Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Delaware: Everything You Need to Know
Insurance companies can drop customers convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI). They can also opt to insure you at a much higher rate. For example, car insurance in Delaware costs $2,406 per year for people with a DUI, but only $1,377 per year for people without a DUI.
The best insurer for minimum or full coverage is State Farm. It is also the cheapest for both coverage options. Travelers takes the second spot as the best insurer, while Progressive is the second cheapest for full and minimum coverage.
Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2022
As private companies, U.S. insurers can lawfully refuse to offer you insurance after a DUI conviction. If a company does offer car insurance after a DUI, the policy will be more expensive, because the driver is now considered high-risk. In Delaware, car insurance for drivers with DUI convictions is 74.66% more expensive than insurance for drivers without a DUI.
DUI convictions carry legal consequences as well. Delaware imposes license suspension and revocation, ignition interlocks and heavier penalties for repeat offenders.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Delaware After a DUI
State Farm and Progressive are the most affordable car insurance companies after a DUI nationwide. In Delaware, both firms offer the cheapest car insurance policies for drivers with a DUI on their records.
Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Delaware After a DUI
The following are the cheapest insurers for full coverage after a DUI in Delaware:
- State Farm: $1,351 per year
- Progressive: $1,940 per year
USAA is also one of the most affordable choices in Delaware. A full-coverage policy from USAA costs $1,110 per year. However, only U.S. military members, veterans and their families qualify.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
Scroll for more
- RankCompanyAnnual Premium
- 2State Farm$1,351
Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Delaware After a DUI
The cheapest companies for minimum coverage in Delaware after a DUI are the following:
- State Farm: $874 per year
- Progressive: $1,085 per year
Overall, USAA offers the cheapest rate ($615 per year), but its services are only available to members of the U.S. military, veterans and their families.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
Each state has its own set of minimum coverage standards. While a policy with the minimum standards is the cheapest choice, it may not include valuable coverages. Increasing your car insurance coverage provides additional protection in the event of a liability claim.
In choosing car insurance coverage, you need to consider different factors, such as the state requirements, your finances, and how much insurance you need, among other considerations.
Top Car Insurance Companies in Delaware After a DUI
MoneyGeek compared the scores of several insurance companies in terms of affordability, customer satisfaction, financial stability and other factors. Based on our methodology, we found that State Farm is the best company for full and minimum coverage policies.
Best Companies for Full Coverage in Delaware After a DUI
State Farm and Travelers are the best insurers for a full coverage policy in Delaware after a DUI. A full coverage policy offers more financial protection if a driver needs to make a claim in the future. It can also come with additional protections and bigger financial coverages that can benefit a high-risk driver.
A State Farm full coverage insurance policy for a person without a DUI costs $1,229 per year. With a DUI, the rate increases to $1,352, a 9.97% spike.
State Farm provides ridesharing insurance and other common coverages. It also offers discounts, such as student and excellent driver discounts. Young drivers may find that State Farm is one of the cheapest options for car insurance.
A full coverage Travelers policy costs $1,353 per year for persons without a DUI. The same coverage with a DUI costs $2,278 per year, a 68.43% increase.
Travelers offers unique discounts and add-on coverages, like roadside assistance, accident forgiveness, new car replacement and gap insurance. However, consumers cannot modify their deductibles or their better car replacement coverage.
Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Delaware After a DUI
State Farm and Travelers are the best companies for a minimum coverage policy after a DUI in Delaware. A minimum coverage policy may be the most cost-effective alternative, but it has significant drawbacks. For example, it may not cover a substantial portion of your financial liabilities in case of an accident.
A minimum coverage policy from State Farm costs $791 per year without a DUI, and $874 per year with a DUI, an average increase of 9.97%.
State Farm ranks well for financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability. While it offers common coverages, it lacks unique ones.
Without a DUI, a Travelers minimum coverage policy costs $820 per year. The cost increases to $1,395 per year with a DUI, a difference of 68.43%.
