SR-22 insurance is a legal requirement in Nebraska after high-risk driving violation. An SR-22 form is filed by your insurance provider and acts as proof that your car insurance meets Nebraska’s minimum liability requirements. These policies are virtually the same as standard auto insurance policies. However, driving violations will cause an increase in insurance premiums. MoneyGeek found that the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Nebraska is from State Farm, which charges an average of $413 per year.
Nebraska SR-22 Insurance: What It Is and How Much It Costs
Which Nebraska Insurance Companies Offer the Cheapest SR-22 Insurance?
In Nebraska, car insurance with an SR-22 is more costly than a standard policy. Although drivers pay a small fee to fill out an SR-22 form, the increase in cost is primarily due to the high-risk violation and accumulated license points. Rates can be higher depending on the severity and number of violations.
On average, the minimum SR-22 insurance coverage in Nebraska costs approximately $835 per year for drivers with a DUI, compared to just $459 per year for those without any violations.
According to MoneyGeek, the cheapest SR-22 insurance company in Nebraska is State Farm, which costs $413 per year on average for a minimum car insurance policy. If you need cheap SR-22 insurance in Nebraska, State Farm is a low-cost option. Metlife was the most expensive, costing an average of $2,035 per year for drivers with a DUI.
Cheapest Companies for SR-22 Insurance in Nebraska
Scroll for more
The costs above represent a policy that meets the minimum auto insurance requirements of the state of Nebraska, or a full coverage policy with $100,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person, $300,000 per accident and $100,000 property damage coverage.
Aside from DUIs, various other factors may increase average car insurance costs in Nebraska, including loss of discounts, additional driving violations and the cost of filing the SR-22 form. While shopping for the most affordable SR-22 insurance in Nebraska, it is essential to compare no less than three different auto insurance providers to get the best rates.
If you are convicted of a driving offense and need an SR-22 form filed by your insurance provider in Nebraska, you will pay a one-time fee of about $25.
Apart from the fines and fees associated with purchasing SR-22 insurance, driving offenses also disqualify you from getting good driver discounts from most providers, making SR-22 more costly.
The cost of SR-22 insurance in the state varies based on how severe your violations are. Deliberate offenses, such as a hit and run, mean higher premiums.
What Is SR-22 Insurance in Nebraska? Who Needs It? How Do You Get It?
Even though most people refer to it as SR-22 insurance, an SR-22 is not a policy but a form filed by your insurance provider to guarantee that your coverage meets the state’s minimum insurance coverage prerequisites.
After committing a serious traffic offense such as reckless driving or a DUI, you will need to file an SR-22 form. Failure to do so can result in the loss of your driving privileges. Insurance providers in Nebraska and elsewhere charge drivers with a DUI more than those with a clean record.
To obtain an SR-22 insurance policy in Nebraska, you will need to purchase an auto insurance policy that meets the liability insurance requirements, then request your insurance provider file an SR-22 form on your behalf.
Minimum requirements for car insurance in Nebraska include:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
- $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Nebraska? And for How Long Do They Need It?
Traffic violations that warrant SR-22 insurance vary from one state to the other. In Nebraska, you’ll need an SR-22 insurance policy if you have any of the following violations:
- Reckless driving
- Driving with a suspended license
- Driving without insurance coverage
You do not need SR-22 insurance for minor violations. Drivers who get car insurance after an accident or ticket can find cheaper insurance rates in Nebraska than those who need to purchase SR-22 forms.
How long do you need SR-22 insurance in Nebraska? Typically, you will need SR-22 insurance for three years, although the duration may vary based on the severity and type of violation.
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Nebraska?
Like other states, it is your responsibility to inform your insurer that you need SR-22 filing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Nebraska. If you are a high-risk driver, some insurers may decline to cover you.
In case your company does not provide this service, you may need to shift to another provider. Even after securing an insurance policy, keep in mind that your premiums will likely be higher than when you didn’t have any violations.
Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance in Nebraska
Having a serious traffic violation on your driving record, such as an at-fault accident or DUI, can result in your license being suspended in Nebraska. To reinstate your license, you may need to file an SR-22 form. This certificate of insurance is proof that you own a liability insurance policy that meets the state’s requirements.
A non-owner car insurance policy in your name is the most cost-effective option to prove that you have liability insurance coverage. If you don't own a car and instead drive rental cars or cars belonging to friends or relatives, this coverage will suit you. You can use this policy as proof of insurance when applying to have your license reinstated.
For those filing an SR-22, a non-owner car insurance policy in Nebraska costs an average of $577 per year. The rates quoted by each insurance company vary greatly based on several factors. On average, GEICO provides the most affordable SR-22 non-owner insurance at $240 per year. The second cheapest policy is from State Farm at the rate of $277 per year, on average.
The Average Cost of Non-Owner SR-22 Car Insurance in Nebraska
Scroll for more
MoneyGeek calculated Nebraska's non-owner car insurance rates for a driver with a DUI on their record, looking for a policy that includes $50,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $100,000 in bodily injury liability per accident and $50,000 in property damage liability per accident.
FAQs About SR-22 Insurance in Nebraska
For drivers looking for SR-22 insurance in Nebraska, various questions crop up about the filing process, cost and the right insurance provider. Some of these include:
Read More About Car Insurance
MoneyGeek analyzed renters insurance premiums from 12 of the top insurance companies in Nebraska that were provided in partnership with Quadrant. Our analysis includes quotes from ZIP codes across Nebraska. Quotes were gathered for policies that meet the state’s minimum coverage requirements and for full coverage policies with $100,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, $300,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per accident and $100,000 in property damage liability per accident. Rates are for the same driver with both a clean record and a DUI.
About the Author
- Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. "SR-22 for Revocations/ Suspensions." Accessed January 16, 2021.