 0.18% or more, you’ll be required to attend an alcohol treatment course.
90-day administrative license suspension on first offense
Your license can get revoked after a DUI violation. Following your first offense, you’ll lose your driving privileges for at least 90 days.
Ignition interlocks are mandatory
You’ll be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car, which prevents you from starting your vehicle if you’re intoxicated.
Open container laws
In Nevada, drivers and passengers are generally prohibited from possessing alcoholic beverages with open containers inside a car.
Repeat offender laws
Repeat DUI offenders in Nevada will receive increased fines and longer durations of imprisonment and license revocation.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Frequently Asked Questions
To help you know more about what happens to your car insurance after a DUI conviction in Nevada, MoneyGeek answered some frequently asked questions about the topic.
To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Nevada, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12,000 annual mileage.
- Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility. "State Law: DUI Look-Back Periods." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- Governors Highway Safety Association. "Alcohol Impaired Driving." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. "Alcohol and Drugs." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- National Conference of State Legislatures. "Increased Penalties for High Blood Alcohol Content." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- Nevada DMV. "License Reinstatement." Accessed April 25, 2022.