Travelers has an excellent score for financial stability and customer satisfaction and is a great option if you want additional coverages. Customers can also get discounts for new and hybrid vehicles.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Delaware After a DUI?
Wherever you are in the country, insurance costs more if you’ve had a DUI. A full coverage car insurance in Delaware costs an average of $1,377 per year before a DUI. After a DUI, this price increases to $2,406 per year, a hefty 74.66% difference.
How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?
This is 75% more expensive.
Insurance companies consider drivers with DUI convictions high-risk drivers. They charge these drivers more for policies since they’re more likely to be involved in a future accident.
MoneyGeek’s auto insurance calculator below can give you an idea of insurance costs based on your particular needs.
Auto Insurance Calculator
See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.
Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates
Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.
Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.
In addition to paying more for insurance, persons convicted of a DUI incur expenses, such as:
- Legal costs. Because a DUI is a criminal offense, drivers must pay fines, attorney expenses and court fees.
- Impound or towing costs. You'll be responsible for the cost of towing and storing your car after an arrest.
- Classes. Courts can require a driver to take alcohol or drug education classes.
- Fee for DMV reinstatement. Drivers with a DUI must pay the DMV to get their licenses reinstated.
Getting Car Insurance in Delaware After a DUI
Privately-held insurance companies can legally refuse to offer drivers with DUI convictions car insurance. Delaware’s look-back period can make it even more difficult for drivers with DUIs to get insurance because their records will reflect the offense for years or even their lifetime.
Although it might be hard to find an insurer, drivers still need to do their research and compare quotes from different companies. Since car insurance after a DUI is more expensive, it’s particularly important to find the best rate possible.
Drivers with traffic violations, DUI convictions and a history of accidents are considered high-risk drivers. Other factors insurers look at when determining whether to offer a driver high-risk car insurance include the customer’s age, level of experience, car model and credit score.
Delaware DUI Laws
The legal consequences of a DUI conviction vary between states. Delaware has increased penalties for drivers with a BAC of 0.15% or higher. Drivers with a DUI also face license suspension and revocation, incentivized ignition interlocks and repeat offender laws.
Penalties depend on the number of times a driver has been charged with a DUI. The list below enumerates the laws and penalties in Delaware for a DUI conviction.
Driving with a BAC of 0.08% and above is considered a DUI
In Delaware, driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% and above is enough for a DUI conviction. BAC measures the percentage of alcohol in your bloodstream. A BAC of 0.02% is considered a DUI for drivers under 21 years. In addition, an officer can arrest you even if your blood alcohol level is below the legal limit but you're unable to drive safely.
Driving with a BAC of 0.15% will result in increased penalties
First offense drivers with a BAC of 0.15% to 0.19% will lose their license for 12 months. Those with a BAC of more than 0.20% lose their license for 24 months. Subsequent offenses with higher BACs incur longer periods of license revocation.
Three months of administrative license suspension on first offense
A driver’s license is suspended for three months following a DUI. An officer can also confiscate a driver’s license upon failure or refusal to conduct an alcohol test.
Ignition interlocks are highly incentivized for all offenders
An ignition interlock device is highly incentivized for all DUI offenders in Delaware. This device connects to the car’s ignition and disables the engine when it detects alcohol on the driver’s breath.
Repeat offender laws
Penalties depend on the number of offenses that a driver has committed. A first offense can result in license revocation for three months, while a third or subsequent offense can result in 18 months.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Frequently Asked Questions
The following are frequently asked questions about car insurance after a DUI in Delaware:
To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Delaware, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.
- Delaware.gov. "Driver Improvement." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- Foundation for Advanced Alcohol Responsibility. "National Drunk Driving Statistics Map." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- Governors Highway Safety Association. "Alcohol Impaired Driving." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. "Alcohol and drugs." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- National Conference for State Legislatures. "Increased Penalties for High Blood Alcohol Content." Accessed April 25, 2022.
- Stanford University. "What Is BAC?." Accessed April 25, 2022.