Car Insurance in Florida vs. Michigan: Costs, Laws and Resources

With differences in regulations and insurers, Florida and Michigan car insurance costs and requirements also vary. The cheapest Florida policy is offered by GEICO at roughly $590 yearly. Nationwide offers the most affordable policy in Michigan at around $774 annually.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 11/25/2022
Written By     |  

You should factor in car insurance requirements if you're moving from Florida to Michigan or vice versa. Personal injury protection is similar in both states, although the amounts are different. It is unlimited in Michigan and $10,000 in Florida.

MoneyGeek’s car insurance Florida vs. Michigan review compared and analyzed insurance laws, requirements and costs to help you find the most affordable auto insurance company.

Car Insurance Laws in Florida vs. Michigan

Unlike Michigan, Florida car insurance laws do not require bodily injury coverage. Instead, drivers must have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance.

Florida's state minimum coverage is around $1,123, while Michigan’s minimum coverage is roughly $2,921. Car insurance requirements are one of several factors that determine premiums. This could be one of the reasons why Michigan’s premiums are higher than Florida’s.


Florida Requirements

  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $10,000 personal injury protection per person

Michigan Requirements

  • $20,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • Unlimited personal injury protection per person
  • Unlimited personal injury protection per accident
  • $1 million property protection

How Are Car Insurance Laws Enforced in Florida and Michigan?

Both Florida and Michigan are “no-fault” states, which may lead to higher car insurance costs. This means that regardless of who caused the collision, drivers are responsible for damages to their vehicles and medical expenses.

After an accident, no-fault car insurance laws require every driver to submit a claim with their individual insurance provider. Personal injury protection is compulsory for all drivers with no-fault laws as part of their auto insurance coverage.

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Florida vs. Michigan

Shopping around for a car insurance policy is advisable so that you see what meets your needs and your budget. MoneyGeek found that, on average, the cheapest state minimum coverage car insurance companies in Florida and Michigan:

  • Cheapest in Florida: GEICO ($590 per year)
  • Cheapest in Michigan: Nationwide ($774 per year)

While USAA has the lowest average yearly premiums in Florida ($406 annually) and Michigan ($704 yearly), its plans are only offered to military families.

GEICO has the third most affordable state minimum policy in Michigan. In general, state minimum policies in Florida are cheaper than in Michigan, regardless of the insurer.

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Florida

Scroll for more

swipe icon
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Michigan

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon

In Florida and Michigan, GEICO and Nationwide offer the cheapest car insurance premiums, but these are just for minimum coverage policies. Your rate will be determined by your level of coverage, age, driving history, location and other factors. MoneyGeek looked into the most affordable options in both states:

  • Cheapest car insurance in Florida
  • Cheapest car insurance in Michigan
Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.


Average Cost of Car Insurance in Florida vs. Michigan

When comparing car insurance in Florida vs. Michigan, the amount of coverage you purchase has an impact on the cost of the policy. For both minimal and full coverage rates, Florida's premiums are less expensive than Michigan's.

The average yearly cost of minimum coverage in Florida is $1,123, whereas Michigan costs roughly $2,921. Full coverage policies in Florida and Michigan cost $2,208 and $4,333, respectively, per year on average. However, since premiums are determined by a variety of factors, your actual quote may vary.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Florida vs. Michigan

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Driver
    Florida Annual Premium
    Michigan Annual Premium
  • Minimum Coverage
  • Full Coverage
  • Adding a Young Driver
  • Drivers With a Violation
  • Drivers With Poor Credit

Why Are Car Insurance Rates More Expensive in Florida vs. Michigan?

Auto insurance costs are influenced by a variety of factors, which explains why premiums in Michigan are higher than in Florida. While both states are considered no-fault states, which implies that vehicle insurance costs are greater in both, Michigan has a large number of uninsured drivers. This results in higher insurance costs.

Car Insurance Costs by City in Florida vs. Michigan

Auto insurance premiums vary based on where you live within a state. MoneyGeek determined the cities in Florida and Michigan that, on average, offer the most affordable and most expensive policies for state minimum liability insurance.


  • Cheapest city: Gainesville ($693 per year)
  • Most expensive city: Hialeah ($1,461 per year)


  • Cheapest city: Ann Arbor ($1,083 per year)
  • Most expensive city: Detroit ($3,688 per year)

While car insurance requirements are the same throughout a state, other factors such as population density and pricing differences between cities play a major role in determining rates.

Car Insurance Costs by City in Florida

Scroll for more

swipe icon
Car Insurance Costs by City in Michigan

Scroll for more

swipe icon

Moving Between Florida and Michigan? What to Know

Your driver's license and registration will need to be transferred once you relocate from Florida to Michigan or vice versa. If you are satisfied with your existing insurer, you might be able to keep it. However, rates may vary to reflect the new state’s risks and coverage requirements.

If you're looking for a new insurance provider, MoneyGeek has resources to help you find the right policy for you.

  • This is an icon

    Use MoneyGeek’s car insurance calculators for Florida and Michigan

    Since auto insurance costs differ by person, getting a personal estimate can be beneficial. You can get an estimate by entering your age, driving record, credit score, vehicle type and other information into MoneyGeek's Florida car insurance calculator and Michigan car insurance calculator.

  • This is an icon

    Learn about car insurance for high-risk drivers in Florida and Michigan

    High-risk drivers pay more for car insurance, and some insurers may not offer them coverage. Drivers with serious traffic violations must submit an SR-22 in Florida or an SR-22 in Michigan, depending on where they live.

  • This is an icon

    Figure out your options for temporary car insurance in Florida and Michigan

    Even though most car insurance policies are for a minimum term of six months, there are ways to get temporary car insurance if you are only moving to Florida or Michigan for a short time. MoneyGeek identified options for temporary auto insurance in Florida or temporary auto insurance in Michigan.

  • This is an icon

    If you’re a low-income driver, see if Florida or Michigan offer car insurance programs

    MoneyGeek provides a wide range of resources that can help low-income drivers in Florida and low-income drivers in Michigan to find ways how they can save when shopping for car insurance policies.

FAQs About Florida and Michigan Car Insurance

The laws and pricing for auto insurance in Florida vs. Michigan are varied. MoneyGeek answers some frequently asked questions about car insurance in both states to help you make an informed decision about a policy that suits your budget and needs.


To calculate average car insurance rates by company and across Florida and Michigan, MoneyGeek collaborated with Quadrant Information Services to collect auto insurance quotes from both locations. We used a sample profile for a 40-year-old driver with a clean driving record and minimum coverage unless modified by criteria like coverage level, age, driving offenses and credit score. Learn more about how costs are calculated in our MoneyGeek car insurance methodology.

Minimum car insurance requirements by state were sourced from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of the respective state.

About the Author


Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.