Getting Car Insurance in Florida After a DUI (2024)


Enter your ZIP code to get started

Shield

Free. Simple. Secure.

Banner image

Updated: May 20, 2024

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure

In Florida, State Farm is the best and cheapest insurance provider for people with an alcohol or drug driving under the influence (DUI) conviction for both full and minimum coverage car insurance.

MoneyGeek Logo IconBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI
2024

Even though Florida requires car insurance, an insurance company in any state has the legal right to refuse to cover drivers with a DUI conviction. It’s up to the company you currently have insurance with to decide whether or not they will cancel your policy.

Regardless of your insurer, expect your Florida auto insurance premium to increase; the average is by around 71% after a DUI. Your premium goes up because you’re now considered a high-risk driver. DUI offenders can have their license suspended, pay fines or face jail time in Florida.

Loading...

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Florida After a DUI

When comparing premiums nationwide, MoneyGeek found Progressive and State Farm offer the cheapest car insurance after a DUI. But in Florida, State Farm and Allstate have the most affordable auto insurance for people with a DUI conviction.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Florida After a DUI

MoneyGeek’s data revealed that, on average, the following car insurance companies offer the cheapest full coverage auto insurance with a DUI in Florida:

  • State Farm: $2,018 per year
  • Allstate: $2,929 per year

While USAA is an affordable insurer with a policy averaging $1,715 per year with a DUI, it exclusively serves former and current military members and their families.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
1CompanyUSAAAnnual Premium$1,715
2CompanyState FarmAnnual Premium$2,018
3CompanyAllstateAnnual Premium$2,929
4CompanyGEICOAnnual Premium$2,963
5CompanyProgressiveAnnual Premium$3,543

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Florida After a DUI

For DUI offenders who want the cheapest minimum coverage auto insurance in Florida, on average, the following insurers have it:

  • State Farm: $1,184 per year
  • Allstate: $1,271 per year

If you’re an eligible military member or veteran, USAA is the cheapest option, costing around $775 per year.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
USAAMinimum Annual Premium$775
State FarmMinimum Annual Premium$1,184
AllstateMinimum Annual Premium$1,271
GEICOMinimum Annual Premium$1,407
ProgressiveMinimum Annual Premium$1,994
mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

The cheapest insurance coverage you can purchase is most often state minimum car insurance, but it may not give enough financial protection. It’s best to assess how much car insurance you need so you’re appropriately covered according to your unique needs.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Florida After a DUI

The best car insurance companies for Florida residents convicted of a DUI are State Farm and GEICO for both full and minimum coverage. MoneyGeek analyzed top-rated companies based on customer satisfaction, financial stability and affordability.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Florida After a DUI

While several auto insurance companies in Florida offer full coverage, MoneyGeek’s evaluation shows that State Farm and GEICO are the top insurers for those with a DUI.


1
State FarmBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.5

5/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4.5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

The average cost of a State Farm full coverage policy in Florida is $1,867 per year. But for the same policy with a DUI, drivers pay roughly $2,018 annually, around 8% more.

More About State Farm

State Farm is our top pick, garnering the overall highest score. While State Farm gives a discount for bundling policies like auto and home, it doesn’t offer unique add-on coverages like original equipment manufacturer (OEM).

2
GEICO
Score:3.2

0/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Without a DUI, a GEICO full coverage policy in Florida averages $1,337 annually. If convicted of a DUI, you could pay around $2,963 per year. That is nearly a 122% increase in the premium.

More About GEICO

Based on MoneyGeek’s methodology, GEICO is a top-rated insurer. It offers unique discounts that help drivers save money. However, GEICO has an average complaint resolution score.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Florida After a DUI

According to MoneyGeek’s unique scoring system, State Farm and GEICO have the best car insurance for DUI offenders in Florida. Keep in mind that while minimum coverage is a cheap option, it might not be enough coverage for you.


1
State FarmBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Drivers with clean records pay roughly $1,085 per year for a minimum coverage policy in Florida, while people with a DUI pay around $1,184 annually. That is a roughly 9% increase for the same coverage.

More About State Farm

As a top-rated insurer, State Farm has discounts like multiple vehicle and anti-theft system. It also has rideshare insurance. However, State Farm doesn't provide add-on coverages like accident forgiveness, gap insurance or deductible modification.

2
GEICO
Score:3

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

0/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Without a DUI, drivers pay about $590 each year for a GEICO minimum coverage policy. There is a roughly 138% increase for DUI offenders, costing around $1,407 per year.

