Getting Car Insurance in New Mexico After a DUI (2024)


Enter your ZIP code to get started

Shield

Free. Simple. Secure.

Banner image
ByMark Fitzpatrick
ByMark Fitzpatrick

Updated: May 20, 2024

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure

MoneyGeek compared quotes from multiple providers in New Mexico and found that State Farm is your top car insurance option. It offers the best and cheapest car insurance for DUI drivers, whether you want full coverage or a state minimum policy.

MoneyGeek Logo IconBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI
2024

Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2023

Car insurance companies in New Mexico are private entities and can refuse to cover you if you have a DUI. It’s their legal right, even if all drivers in the state must carry auto insurance.

You can expect significantly higher premiums from providers that do offer car insurance to drivers with DUIs. Having a DUI on your record classifies you as a high-risk driver. A DUI can result in an 87.52% increase in your insurance rates and subjects you to various penalties, such as license revocation, installation of an ignition interlock device and mandatory jail time.

Loading...

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico After a DUI

State Farm and Progressive offer the cheapest car insurance for DUI drivers nationally and in New Mexico. The same two companies earned the top spots in our ranking as the best car insurance companies in the state.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in New Mexico After a DUI

MoneyGeek analyzed estimates from multiple companies offering full coverage car insurance after a DUI. The most affordable are:

  • State Farm: $1,121 per year
  • Progressive: $1,329 per year
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
1CompanyState FarmAnnual Premium$1,121
2CompanyProgressiveAnnual Premium$1,329
3CompanyAllstateAnnual Premium$1,451
4CompanyFarmersAnnual Premium$1,585
5CompanyMetLifeAnnual Premium$2,236

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in New Mexico After a DUI

MoneyGeek also evaluated providers in New Mexico offering state minimum car insurance for DUI drivers. The cheapest rates are from:

  • State Farm: $550 per year
  • Progressive: $686 per year

State minimum policies are your cheapest car insurance options, especially after a DUI. However, they may not fully protect you in case of an accident. It’s best to assess your coverage needs to see what amount of coverage is your best option.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
State FarmMinimum Annual Premium$550
ProgressiveMinimum Annual Premium$686
AllstateMinimum Annual Premium$793
FarmersMinimum Annual Premium$890
MetLifeMinimum Annual Premium$1,051
mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Policies that meet New Mexico’s minimum car insurance requirements help you save money on premiums while allowing you to operate motor vehicles. However, expenses after an accident can be high, and you may find that minimum coverage doesn’t provide enough protection. You may end up spending more out of pocket, so it’s best to assess how much car insurance you need before deciding on your coverage limits.

Top Car Insurance Companies in New Mexico After a DUI

In addition to cost, MoneyGeek considered customer satisfaction and financial stability to determine the best car insurance companies for DUI drivers in New Mexico.

State Farm and Allstate came out on top. Whether you’re looking for a state minimum policy or one with full coverage, these two are your best options.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in New Mexico After a DUI

MoneyGeek’s analysis found that State Farm and Allstate top the list of the best car insurance companies for DUI drivers in New Mexico. They’re excellent providers of full coverage car insurance.


1
State FarmBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.5

5/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4.5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Drivers with clean records pay $1,044 per year for full coverage car insurance, but $1,121 if they have a DUI, an increase of 7.30%.

More About State Farm

State Farm is one of the most widely-available providers in the country. You can pay for your premium and file a claim through the company’s website or mobile app. However, while other insurers offer a deductible modification or better car replacement coverage, State Farm does not.

2
Allstate
Score:4

2.9/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

You’ll spend $1,451 per year on average for full coverage car insurance from Allstate if you have a DUI. That’s 35.54% higher than the $1,017 safe drivers pay.

More About Allstate

Allstate offers discounts for bundling policies, having anti-theft devices in your vehicle and opting for paperless billing. However, its complaint ratio is 1.88, meaning Allstate receives more complaints from its customers than other providers.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in New Mexico After a DUI

If you’re looking for affordable coverage, a state minimum policy is an effective way to save on premiums. However, remember that such a policy may not adequately cover your expenses after a crash.

MoneyGeek’s analysis compared quotes from several providers to determine the best car insurance companies for drivers with DUIs who want minimum coverage.


1
State FarmBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

With State Farm, you’ll spend $550 per year for a minimum policy if you have a DUI on your record. That’s 7.30% higher than the $507 rate for safe drivers.

More About State Farm

State Farm offers excellent customer support. You can conveniently pay bills and file claims online. Although State Farm doesn’t offer any unique coverages, its rideshare insurance is a good option for customers who work for rideshare companies.

2
Allstate
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

3/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

A DUI on your record increases your annual Allstate rate for a minimum policy to $793. That’s 35.54% higher than the $613 premium for safe drivers.

More About Allstate

Allstate offers an early signing discount if you purchase a policy at least seven days before your coverage needs to begin. It also offers discounts for on-time payments. The company, however, receives more complaints than the average auto insurance provider.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in New Mexico After a DUI?

A DUI on your driving record increases your annual average premium by 87.52% to $2,125, while the average rate for a non-DUI driver is $1,133 per year. You can compare pre-and post-DUI car insurance costs in New Mexico in MoneyGeek’s table below.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$1,133
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$2,125
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$992 more

This is 88% more expensive.

