MoneyGeek identified the best workers’ compensation insurance companies in Oregon based on average premiums, customer satisfaction ratings, financial stability and the efficiency of the online quote process. Pie emerged as our overall winner, ranking first in affordability and online quote accessibility.

Oregon state law mandates workers’ compensation insurance for all small businesses. This coverage protects business owners from legal and financial liabilities arising from work incidents. It covers legal expenses, lost wages and medical bills if an employee suffers from a work-related injury or illness.


Best Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Oregon

Pie ranks as Oregon’s overall best workers’ compensation insurance provider, earning a MoneyGeek score of 92 out of 100. Pie’s workers’ comp policies cost a monthly average of $70 for companies with 20 employees. However, your actual rate may vary depending on several factors, such as the nature of your business and the number of employees you have.


PieBest Overall in Oregon




Customer Satisfaction


Financial Stability


Online Quote Process

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take
  • Cheapest provider at an average monthly rate of $70
  • Fastest online quote process, taking less than a minute
  • Poor record of customer satisfaction
More About Pie

Pie was established in 2017 but has quickly gained a solid reputation as a provider of workers’ compensation insurance. Coverage from this company costs around $70 per month — the cheapest among the Oregon providers we reviewed. Pie also has the most efficient online quote process, allowing you to access a personalized quote in less than a minute.

However, Pie received the highest rate of customer complaints in our study, which might make you want to rethink your options if you value quality service. Pie’s A- financial stability rating from AM Best is also the lowest among the insurers we reviewed, meaning the insurer may be unable to pay its claims reliably.

The Hartford




Customer Satisfaction


Financial Stability


Online Quote Process

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take
  • Coverage costs $147 per month, on average
  • Lowest rate of complaints among reviewed Oregon providers
  • Strong financial stability score from AM Best
More About The Hartford

Backed by more than 200 years of experience in the insurance industry, The Hartford has developed a strong reputation for delivering outstanding customer service. Based on ratings from the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners), this provider receives few customer complaints, demonstrating its commitment to customer satisfaction.

The Hartford is also financially secure, earning an A+ (Excellent) financial stability rating from AM Best. However, be prepared to pay a higher premium in exchange for these perks. The Hartford has the third most expensive rates among providers we reviewed, averaging $147 per month.


Cheapest Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Oregon

Pie offers Oregon’s cheapest workers’ comp insurance, costing a monthly average of $70. We based our study on rates for businesses with 20 employees and $1,250,000 in annual payroll expenses. Employee count and total payroll will significantly impact your company’s workers’ compensation insurance costs.


In the table below, we’ve ranked companies based on average monthly and annual rates for a business with 20 employees to help you find Oregon’s cheapest workers’ compensation provider. Note that the most affordable provider for your small business may vary depending on several factors.

Best Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Micro Businesses in Oregon

biBERK is the best workers’ comp provider for micro businesses in Oregon, offering policies at an average monthly cost of $58. We based our ranking on quotes for a business with five employees and an annual payroll expense of $312,500.

Companies that have less than 10 employees are known as micro businesses. While having more employees can increase your workers’ compensation premium, it’s important to note that payroll costs have a significantly greater impact on your rates.


Best Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Midsize Businesses in Oregon

Thimble is the best workers’ compensation provider for midsize businesses in Oregon. It is also the cheapest option at an average monthly premium of $466.

Your number of employees is a key factor in the cost of your workers’ comp insurance, but payroll costs have a bigger impact on premiums. MoneyGeek considered both factors in our study of the best workers’ comp providers for midsize businesses. Sample companies in our studies have 100 employees and an annual payroll of $6,250,000.


How Much Is Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Oregon?

In Oregon, workers’ compensation insurance costs approximately $129 monthly for businesses with 20 employees. That’s $39 more than the monthly national average cost of $168. MoneyGeek collected quotes based on a sample policy with the following limits:

  • $1 million total policy limit
  • $1 million per accident limit
  • $1 million per employee limit

A policy with these limits will cover up to $1 million in total liability costs (including medical bills, lost wages or legal fees) for all accidents a business reports within a policy period. These limits also cap payouts at $1 million per accident and $1 million per employee, which means you’ll have to pay out of pocket for any costs beyond these limits. We recommend purchasing commercial umbrella insurance with increased coverage limits to boost your company’s financial protection.

