Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Minnesota: Everything You Need to Know

If you have a suspended or revoked license due to a DUI, your insurer may choose to cancel or not renew your policy. The cost of your new insurance could almost double. In Minnesota, drivers with a DUI pay around $2,319 yearly for full coverage insurance compared to drivers without a DUI, who pay $1,165 per year on average.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 11/3/2022

If you’re looking for the best auto insurance in Minnesota after a DUI conviction, MoneyGeek recommends Auto-Owners for both full and minimum coverage. Drivers looking for the most affordable insurer should consider State Farm for both full coverage and state minimum insurance policies. You can compare pricing for different insurance coverages in the table below.

iconribbonBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI2022

Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2022

Insurance companies are not legally obligated to cover drivers with DUIs on their records. If they do offer coverage, it will be at a higher rate, because individuals who have been arrested for DUI are regarded as high-risk. After a DUI, your insurance premiums may go up by about 99% in Minnesota.

MoneyGeek's analysis shows that Minnesota drivers convicted of DUI also risk potential jail time and fees and penalties of up to $20,000, in addition to having their driver's license suspended.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Minnesota After a DUI

Based MoneyGeek’s research, Progressive and State Farm offer the most affordable insurance after a DUI in the United States. State Farm and American Family provide the cheapest car insurance for DUI-convicted drivers in Minnesota.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Minnesota After a DUI

MoneyGeek's study found the following two companies offer the cheapest full coverage insurance for drivers with a DUI in Minnesota:

  • State Farm: $1,057 per year
  • American Family: $1,059 per year
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Rank
    Company
    Annual Premium
  • 1
    State Farm
    $1,057
  • 2
    American Family
    $1,059
  • 3
    Farmers
    $1,320
  • 4
    USAA
    $1,474
  • 5
    Progressive
    $1,844

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Minnesota After a DUI

MoneyGeek also found the following companies have the cheapest minimum coverage policies for people convicted of DUI in Minnesota:

  • State Farm: $670 per year
  • American Family: $756 per year
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

State-mandated minimum insurance will be less expensive, but it may not be enough to protect you in the event of an accident. Personal injury protection and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are also mandated by Minnesota law in addition to the state minimum liability coverage. However, we recommend assessing how much coverage you need to fully safeguard yourself and your property before purchasing car insurance in Minnesota.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Minnesota After a DUI

MoneyGeek rated car insurance companies in Minnesota based on affordability, financial stability and customer satisfaction ratings. Auto-Owners is the best car insurance company for drivers with a DUI in Minnesota who want full coverage plans or state minimum insurance.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Minnesota After a DUI

Auto-Owners Insurance and State Farm offer the best full coverage options for Minnesota drivers with a DUI conviction. The table below provides more information about these two insurers.


1
Auto-Owners Insurance CoBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.4

3.5/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

5/5

User Satisfaction

4.5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

An Auto-Owners full coverage policy costs $1,093 for drivers without a DUI in Minnesota, compared to $2,229 per year for those with a DUI, a rate increase of 104%.

More About Auto-Owners Insurance Co

Auto-Owners offers common coverages like roadside assistance and new car replacement and some unique ones, like diminished value coverage. The company offers several discounts, including responsible payment and policy bundling.

2
State Farm
Score:4.3

5/5

Affordability

4/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

State Farm drivers in Minnesota without a DUI pay an annual premium of around $962, whereas those with a DUI pay around $1,057, a 10% increase.

More About State Farm

State Farm’s optional coverages include roadside assistance and rideshare insurance. It offers numerous discounts, including a new vehicle discount, an anti-theft device discount and a driver's education discount.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Minnesota After a DUI

Auto-Owners Insurance and State Farm are Minnesota’s best car insurance providers for those with DUIs who want the state minimum coverage. Note that a minimum coverage policy may not adequately protect you if you have an accident.


1
Auto-Owners Insurance CoBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

5/5

Stability

5/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

If you've been convicted of a DUI in Minnesota, Auto-Owners Insurance's minimum coverage will cost you around $1,407 per year, versus $640 for the same coverage without a DUI, a difference of 104%.

More About Auto-Owners Insurance Co

Auto-Owners Insurance offers various common coverages, such as roadside assistance and gap insurance, and a unique diminished value coverage. It offers unique discounts for responsible payment and for bundling life and auto insurance. It also offers common discounts for going paperless and paying in full.

