What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Oklahoma?
How much car insurance do you need in Oklahoma? Typically, Oklahoma car insurance laws require that you should meet the following minimum requirements:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
Oklahoma does not require PIP coverage. You can increase the above limits based on your preferred level of coverage at an added cost.
Not all minimum coverage costs the same
Comparing quotes will help you find the cheapest policy.
Choose your best option
Compare rates and coverage options from top insurers.
Compare multiple insurers' quotes to maximize your savings.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Liability car insurance protects you against loss in case of an accident where you are at fault. If you get liability coverage in Oklahoma, your insurer will cover third-party property damage and injuries if you cause an accident.
The State’s limit of 25/50/25 means that your policy covers at least $25,000 per person during injury and a maximum of $50,000 for everyone injured per accident. There is also a $25,000 property damage liability limit for another person’s property damaged in the accident, such as their home or car.
Personal injury protection and uninsured/ underinsured motorist coverages are not part of Oklahoma’s standard car insurance requirement.
Drivers are also entitled to the diminished value of their vehicle in Oklahoma for up to 2 years. The value refers to the lost market value when their car is damaged. However, the state does not include uninsured motorist coverage for diminished value or if you are involved in an at-fault accident or one that is not caused by a collision.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Oklahoma?
Car insurance rates in Oklahoma vary based on factors such as your driving history, credit score, age and ZIP code. The cost may also differ across various insurance providers.
The most affordable car insurance company in Oklahoma for all drivers is GEICO, with an average annual cost of $401. USAA is cheaper than GEICO, at $373 per year. However, it’s only available for former and current military members and their families.
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Oklahoma driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
MoneyGeek analyzed car insurance costs for the state minimum coverage limits of 25/100/25. The costs are for a 40-year-old male driver with a 2010 Toyota Camry car model. The driver has a clean record, as well as a good credit score.
MoneyGeek also ranked the best car insurance companies in Oklahoma for those who want strong service and affordable rates.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Oklahoma While Leasing a Car?
While Oklahoma’s car insurance laws require you to meet the minimum liability limits, car leasing companies may have different requirements. The majority of these companies will ask you to get full coverage insurance with liability limits of 100/300/50. Be sure to find out from your leasing company what their minimum car insurance requirements are before finalizing any paperwork with them.
While you may decide on any amount of car insurance coverage in Oklahoma, Moneygeek recommends that you get a policy with a 50/100/50 limit at least, especially if you do not know how much insurance coverage you will need.
13.8% of the drivers in Oklahoma are uninsured. However, if you do not have full coverage car insurance, you will not receive compensation for personal injury and property damage if an uninsured or underinsured motorist hits you.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Oklahoma
If you drive around Oklahoma without a car insurance policy, you may face various penalties. Worse still, you can get into debt should you get involved in an at-fault accident. Once you purchase car insurance in the state, you will need to keep a valid copy as proof and present it to the traffic officer if you are asked to.
If you violate the Oklahoma car insurance laws, the following are some of the penalties you might face.
- A fine of up to $250
- Up to 30 days imprisonment
- Suspended license and registration up to a year or until proof of insurance is provided
- Impoundment or suspension of the registration of your uninsured vehicle
While you may only receive a ticket for driving without insurance in Oklahoma, the above penalties may also apply. In addition, once the registration of your car gets suspended, you may incur various administrative charges and must show proof of purchased insurance to get it restored.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Oklahoma
Here are answers to some frequently asked questions about Oklahoma car insurance.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About Mark Fitzpatrick
- CollisionClaims.com. "Oklahoma Diminished Value." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- DMV.org. "Car Insurance in Oklahoma." Accessed July 10, 2021.
- DMV.org. "DUI & DWI in Oklahoma." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Fact Book." Accessed July 10, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Background on: Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 10, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "No-fault Auto Insurance." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelley Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 10, 2021.