A Kansas driver convicted of any high-risk driving offense, like a DUI or reckless driving, needs to obtain an SR-22 form. The insurance carrier will file this form to confirm that the driver‘s auto insurance policy complies with the state minimum coverage requirement. An SR-22 insurance policy in Kansas is the same product as a standard auto insurance policy. However, the violation in the driver’s record will make their insurance premium more expensive. Based on data gathered by MoneyGeek, the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Kansas is from American Family, at an average rate of $376 per year.
Kansas SR-22 Insurance: What It Is and How Much It Costs
Which Kansas Insurance Companies Offer the Cheapest SR-22 Insurance?
SR-22 insurance in Kansas is more expensive than a standard policy because of the severity of the traffic violation. The form itself only costs a small fee. However, high-risk offenses, like DUI or reckless driving, will have a significant impact on your auto insurance premium. For minimum liability coverage, drivers with SR-22 insurance in Kansas because of a DUI have to pay an average of $692 per year. Those who do not need an SR-22 form pay an average of $436 per year.
If you are looking for cheap Kansas auto insurance, the most affordable option for drivers who need an SR-22 is American Family, with an average cost of $376 per year. On the other hand, MetLife policyholders typically pay the most expensive rate, with an average of $1,045 per year for SR-22 coverage.
Cheapest Companies for SR-22 Insurance in Kansas
Scroll for more
These costs are for a policy with state minimum liability coverage or a full-coverage policy covering $100,000 in bodily injury liability costs per person, $300,000 per accident and $100,000 in property damage costs.
Generally, the average cost of car insurance varies depending on the insurance provider. For Kansas drivers looking for affordable rates, comparing quotes from at least three carriers is ideal.
The filing cost for the SR-22 form is a one-time fee of around $25.
Drivers required to obtain SR-22 insurance will no longer be eligible for any good driver discounts, which means their premiums will be more expensive.
The cost of a policy for drivers with an SR-22 form will depend on the severity of the violation, with serious offenses like a hit-and-run resulting in higher rates.
What Is SR-22 Insurance in Kansas? Who Needs It? How Do You Get It?
SR-22 insurance in Kansas only refers to the form your insurer needs to file. It is not a type of insurance policy. Your insurance carrier will file it on your behalf to confirm that your auto insurance coverage meets the state minimum liability coverage requirements. Serious traffic offenses like a DUI require an SR-22 form, and insurance after a DUI is much more costly than your premium was when you had a clean record. It is also important to note that Kansas takes DUI cases seriously. Drivers who get arrested for drunk driving may need to serve time and pay a fine. Your driver’s license may also be suspended.
If you need to get SR-22 insurance in Kansas, you will have to prove that you meet the state’s minimum car insurance requirements. These include:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
- $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
- Personal injury protection (PIP) that includes $4,500 in medical expenses, up to $900 per month for a year for disability or loss of income, $25 per day for in-home services, $2,000 for funeral burial or cremation costs and $4,500 for rehabilitation
- Survivor benefits, including up to $900 per month for a year for disability or loss of income and $25 per day for in-home services
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Kansas? And for How Long Do They Need It?
The violations that require SR-22 insurance differ depending on state laws. However, some offenses will almost certainly lead to an SR-22 insurance requirement in Kansas and elsewhere. These include the following violations:
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance coverage
- Driving with a suspended license
Minor violations, such as a ticket or at-fault accident, will not result in an SR-22 insurance requirement. If you are looking for insurance with a bad record in Kansas, you should compare personalized quotes. While the rate may be higher than when you had a clean record, it will still be cheaper than SR-22 coverage.
How long you will need SR-22 insurance in Kansas will depend on the severity of your traffic violation. In most cases, it can range from 1–3 years.
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Kansas?
Insurance carriers are in charge of filing SR-22 forms with the state upon the request of policyholders. Some companies may choose not to cover you if they consider you to be high risk. Insurers who issue policies for drivers needing SR-22 insurance will likely require higher rates than your premium before your violation.
Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance in Kansas
Kansas drivers who have had their license revoked for a serious violation and want their license reinstated need to have SR-22 insurance as proof that they have liability insurance that meets the state minimum requirements.
Non-owner car insurance policies are an affordable way to provide proof of insurance for drivers who do not own a car but need to get a license. If you regularly drive rented or borrowed cars in Kansas, non-owners car insurance is the best way to get the liability coverage you need.
In Kansas, drivers will pay an average of $531 per year for non-owner car insurance. This cost will however vary depending on the insurer. MoneyGeek found that for drivers with violations, the cheapest companies for non-owner car SR-22 insurance are State Farm at roughly $316 per year and Progressive, which costs about $346 per year.
The Average Cost of Non-Owner SR-22 Car Insurance in Kansas
Scroll for more
Prices indicated are for a non-owner car insurance policy for a driver with a DUI with the following limits: $50,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $100,000 in bodily injury liability per accident and $50,000 in property damage liability per accident.
FAQs About SR-22 Insurance in Kansas
When looking for SR-22 insurance in Kansas, it is only natural to have questions about rates, the filing process and who to shop with. Here are some of the most common questions drivers ask.
Read More About Car Insurance
MoneyGeek analyzed car insurance premiums from nine of the top insurance companies in Kansas that were provided in partnership with Quadrant. Our analysis includes quotes from ZIP codes across Kansas. Quotes were gathered for policies that meet the state’s minimum coverage requirements and for full-coverage policies with $100,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, $300,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per accident and $100,000 in property damage liability per accident. Rates are for the same driver with both a clean record and a DUI.
About the Author