2
State Farm
Score:4

4/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

5/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Individuals with a clean driving record who purchase the state's minimum coverage insurance from State Farm will pay roughly $605 per year. Those convicted of a DUI, on the other hand, can expect to pay around 10% more, or $670 each year.

More About State Farm

State Farm is the second-best insurer in Minnesota for drivers with a DUI, for minimum coverage insurance, receiving high ratings in a range of categories. It provides common add-on coverages, such as roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement. The insurer may offer you a unique new vehicle discount if you qualify.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Minnesota After a DUI?

After a DUI, the average yearly rate for full coverage car insurance in Minnesota increase by about 99%, costing roughly $2,319 per year. Drivers without a DUI, on the other hand, spend roughly $1,165 per year for the same amount of coverage. MoneyGeek explains how and why your auto insurance costs in Minnesota can change after a DUI conviction.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$1,165
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$2,319
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost:$1,154 more

This is 99% more expensive.

Having a DUI on your record can affect your car insurance costs significantly. Insurance companies will label you as a high-risk driver, which increases your premiums. Use the MoneyGeek auto insurance calculator to get a customized quote based on your driving history.

Auto Insurance Calculator

See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.

Minnesota
Female
30-65
Clean

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates

Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.

low end

on average

high end

Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.

USAA
AAA
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

In addition to a rise in your insurance premiums, you may expect the following DUI expenses:

  • Fines, court and attorney’s fees: You'll have to pay fines and court costs and may require an attorney.
  • Towing/impound fee: You will pay a fee for towing and impounding your car.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: You must pay a reinstatement fee to regain driving privileges after your license has been suspended.
  • Drug education and treatment: You may have to undergo and pay for an alcohol or drug education program.
  • Damages: You may be accountable for damage to others' property and for their medical expenses.

Getting Car Insurance in Minnesota After a DUI

Getting car insurance after a DUI in Minnesota can be challenging. Insurance providers are privately held businesses, so they have the legal right to cancel or reject policy renewals of DUI offenders. Individuals convicted of DUI may be rejected by insurers or charged significantly higher prices.

Minnesota’s 10-year look-back period can make obtaining insurance in the state even harder. However, If you do your research and shop around, you can find the best and most affordable insurance company in Minnesota to meet your needs.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Drivers convicted of DUI need to file an SR-22 insurance form in Minnesota. Your insurance company submits this paperwork to the state insurance agency on your behalf as proof that you possess the state's minimum coverage requirements. Minnesota SR-22 insurance has its own fees and may not include the usual insurance discounts.

Minnesota DUI Laws

Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs has substantial legal consequences. DUI penalties vary by state but often include license and driving privilege suspensions, fines, fees, prison time and other penalties. MoneyGeek's chart summarizes the many rules and penalties related to getting a DUI in Minnesota.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) refers to the amount of alcohol in the blood. Driving with a BAC of 0.08% or above is unlawful in Minnesota. Even with a lower BAC, you may get arrested if your driving is impaired.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC of 0.16% will result in increased penalties

    Drivers charged with drunk driving with a BAC of 0.16% or more can only be released from detention if they agree to abstain from alcohol consumption and to have their alcohol levels checked every day.

  • This is an icon

    90-day/month administrative license suspension on first offense

    Minnesota police officers may take a driver's license away from someone who fails an alcohol test. The suspension lasts 90 days for the first offense.

  • This is an icon

    Limited driving privileges after 15 days

    After 15 days, you may get a restricted license/permit to drive with limited privileges in Minnesota.

  • This is an icon

    Ignition interlocks are highly incentivized for BAC above 0.16% and for repeat convictions

    If your BAC is 0.16% or above, an ignition interlock system will be required in Minnesota. The same applies to repeated offenses.

  • This is an icon

    Open container laws

    The open bottle legislation in Minnesota forbids both drivers and passengers from consuming or carrying an open bottle of alcohol in a vehicle on a public route, regardless of whether the car is moving.

Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin

Frequently Asked Questions

MoneyGeek provides answers to some of the most common questions about getting car insurance after a DUI in Minnesota.

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Minnesota, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

sources