A driver with no violations pays $1,133 per year on average for full coverage insurance in New Mexico. Meanwhile, the average cost for the same coverage after a DUI is $2,125 annually. High-risk drivers pay 87.52% more for premiums.

Remember that driving history is only one factor affecting car insurance premiums. Insurers consider other qualifiers like your age and residential location. You can use MoneyGeek’s car insurance calculator to get a customized estimate.

Car Insurance Calculator

MoneyGeeks's car insurance calculator will give you a customized estimate of your auto insurance cost. It's free to use, requires no personal information and we won't send you any spam.

High
Average
Low

Rates updated:

Jun 13, 2024

Shield Insurance
Why You Can Trust MoneyGeek

Although MoneyGeek partners with some of the companies we recommend, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of writers, editors and licensed agents. Learn more about our editorial policies and expert editorial team.

mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

The financial implications of a DUI in New Mexico go beyond paying higher auto insurance premiums each year and may include:

  • Fines, court and attorney’s fees: A first offense may mean a fine of up to $500. You’ll also have to pay for court fees and any legal fees, should you need representation.
  • Towing / Impound fees: The state tows your vehicle to the local impound lot after a DUI arrest. You’ll have to pay a fee before your car is released.
  • Drug education and treatment: Drivers with a DUI conviction must complete a substance abuse screening and are mandated to follow prescribed treatments, all of which may involve costs.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: You may lose your license because of a DUI conviction. The process of having it reinstated requires a separate fee.

Getting Car Insurance in New Mexico After a DUI

Although drivers in New Mexico are required to be insured to drive within the state, insurers may refuse to sell you car insurance after a DUI conviction. Others may reject your renewal. They’re well within their rights to do so because most of them are private entities.

With a look-back period of 55 years, finding car insurance in New Mexico may be challenging. It might be tempting to purchase a policy from the first insurer that provides you a quote, but comparing estimates from several insurers is in your best interest. Even with a DUI, you should go with the insurance company that best meets your needs.

mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

In most states, you need SR-22 insurance if you have a DUI. It's the most expensive type of insurance available. Fortunately, New Mexico doesn’t require it. However, car insurance for high-risk drivers is still more costly than a standard policy.

MoneyGeek’s guide for high-risk drivers provides the best and cheapest car insurance companies for this driver profile.

New Mexico DUI Laws

The consequences of a DUI conviction aren’t just financial. You may run into legal backlash as well. DUI laws are state-specific, but some common penalties include fines, license suspension, installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) and possible jail time. MoneyGeek details various legal challenges you may encounter with a DUI conviction.

    bac1 icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures how much alcohol you have in your bloodstream. New Mexico’s DUI Laws prohibit you from operating a motor vehicle if your BAC is 0.08% or above. However, you may still get arrested even with a lower BAC if your driving is impaired. Minors with a BAC of 0.02% or higher can be charged with a DUI.

    bac4 icon

    Driving with a BAC of 0.16% will result in increased penalties

    The state charges drivers with a BAC of 0.16% or above with aggravated DUI. Violators must serve at least 48 consecutive hours of jail time for their first offense.

    driverLicense icon

    Six months to one year administrative license suspension on the first offense

    Your age determines the length of your license suspension. Drivers under 21 lose their license for a year, even if it’s the first offense. Drivers 21 and older receive a six-month license suspension for their first DUI arrest.

    ignition icon

    Ignition interlocks are mandatory for all convictions.

    New Mexico requires ignition interlock devices for all DUI violators.

    carColored icon

    Ignition interlock licenses allow limited driving privileges.

    You can get an ignition interlock license, which allows you to drive vehicles that have IIDs installed.

    car2Colored icon

    Open container laws

    New Mexico’s Open Container Law complies with federal requirements. Neither drivers nor passengers can have open alcohol containers. A first offense has a $25 fine. Subsequent incidents become misdemeanors, and you may face up to 90 days of jail time on top of a $300 fine.

Loading...

Frequently Asked Questions

Finding car insurance for DUI offenders can be challenging. Here are the most commonly asked questions about obtaining car insurance after a DUI offense in New Mexico.

Will my insurer continue to cover me if I get a DUI in New Mexico?
How much do car insurance premiums increase in New Mexico after a DUI?
What is the cheapest car insurance company in New Mexico after a DUI?
How long will having a DUI affect my car insurance rates?
How do I get car insurance if I have a DUI?

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in New Mexico, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

About Mark Fitzpatrick


Mark Fitzpatrick headshot

Mark Fitzpatrick has analyzed the property and casualty insurance market for over five years, conducting original research and creating personalized content for every kind of buyer. Currently, he leads P&C insurance content production at MoneyGeek. Fitzpatrick has been quoted in several insurance-related publications, including CNBC, NBC News and Mashable.

Fitzpatrick earned a master’s degree in economics and international relations from Johns Hopkins University and a bachelor’s degree from Boston College. He is passionate about using his knowledge of economics and insurance to bring transparency around financial topics and help others feel confident in their money moves.


sources