SR-22 insurance in Florida is for drivers who have committed a serious traffic violation, like reckless driving or driving without insurance. While these policies are the same as a standard car insurance policy, they are more expensive due to committing a driving violation. In Florida, the cheapest SR-22 coverage is offered by USAA and costs $775 per year on average. Additionally, Florida drivers who commit an offense related to driving while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs need to get FR-44 insurance, which comes with a requirement of purchasing higher liability limits.
Florida SR-22 and FR-44 Insurance: What It Is and How Much It Costs
Florida SR-22 and FR-44 Insurance: Details and Average Costs
The severity of the driving violation makes SR-22 insurance more expensive than a standard car insurance policy. The filing of the SR-22 form only requires a small fee, but associated serious offenses like a DUI can increase your auto insurance premiums. In Florida, minimum FR-44 insurance coverage after a DUI costs about $1,790 per year on average, compared with an average of $1,043 for drivers with a clean record.
USAA is the cheapest provider of FR-44 insurance in Florida. But it serves only those with a military background. The next best option is State Farm, whose average annual price is $1,184 for minimum DUI coverage. On the other hand, the most expensive company is MetLife, with an average yearly rate of $2,608 for similar coverage.
Cheapest Companies for SR-22 Insurance in Florida
Scroll for more
These prices are for a policy meeting Florida’s minimum car insurance requirements or a full-coverage policy covering $100,000 in bodily injury liability costs per person, $300,000 in injuries per accident and $100,000 in property damage costs. There can be a wide difference in the average insurance costs of different carriers. If you need an SR-22 filed in Florida, you can find the cheapest rates by comparing at least three auto insurance companies’ quotes.
A small one-time fee of about $25 is enough for an SR-22 or FR-44 form filing.
The actual SR-22 insurance cost is more expensive, especially as the convicted driver loses access to “good driver” discounts.
A severe offense like a hit-and-run accident can increase SR-22 insurance costs.
What Is SR-22 and FR-44 Insurance in Florida? Who Needs It?
In Florida, SR-22 forms are needed for serious driving offenses, like driving without insurance coverage. But for drug- and alcohol-related violations, like a DUI, you’ll need to file an FR-44 form. Insurance after a DUI can be expensive because of the violation’s severity. Florida requires auto insurance companies to file SR-22 or FR-44 forms on behalf of convicted drivers, but each provider might have its own policy about this service.
Drivers who file an SR-22 must show they meet Florida’s minimum car insurance requirements. In Florida, after you obtain an SR-22, you’ll need to purchase liability insurance not normally required by the state.
SR-22 Requirements in Florida
- $10,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $20,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability per accident
- $10,000 personal injury protection
FR-44 Requirements in Florida
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $10,000 personal injury protection
Who Needs SR-22 and FR-44 Insurance in Florida and for How Long?
Each state has its own list of severe violations that require an SR-22 form. In Florida, your insurer needs to file an SR-22 for you if you commit any of the following serious offenses:
- Reckless driving
- DUI (an FR-44 form needs to be filed in this case)
- Driving with a suspended license
- Driving without insurance coverage
An SR-22 is not needed for minor offenses. To find cheap insurance after an accident or ticket, you should still compare prices from several companies, but the cost will generally be much lower than that of SR-22 insurance.
The severity of your offense dictates how long you need SR-22 insurance in Florida. It is usually three years for most drivers. If a violation leads to the temporary revoking of your driver’s license, the three-year period starts after you get your license reinstated.
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Florida?
Car insurance providers file SR-22 certificates on behalf of their customers. But since the offense is generally severe, the insurance company may deem the driver to be high-risk and decline to provide this service. Even if drivers manage to get SR-22 coverage, they have to pay higher rates than before their conviction.
Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance in Florida
In Florida, your driver’s license may be suspended if you’re convicted of a major violation. On top of paying the corresponding fines, you may also need to file for an SR-22 to get it reinstated and prove that you have insurance even if you don’t have a car.
If you don’t have a car but regularly rent one, consider purchasing a non-owner car insurance policy. For drivers who are trying to get their license back, this is a cheaper way to provide proof of liability coverage compared to traditional insurance policies.
Insurance providers in Florida have policies with varying rates, but on average, a non-owner car insurance policy costs $1,648 per year. If you need SR-22 non-owner insurance, GEICO offers the most affordable rate of roughly $522 per year. USAA, the second cheapest, offers a similar policy with an average annual premium of $564 but is only available to military members, veterans and their families.
The Average Cost of Non-Owner SR-22 Car Insurance in Florida
Scroll for more
The prices for non-owner car insurance policies are for drivers in Florida with a DUI conviction with liability coverage up to $100,000 for bodily injuries per accident, a $50,000 limit for each person and $50,000 for property damage in a covered accident.
FAQs About SR-22 Insurance in Florida
Here are the answers to some frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance in Florida to help drivers make an informed decision.
Read More About Car Insurance
MoneyGeek analyzed car insurance premiums from nine of the top insurance companies in Florida that were provided in partnership with Quadrant. Our analysis includes quotes from ZIP codes across Florida. Quotes were gathered for policies that meet the state’s minimum coverage requirements and for full-coverage policies with $100,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, $300,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per accident and $100,000 in property damage liability per accident. Rates are for the same driver with both a clean record and a DUI.
About the Author