SR-22 insurance is mandatory for Colorado drivers convicted of a severe traffic offense, like driving with a suspended license or reckless driving. SR-22 is a form filed by the insurer that assures the government that the convicted driver’s auto insurance meets the state’s minimum requirements. In Colorado, State Farm is the most affordable SR-22 insurer for most drivers, with average annual rates of $612 for minimum DUI coverage.
Colorado SR-22 Insurance: What It Is and How Much It Costs
Which Colorado Insurance Companies Offer the Cheapest SR-22 Insurance?
SR-22 insurance is costlier than a typical car insurance policy. It only costs a small amount to file the SR-22 form itself, but the associated violation (like a DUI) can drive up your car insurance prices. SR-22 insurance in Colorado with minimum coverage costs an average of $1,078 per year, while a standard car insurance policy in the state costs about $764 per year on average.
For cheap SR-22 car insurance in Colorado, USAA is a good option, but it only serves military members and their families. The next most affordable provider is State Farm, with average annual costs of $612. MetLife is usually the costliest insurer in the state for SR-22 coverage, as its average rate is $1,771 per year.
Cheapest Companies for SR-22 Insurance in Colorado
Scroll for more
These premiums are for a policy meeting Colorado’s minimum car insurance requirements or a full-coverage policy covering $100,000 in bodily injury liability costs per person, $300,000 for injuries per accident and $100,000 in property damage costs. Average insurance prices can vary considerably between different insurers. For the most affordable SR-22 coverage in Colorado, you should ideally compare the rates of at least three carriers.
The filing cost for an SR-22 insurance certificate is only about $25.
Drivers with SR-22 insurance are usually not eligible for “good driver” discounts.
If you commit a serious driving offense like a hit-and-run, you’ll need to pay more for SR-22 coverage.
What Is SR-22 Insurance in Colorado? Who Needs It? How Do You Get It?
An SR-22 is not a car insurance policy. Instead, “SR-22” refers to the form filed by your auto insurance company that proves you meet your state’s minimum liability coverage regulations. Insurance after a DUI can be costly, but it’s necessary for drivers who commit this serious violation. As per Colorado law, your car insurer needs to file the SR-22 form digitally on your behalf, but you need to check with your provider to see if they’re willing to cover high-risk drivers.
Drivers who need an SR-22 must show they meet Colorado’s minimum car insurance standards. These requirements include:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $15,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Colorado? And for How Long Do They Need It?
Traffic violations that need an SR-22 insurance filing vary from state to state. In Colorado, the following severe offenses could result in you being labeled a high-risk driver and require an SR-22:
- Driving with a suspended license
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance coverage
Colorado drivers can find lower insurance rates after a ticket or accident if they shop around and compare quotes from multiple providers. SR-22 insurance coverage can be expensive but is typically not needed for a minor offense.
Your conviction dictates how long you need SR-22 insurance in Colorado. In most cases, SR-22 insurance coverage is required for three years.
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Colorado?
You need to ask your car insurance provider to file the SR-22 certificate for you. However, they may decline if they deem you to be a high-risk driver. Even if you manage to get SR-22 coverage, you’ll need to pay higher premiums than clean drivers.
Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance in Colorado
Drivers who commit a major traffic violation in Colorado may get their license suspended. To get it reinstated, they may have to file an SR-22 and purchase car insurance even if they don’t own a vehicle.
Non-owner car insurance is the best and most affordable solution for non-vehicle owners. It helps drivers who need to show proof of liability insurance coverage to get their license reinstated and can best protect drivers who frequently borrow or rent vehicles.
The average cost of non-owner car insurance in Colorado is $951 per year, but this can change based on the insurer. USAA is the cheapest option in the state, offering non-owner car insurance at an average of $346 per year. However, their policies are only available for military members and their families. GEICO is the next most affordable option, with rates averaging $365 per year.
The Average Cost of Non-Owner SR-22 Car Insurance in Colorado
Scroll for more
The non-owner car insurance rates above are for drivers in Colorado with a DUI looking for $50,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $100,000 in bodily injury liability per accident and $50,000 in property damage liability.
FAQs About SR-22 Insurance in Colorado
Colorado drivers who need an SR-22 insurance certificate typically have questions about how to file the form, who has the best rates and how to get coverage.
Read More About Car Insurance
MoneyGeek analyzed insurance premiums from 11 of the top insurance companies in Colorado that were provided in partnership with Quadrant. Our analysis includes quotes from ZIP codes across Colorado. Quotes were gathered for policies that meet the state’s minimum coverage requirements and for full-coverage policies with $100,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, $300,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per accident and $100,000 in property damage liability per accident. Rates are for the same driver with both a clean record and a DUI.
About the Author