Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Mississippi: Everything You Need to Know
If your driver’s license is suspended or revoked following a DUI, your insurer may not renew your policy or even cancel your coverage altogether. If you’re able to maintain your car insurance, expect your premiums to rise by around 76% in Mississippi. Full coverage car insurance in Mississippi costs on average $1,863 per year if you have a DUI conviction, compared to $1,060 for a driver with no DUI.
REVIEW AUTO INSURANCE RATES
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
For those looking for the best car insurance in Mississippi after a DUI conviction, MoneyGeek recommends State Farm for both full and minimal coverage policies. Furthermore, State Farm is also the cheapest insurer for both full coverage and state-mandated insurance. In the table below, you can compare prices for various policy types.
Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2022
Insurance companies can legally refuse to cover you if you have a DUI on your driving record. It doesn’t matter which state you’re in; the decision lies directly with the insurance company. In Mississippi, the amount you pay for your insurance policy following a DUI conviction may increase by as much as 76%. This is because drivers who have been arrested for driving under the influence are more likely to file claims and are classified as high-risk drivers.
Along with having their driver's license suspended, drivers convicted of DUI in Mississippi face up to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Mississippi After a DUI
MoneyGeek's analysis found that Progressive and State Farm offer the cheapest insurance policies following a DUI nationwide. However, the cheapest car insurance companies for drivers with DUI convictions in Mississippi are State Farm and Travelers.
Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Mississippi After a DUI
According to MoneyGeek's research, the following companies have the cheapest full coverage auto insurance premiums for drivers with a DUI in Mississippi:
- State Farm: $1,127 per year
- Travelers: $1,378 per year
At an average of $1,138 per year, USAA is another affordable option for car insurance if you have a DUI in Mississippi; however, it is exclusive to active military members, veterans and their family members.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
Scroll for more
- RankCompanyAnnual Premium
- 1State Farm$1,127
- 4Mississippi Farm Bureau$1,463
Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Mississippi After a DUI
MoneyGeek's research also found that the following companies provide the cheapest minimum coverage policies for drivers with DUI convictions in Mississippi:
- State Farm: $526 per year
- Allstate: $674 per year
Current and former military members and their families in Mississippi should consider USAA, which has the cheapest annual rates at an average of $519.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
Note that although state-mandated insurance may be the cheapest, it may not necessarily provide enough coverage. While Mississippi law only mandates drivers to have the state's minimum liability coverage, we recommend that you determine the amount of coverage you would need to protect yourself and your property.
Top Car Insurance Companies in Mississippi After a DUI
MoneyGeek's ratings of Mississippi's insurance companies based on affordability, financial stability and customer satisfaction can assist you in finding the best suitable policy. State Farm is the best auto insurance provider in Mississippi for someone with a DUI for full coverage policies and state minimum insurance.
Best Companies for Full Coverage in Mississippi After a DUI
State Farm and Travelers are the best full coverage auto insurance companies in Mississippi for those with a DUI conviction. Use the table below to find more details about the two best car insurance companies for coverage after a DUI in Mississippi.
State Farm charges around $1,127 per year for full coverage car insurance for Mississippi's drivers with a DUI as against $1,043 for those without a DUI. This shows that, if you have a DUI conviction, your average yearly rates with State Farm will increase by around 8%.
State Farm received high scores across all the categories MoneyGeek reviewed them on, with a particular mention for getting a perfect 5 in affordability rating. Additional coverages like roadside assistance and ridesharing insurance are available, but not unique ones such as OEM or custom components coverage. There is one unique discount — new vehicle discount — as well as common discounts, such as the driver's education discount for completing an approved driver's education course and the defensive driving discount for completing a defensive driving course.
In Mississippi, the average cost of Travelers's full coverage car insurance with a DUI is $1,378 per year, compared to $879 for the same policy without a DUI. According to this data, having a DUI on your record increases your Travelers's yearly premium by around 57%.
Except for customer satisfaction, Travelers scored high across all other categories. The company offers several unique discounts, including early signing, new vehicle and loyalty along with a number of more common discounts. There are no unique coverages on offer, but drivers can opt for some common add-on coverages like rideshare insurance, gap insurance and accident forgiveness.
Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Mississippi After a DUI
State Farm and Nationwide are the best car insurance companies in Mississippi for state minimum coverage for drivers with a DUI. While minimum coverage is the least expensive choice for auto insurance, it may be insufficient to cover you in the event of an accident.
State Farm’s basic minimum coverage costs, on average, $526 yearly for DUI drivers in Mississippi. It costs $479 to get the same coverage without a DUI. Having a DUI on your record will result in an 8% rise in annual premiums with State Farm.
For minimum coverage insurance, State Farm is the best insurer in Mississippi for drivers with a DUI, receiving high ratings in a variety of categories. It offers standard add-on coverages, such as roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement. However, it does not offer unique coverage like OEM parts coverage. You can obtain a unique new vehicle discount from the insurer, if you're eligible, and also a few common ones like defensive driving discounts.
