After getting a DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) conviction, it’s best to shop around for car insurance. In Oklahoma, State Farm offers the cheapest full coverage and minimum coverage policies. State Farm is also the best company for minimum coverage in the state, while Allstate is the best for full coverage.
Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2023
With a DUI, you may find some insurance providers deny you coverage. That is because they’re not legally required to insure DUI offenders, whom they consider high-risk. There are companies that do offer coverage for high-risk drivers, but they often charge high rates.
In Oklahoma, the average increase in car insurance is 57.38% after a DUI. Additionally, you may face DUI penalties, such as fines, license suspension, an ignition interlock device installation requirement and jail time.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Oklahoma After a DUI
MoneyGeek found Progressive and State Farm offer the cheapest car insurance after a DUI nationwide. In Oklahoma, State Farm has the most affordable rates for full coverage and minimum coverage car insurance after a DUI.
Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Oklahoma After a DUI
In Oklahoma, the amount you pay for car insurance after a DUI can differ based on the coverage level you choose. For a full coverage policy, on average, the most affordable companies in the state are:
- State Farm: $1,145 per year
- Farmers: $1,388 per year
The company you choose for full coverage car insurance can significantly impact how much you pay with a DUI on your record in Oklahoma.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Oklahoma After a DUI
After a DUI conviction in Oklahoma, you may choose minimum coverage to save on car insurance. The companies offering the average lowest rates for this type of coverage in the state are:
- State Farm: $536 per year
- Progressive: $750 per year
It’s worth noting that USAA offers the second-cheapest minimum coverage policy in Oklahoma for DUI offenders, at an average rate of $651 per year. However, its policies are only available to military members and their families.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
Top Car Insurance Companies in Oklahoma After a DUI
MoneyGeek rated the best car insurance companies for DUI offenders in Oklahoma based on affordability, customer satisfaction and financial stability. Based on our analysis, Allstate is the top-rated for full coverage, and State Farm is the best for minimum coverage.
Best Companies for Full Coverage in Oklahoma After a DUI
Using a unique scoring system, MoneyGeek determined that Allstate and GEICO are the best car insurance companies for DUI offenders who want a full coverage policy in Oklahoma.
DUI-free Oklahoma drivers pay an average of $1,192 per year for a full coverage policy from Allstate, whereas DUI offenders pay an average of $1,463 per year. That’s a roughly 22.72% rate increase for a DUI conviction.
Allstate is a top-rated car insurance company in Oklahoma. It’s cheap for young drivers and provides custom parts and sound system add-on coverage. But it doesn’t offer common discounts like multiple car.
With GEICO, clean record drivers in Oklahoma pay an average of $774 per year for a full coverage policy. But the annual premium increases by around 115.25% with a DUI conviction, with an average cost of $1,665 per year.
GEICO is one of the top-rated insurers in Oklahoma. It offers mechanical breakdown, a unique add-on coverage, and several discounts. However, it lacks add-on coverage for new car replacement or better car replacement.
Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Oklahoma After a DUI
In Oklahoma, the best car insurance companies offering minimum coverage for those with a DUI are State Farm and GEICO. Keep in mind that minimum coverage policies may be the cheapest, but they usually don’t offer the best financial protection.
Without a DUI, Oklahoma drivers pay an average of $492 per year for minimum coverage from State Farm. But those with a DUI pay around 9% more, at an average of $536 per year.
State Farm has inexpensive rates for DUI offenders who want minimum coverage in Oklahoma. It offers several discounts, such as anti-theft system and airbag. However, unique add-on coverages aren’t available.
In Oklahoma, GEICO offers minimum coverage without a DUI at an average annual cost of $401, but with a DUI, it costs around $843. That’s roughly a 110% increase.
GEICO has cheap policies for all types of drivers. It also offers unique discounts for wearing your seatbelt, having anti-lock brakes and daytime running lights. However, it doesn’t provide new car replacement or better car replacement add-on coverages.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Oklahoma After a DUI?
The average cost of a car insurance policy increase in Oklahoma after a DUI is 57.38%. Drivers in the state with this violation pay an average of $1,961 per year for full coverage auto insurance — that’s roughly $715 yearly more than clean record drivers. MoneyGeek shows you below how car insurance rates in Oklahoma change if convicted of a DUI.
How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?
This is 57% more expensive.
A DUI conviction usually has serious consequences, including a significant impact on your car insurance cost. Expect to face a higher premium because you’re now seen by insurers as a risky driver. MoneyGeek has an auto insurance calculator you can use to get a tailored estimate based on your driving record.
Auto Insurance Calculator
See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.
The financial implications of a DUI are very serious. Aside from an increased car insurance premium, you may have to pay out of pocket for the following:
- Fines, court and attorney fees. A DUI charge typically results in fines and other court fees, including paying for an attorney to help you post bail or fight an unfair charge (if applicable).
- Towing/impound fee. If your vehicle was towed and impounded after an arrest, you need to pay a fee to reclaim it.
- Drug education and treatment. Some states require you to undergo an alcohol or drug education program at your expense.
- DMV reinstatement fee. To get driving privileges back after a license suspension, you must pay a fee.
Getting Car Insurance in Oklahoma After a DUI
A DUI does make it more difficult to find auto insurance in Oklahoma. Since many car insurance providers are private businesses, they can legally deny coverage to drivers with a DUI. Oklahoma’s DUI look-back period may compound this challenge since it lasts 10 years.
While your insurance options may feel limited after a DUI, keep in mind that there are companies willing to insure DUI offenders. Shopping around and comparing quotes can get you the best rate for your current situation.
Insurance companies consider you risky to insure after a DUI conviction. As a result, you can expect a more expensive car insurance rate. MoneyGeek found the best and cheapest car insurance companies for high-risk drivers to help you determine the right option for you.
Oklahoma DUI Laws
Each state imposes different penalties for DUI offenders. In Oklahoma, a DUI conviction can result in fines, fees, license suspension, an ignition interlock device installation and jail time. MoneyGeek cites several Oklahoma DUI laws in the table below.
Driving With a BAC at or Above 0.08% Is Considered a DUI
Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) refers to the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream. In Oklahoma, the threshold is 0.08%. However, you can be arrested even if you have a lower BAC for noticeably impaired driving.
Driving With a BAC of 0.15% Will Result in Increased Penalties
Drivers caught with a BAC of 0.15% or above undergo mandatory minimum treatment of 28 days with one year of aftercare and 480 hours of community service. They must also install an interlock device for a minimum of 90 days.
180-Day License Revocation on First Offense
Oklahoma’s law imposes license revocation for impaired driving. For a first offense DUI, your license will be revoked for a minimum of six months.
Limited Driving Privileges
Oklahoma drivers may obtain a modified driver’s license after a license revocation following a DUI conviction. However, this is only available for those driving Class D motor vehicles.
Mandatory Ignition Interlock
A DUI conviction in Oklahoma results in a mandatory interlock installation of 18 months for first-time offenders and four years for second-time offenders with a BAC above 0.08%.
Open Container Law
Under Oklahoma law, drivers and passengers are prohibited from possessing open containers of alcohol in a vehicle.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Frequently Asked Questions
By reading the answers to some frequently asked questions, you may better understand how to get car insurance after a DUI conviction in Oklahoma.
To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Oklahoma, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.
About Mark Fitzpatrick
- The Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility. "State Law: DUI Look-Back Periods." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- Governors Highway Safety Association. "Alcohol Impaired Driving." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. "Alcohol and Drugs." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- Oklahoma Highway Safety Office. "Laws." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. "When Can I Obtain a Modified Driver License." Accessed April 26, 2022.