South Dakota SR-22 Insurance: What it is and How Much it Costs

SR-22 insurance in South Dakota costs $590 on average per year, with the cheapest option, State Farm, costing $354 yearly. An SR-22 policy is similar to standard car insurance but costs more due to the driving violations on your record. South Dakota drivers who have serious violations like DUIs need to file an SR-22 form. SR-22 insurance provides proof that a driver has liability coverage that meets South Dakota’s car insurance requirements.

Loading...
By  
  |  

Which South Dakota Insurance Companies Offer the Cheapest SR-22 Insurance?

MoneyGeek found that minimum car insurance policies in South Dakota for a driver with a DUI who needs SR-22 insurance costs an average of $590 per year compared to $351 yearly for drivers with clean records. Drivers with violations pay higher premiums because of the violations on their driving records.

For drivers looking for cheap SR-22 insurance in South Dakota, the cheapest company is State Farm which costs $354 per year. Compared to GEICO, the most expensive option, State Farm is cheaper by up to $668 per year.

Cheapest Companies for SR-22 Insurance in South Dakota

Scroll for more

swipe icon

The prices used in the table are based on quotes for a policy meeting South Dakota’s minimum car insurance requirements or a full coverage policy covering $100,000 in bodily injury liability costs per person, $300,000 per accident and $100,000 in property damage costs.

Various other factors, including the cost of filing, the severity of the violation and any lost discounts, will also affect SR-22 insurance costs in South Dakota. Comparing car insurance quotes is the best way to find the cheapest option for SR-22 insurance in South Dakota.

Key Takeaways

money

Drivers with violations lose access to discounts that are available to drivers with clean records which makes SR-22 insurance even more costly.

bond

Filing SR-22 insurance typically costs an average of $25.

accident2

Some violations attract higher premiums depending on how serious they are. Drivers with a DUI may pay less than those with a hit-and-run violation.

What Is SR-22 Insurance in South Dakota? Who Needs It? How Do You Get It?

SR-22 insurance in South Dakota and other states is required as proof that a driver with serious violations has liability insurance in line with the state’s car insurance laws. Driving violations such as DUIs result in higher premiums for the driver compared to the costs someone with a clean driving record pays. This is because insurers factor in the driver’s driving record when determining car insurance rates. To find the best and cheapest options for South Dakota drivers with DUIs, you should compare rates from different insurers.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Drivers in South Dakota who file an SR-22 form need to prove that their liability coverage meets the coverage limits set by the state’s car insurance regulations which are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident

Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in South Dakota? And for How Long Do They Need It?

The requirements for SR-22 insurance may vary in different states depending on what violations are considered severe. However, in most states, including South Dakota, serious violations will result in an SR-22 requirement. These violations include:

  • Reckless driving
  • Driving without insurance coverage
  • DUI
  • Driving with a suspended license

In most cases, you will need to hold an SR-22 for three years, but this can vary depending on the violation and conviction you receive for it. An SR-22 is rarely required for minor violations, although they can still affect your premiums. You should always compare rates from different insurers to find the cheapest insurance for drivers with minor violations.

How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in South Dakota?

In South Dakota, a driver with serious violations can request their insurance company to file an SR-22 form with the state. SR-22 insurance provides proof that the driver has liability coverage that meets the minimums set by the law for car insurance in South Dakota. Since drivers with violations are considered high risk by insurers, some companies may choose not to cover drivers who require SR-22 insurance.

Loading...

Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance in South Dakota

In South Dakota, drivers with serious violations can get their licenses suspended. In such cases, proof of liability insurance that meets the state’s regulations will be required before the license can be reinstated. If you need proof of insurance to get a license in South Dakota, non-owner car insurance is the most affordable option. This policy is also ideal for drivers who may not own cars but regularly drive borrowed or rented cars.

Drivers in South Dakota pay an average of $491 yearly for non-owner SR-22 insurance. The cheapest companies are State Farm, which costs $225 yearly, and USAA at roughly $236 per year. However, USAA is only for military members and their families.

The Average Cost of Non-Owner SR-22 Car Insurance in South Dakota

Scroll for more

swipe icon

For this analysis, the rates used are for a non-owner car insurance policy in South Dakota for a driver with a DUI violation buying coverage limits of $50,000 per person bodily injury liability, $100,000 per accident bodily injury liability and $50,000 for property damage.

FAQs About SR-22 Insurance in South Dakota

If you have questions about how to get SR-22 insurance in South Dakota or rates and providers. Here are some answers to frequently asked questions.

Read More About Car Insurance

Methodology

For this analysis, MoneyGeek obtained SR-22 insurance quotes from 9 top insurance companies in South Dakota. Rates used were provided in partnership with Quadrant. This study is based on quotes from different ZIP codes in South Dakota. Quotes are based on policies that meet the state’s minimum liability requirements and for full coverage policies with $100,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $300,000 for bodily injury liability per accident and $100,000 for property damage. These rates are for the same driver with both a clean record and a DUI.

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.