Your annual payroll and employee headcount are the key determinants of your workers’ comp insurance costs. Refer to the table below to see how Oregon’s average workers’ compensation insurance cost varies based on your number of employees.


Factors That Impact Workers’ Compensation Costs in Oregon

The cost of Oregon workers’ compensation insurance varies for each business depending on several factors. State regulations, payroll costs, employee headcount, employee class codes and previous claims history will all likely affect your premiums.


Do You Need Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Oregon?

All Oregon businesses are required to obtain workers’ compensation insurance. However, certain types of workers may qualify for an exemption.

Workers’ comp insurance protects companies from the financial impact of liability claims. Business owners should consider this coverage a safety net against unexpected expenses due to medical bills and legal damages if employees get injured or sick on the job.

scale icon

Employers in Oregon who don’t provide state-mandated workers’ compensation insurance may face criminal and civil penalties, including:

  • First offense: Penalty equivalent to twice the amount of insurance premiums you should have paid (a minimum of $1,000).
  • Second offense: Penalty of up to $250 per day for each day of noncompliance, with no limit on the total penalty.
  • Third and subsequent offenses: Permanent court injunction. Failure to obey will result in contempt of court and other sanctions, including imprisonment.

These severe penalties should incentivize business owners to invest in workers’ comp insurance.

What Does Workers’ Compensation Insurance Cover in Oregon?

Workers’ comp insurance benefits employers and employees alike. Employers are protected from lawsuits and medical treatment expenses if an employee suffers a work-related injury or illness. This coverage provides employees with vocational rehabilitation, compensation for lost wages and death benefits.

This type of financial protection is necessary for all small business owners since liability for even one workplace injury can quickly run into tens of thousands of dollars or more.

Workers’ Compensation Insurance Resources for Employees in Oregon

The Oregon Workers’ Compensation Division provides a resource hub where employees can report an injury, file a claim, browse health care providers, look up an employer’s coverage and find helpful information about getting paid for time off.

Employees who wish to file for workers’ comp benefits must complete Form 801 (“Report of Job Injury or Illness”) and submit it to the employer, who should then send it to its insurance provider within five days of notice. If you’re seeking medical treatment, inform your physician that your injury is work-related. Ask for your doctor’s assistance in completing Form 827 (“Worker’s and Health Care Provider’s Report for Workers’ Compensation Claims”). Your employer’s insurer will notify you in writing whether your claim is accepted or denied within 60 days of your employer’s knowledge of the claim.

Frequently Asked Questions About Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Oregon

The best workers’ compensation insurance provider for your small business provides quality coverage at the most affordable premiums. MoneyGeek helps you cut through the noise by giving you the essential information for selecting your Oregon insurer.

Which company has the best workers’ compensation insurance in Oregon?
Which company has the cheapest workers’ compensation insurance in Oregon?
Does Oregon require businesses to have workers’ compensation insurance?
How much does workers’ compensation insurance cost in Oregon?

About Melissa Wylie

Melissa Wylie headshot

Melissa Wylie is a Content and SEO Manager at MoneyGeek. Melissa has worked in the financial content space since 2018 and has spent much of that time focused on all things small business.

Prior to joining MoneyGeek, Melissa held SEO positions at Bankrate and LendingTree. Melissa’s work has also appeared on LendingTree-owned websites ValuePenguin and MagnifyMoney.

Melissa began her career at American City Business Journals in 2015 as a reporter for the company’s women-focused publication Bizwomen. Melissa has a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism from the University of North Texas. Melissa relies on her foundation in journalism to craft content that simplifies complex financial topics to help everyone feel confident when making decisions with their money.

Melissa's other work can be read on LendingTree and Bizwomen.