State minimum coverage with Nationwide costs $433 per year on average for individuals with a clean driving record. Those with a DUI, on the other hand, pay around 65% extra, or $848 per year.
Nationwide is the second-best company for state minimum insurance in Minnesota for those with a DUI on their record. It received high ratings in several categories, except MoneyGeek's affordability. In addition to standard coverages, such as accident forgiveness and gap insurance, the company offers unique coverages including identity theft coverage and a total loss deductible waiver. Additionally, eligible drivers may qualify for special savings, such as the automatic payment discount and a variety of other common discounts.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Mississippi After a DUI?
According to MoneyGeek, the average annual premium for full coverage car insurance in Mississippi increases by 76% after a DUI, costing around $1,863 per year. In comparison, drivers without a DUI pay around $1,060 for the same level of coverage. MoneyGeek outlines how and why your auto insurance premiums may fluctuate following a DUI conviction.
How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?
This is 76% more expensive.
With a DUI on your record, your auto insurance premiums will likely increase considerably. This is because insurance companies will now classify you as a high-risk driver. If you'd like a personalized estimate in Mississippi based on your driver profile, use MoneyGeek's car insurance calculator below.
Auto Insurance Calculator
See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.
Along with increased car insurance rates, which in Mississippi can be as much as 76%, a DUI will result in other higher costs:
- Fines, court and attorneys' fees: A DUI conviction frequently entails fines and court costs, including the cost of hiring an attorney.
- Towing/impound fee: If you are arrested and your car is towed and impounded, you will be charged a fee.
- Drug education and treatment: As a DUI driver, you may be asked to complete an alcohol or drug education program, which involves costs.
- DMV reinstatement fee: If your license has been suspended, you must pay a fee to restore your driving rights.
- Damages: If you are responsible for an accident, you may be liable for property damage and medical care for the other driver.
Getting Car Insurance in Mississippi After a DUI
If you’ve been convicted of driving under the influence, sometimes insurers will refuse to insure you. Legally, insurance providers can cancel or decline to renew the policies of DUI offenders because they are privately owned companies.
Because of the five-year look-back period, getting car insurance after a DUI in Mississippi might be particularly difficult.
If you are allowed to keep your existing insurance coverage, expect your premiums to skyrocket. Comparing rates and finding the best deal on your insurance is still feasible if you shop around.
Take note that Mississippi drivers convicted of a DUI are required to submit an SR-22 insurance form. Your insurer presents this document to the state insurance department on your behalf to prove that you are carrying the state's necessary minimum insurance coverage. SR-22 insurance in Mississippi comes with its own set of costs, including filing fees and the potential loss of insurance discounts.
Mississippi DUI Laws
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs has serious legal implications. DUI sanctions vary by state but often include suspensions of license and driving privileges in addition to fines, fees, jail time and more. In the chart below, MoneyGeek lists the several possible laws and sanctions associated with a DUI conviction in Mississippi.
Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI
The term BAC or Blood Alcohol Concentration refers to the quantity of alcohol present in the bloodstream. Driving with a BAC of 0.08% or above is illegal in Mississippi. However, even if you have a BAC lower than that, you can be arrested if your driving is clearly impaired.
90-day administrative license suspension on first offense
Mississippi's administrative license suspension statute empowers officers to seize the driver's license from someone who fails an alcohol test. In Mississippi, the suspension period for first infractions is 90 days.
Ignition interlocks are mandatory
Drivers must have interlock devices installed in their cars that shut the engine if alcohol is detected in their breath. For all DUI convictions in Mississippi, this is a requirement.
Repeat offender laws
In Mississippi, a second DUI brings a sentence of five to six months in jail, a fine of $600 to $1,500 and community service of ten to six months. A third DUI conviction within five years entails a fine of between $2,000 and $5,000 and a prison or jail term of one to five years. Fourth and subsequent DUI offenses entail a fine of between $3,000 and $10,000 and a jail sentence of between two to ten years.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Frequently Asked Questions
If you're still uncertain about the impact of a DUI on Mississippi car insurance, MoneyGeek's commonly asked questions answered below, including how long a DUI affects car insurance in Mississippi may help.
To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Mississippi, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI, driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.
About the Author
- Driving Laws Published by NOLO. "Mississippi’s Drunk Driving Laws and Penalties." Accessed April 22, 2022.
- Driving Laws Published by NOLO. "Minnesota’s Open Bottle (Container) Law." Accessed April 22, 2022.
- Driving Laws Published by NOLO. "What Is a Felony DUI/OUI in Mississippi?." Accessed April 24, 2022.
- Governors Highway Safety Association. "Alcohol Impaired Driving." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- National Conference of State Legislatures. "Increased Penalties for High Blood Alcohol Content." Accessed April 25, 2022.