Missouri Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
Missouri car insurance requirements mandate that all drivers should have 25/50/25 liability insurance. This means that your car insurance should have minimum coverage limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, with at least $25,000 for property damage. Missouri car insurance laws also require drivers to have uninsured motorist (UM) coverage of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. These limits are the basic minimums set by the state to drive legally in Missouri. If your insurance does not meet the state insurance laws, you could face penalties that may include jail time, fines and suspension of your license and registration.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Missouri?
If you are looking to insure your car in Missouri, the first question you should ask is how much coverage you need to meet the legal requirements in Missouri. Different states have different insurance laws, and in Missouri, drivers must have car insurance that meets the following basic minimums.
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident UM coverage
The car insurance minimums set by the state are the basic coverages required for legal purposes. Drivers who want complete protection in case of an accident can choose higher limits and full coverage policies.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
In Missouri, one of the basic requirements for car insurance is liability coverage, which compensates the other party for injuries and property damage if you cause an accident. In the state of Missouri, your insurer should cover a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for third-party bodily injuries. Your policy should also have property damage coverage of at least $25,000 to satisfy the state’s legal minimums.
In Missouri, drivers also must have uninsured motorist insurance (UM). This coverage is intended to protect you in case you get into an accident with a driver who is not insured or who is underinsured. In such cases, the UM coverage will reimburse you for personal injuries and property damage incurred due to the accident. The minimum limits for UM coverage in Missouri are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Missouri?
Missouri car insurance rates vary depending on the driver’s profile. Some of the factors that influence how much you pay for car insurance in Missouri are your driving record, age, ZIP code and credit score. Insurance costs in Missouri will also differ depending on the insurer you choose.
The most affordable car insurance policy in Missouri is offered by USAA at $190 per year on average, but you have to be a current or former member of the military to be eligible for this policy. The second cheapest option for car insurance in Missouri is State Farm, which costs an average of $438 yearly.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Missouri
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Missouri
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Missouri driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
Car insurance costs obtained in Missouri are based on the minimum 25/50/25 coverage limits mandated by Missouri car insurance laws. MoneyGeek used a base profile for a male Missouri resident driving a 2010 Toyota Camry who is 40 years old and holds a clean driving record and good credit score.
If you're instead looking for a policy that balances quality with affordability, MoneyGeek also ranked the top car insurance companies in Missouri.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Missouri While Leasing a Car?
Leasing companies in Missouri may have their own specific minimum car insurance requirements that you need to meet before you can lease a car. In most cases, leasing companies require drivers to have a full coverage policy with 100/300/50 coverage minimums. However, these requirements can vary depending on the company, so it is best to consult your financial leasing company to find out what insurance requirements they have.
MoneyGeek generally recommends at least 50/100/50 full coverage insurance in Missouri. While the basic 25/50/25 liability limits set by the state will allow you to drive legally, the protections may not be sufficient to cover you fully in case of an accident. Higher limits mean that there is a lower risk of you having to pay out-of-pocket to cover medical and property damage expenses due to an accident.
In Missouri, 16.4% of drivers were uninsured in a 2019 study. Having UM coverage, which covers the driver in case of an accident with an uninsured driver, helps to ensure that you will get reimbursed if the other driver does not have insurance. In Missouri, UM coverage is legally required by the state, so all drivers must have a policy with at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in UM coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Missouri
In Missouri, driving without proof of car insurance is a punishable offense. Drivers in the state are legally obligated to show proof of car insurance to a law enforcement official upon request. If you do not have car insurance in Missouri, you stand to face the following penalties:
- Fines: You may be fined $300–500 for driving without car insurance in Missouri.
- Jail time: In Missouri, driving without a license can get you a jail sentence of up to 15 days, in addition to or instead of the fine.
- Points on your driving record: Four points will be assessed against your record for a first offense. If you get a total of eight points for subsequent offenses within 18 months, you will lose your driving privileges in Missouri.
- Driving license suspension: For subsequent offenses, your driver’s license may be suspended for a period ranging from 90 days to one year.
- Reinstatement fees: After your first suspension, you will need to provide proof of insurance and a reinstatement fee of $20 to get your license reinstated. The reinstatement fee will rise significantly to $200 for the second suspension and $400 for the third and subsequent suspensions.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Missouri
Different states have their own unique car insurance laws that drivers must abide by. In Missouri, some of the most important car insurance requirements and regulations you need to know about can be found in the answers to these commonly asked questions.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Factbook." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Background on: Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelly Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Missouri Department of Revenue. "Driver Responsibilities and Penalties." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Missouri Department of Revenue. "Insurance Information." Accessed July 14, 2021.