More About GEICO

GEICO garnered excellent scores for stability, discounts and affordability. It has discounts for many kinds of drivers. But GEICO doesn’t offer add-on coverage for better car replacement or new car replacement.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Florida After a DUI?

Without a DUI, drivers pay an average of $2,067 per year for full coverage auto insurance in Florida. If you have a DUI, your full coverage premium could increase by about 71%, costing roughly $3,536 annually. After a DUI conviction, insurers see you as a risky driver that is more likely to file a claim, so they raise your rate — see below for a breakdown of how rates change.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$2,067
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$3,536
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$1,469 more

This is 71% more expensive.

Because insurance companies consider you a risky driver after a DUI, your Florida car insurance becomes more expensive. Use MoneyGeek’s auto insurance calculator below to get a personalized estimate using your unique profile for car insurance with a DUI in Florida.

Car Insurance Calculator

MoneyGeeks's car insurance calculator will give you a customized estimate of your auto insurance cost. It's free to use, requires no personal information and we won't send you any spam.

High
Average
Low

Rates updated:

Jun 13, 2024

Shield Insurance
Why You Can Trust MoneyGeek

Although MoneyGeek partners with some of the companies we recommend, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of writers, editors and licensed agents. Learn more about our editorial policies and expert editorial team.

mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Your auto insurance premium increases after a DUI, but you also pay for other DUI-related costs, such as:

  • Fines, court and attorney fees. Florida law mandates drivers to pay fines after a DUI conviction. DUI offenders may also need to pay for an attorney and court fees.
  • Towing/impound fee. Once arrested, a police officer has your vehicle towed or impounded. You need to pay a fee to reclaim your car.
  • Drug education and treatment. It may be a requirement to go through a drug and alcohol education program.
  • DMV reinstatement fee. You might pay a fee to the Florida DMV to reinstate your driving privileges after a license suspension related to your DUI.
  • Damages. If you cause an auto accident while driving under the influence, you’re responsible for any damages and medical expenses.

Getting Car Insurance in Florida After a DUI

It can be especially challenging to get auto insurance after being convicted of a DUI in Florida. Because insurance companies are private businesses, there is no legal obligation to continue the policy of a driver with a DUI. The five-year look-back period in Florida can also make it difficult to find an insurer.

MoneyGeek recommends researching the best car insurance companies that offer policies to high-risk drivers in Florida. It’s wise to compare quotes between several providers to ensure you choose the best policy for your needs and budget.

mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Florida law requires DUI offenders to obtain an SR-22 and FR-44 insurance form, a document that insurance providers give to the DMV on behalf of a DUI-convicted driver to verify that they have state minimum coverage. You do pay more for SR-22 coverage.

Florida DUI Laws

Drivers with a DUI face severe legal repercussions. In Florida, you may pay fines, face jail time or get your license revoked. Below, MoneyGeek outlined Florida DUI laws.

    bac1 icon

    Driving With a BAC at or Above 0.08% Is Considered a DUI

    Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is the amount of alcohol in your blood. In Florida, you can get arrested if your BAC is 0.08%. However, to get arrested, you don’t have to reach this threshold if your driving is clearly impaired.

    bac2 icon

    Driving With a BAC of 0.15% Will Result in Increased Penalties

    If you drive in Florida with a BAC of 0.15%, you may receive a fine of $1,000 to $4,000 or more and jail time ranging from six months to five years, depending on how many times you’ve repeated a DUI offense.

    driverLicense icon

    Six-Month Administrative License Suspension on First Offense

    First-time DUI offenders with a BAC of 0.08% have their license suspended for six months. If you refuse to take an alcohol test, you can have your license suspended for 12 months.

    ignition icon

    Ignition Interlock Device

    Florida law only requires first-time DUI offenders to have an ignition interlock device (IID) for six months if their BAC exceeds 0.15%. If their BAC is lower, it isn’t mandatory.

Loading...

Frequently Asked Questions

It’s not easy to find cheap car insurance for DUI drivers in Florida. To help you through the process, MoneyGeek answered the most commonly asked questions about getting insurance with a DUI.

Will my insurer continue to cover me if I get a DUI in Florida?
How much do car insurance premiums increase in Florida after a DUI?
What is the cheapest car insurance company in Florida after a DUI?
How long will having a DUI affect my car insurance rates?
How do I get car insurance if I have a DUI?

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Florida, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

sources