Getting Car Insurance in Arkansas After a DUI (2024)


Enter your ZIP code to get started

Shield

Free. Simple. Secure.

Banner image
ByMark Fitzpatrick
ByMark Fitzpatrick

Updated: May 20, 2024

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure

If you have a DUI record in Arkansas, MoneyGeek found that Southern Farm Bureau offers the cheapest car insurance for both full coverage and minimum coverage policies. In terms of the best car insurance provider in the state, State Farm takes the top spot across both levels of coverage.

MoneyGeek Logo IconBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI
2024

Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2023

In any state, car insurance providers may legally refuse coverage to drivers who have a DUI conviction on their record. Drivers with DUIs are considered to be high-risk, making them more likely to file a claim. Due to this risk, you can expect your rates to increase significantly if your insurer keeps your policy after you get a DUI.

Additionally, MoneyGeek's data shows that Arkansas drivers with a DUI typically pay about 79% more for a full coverage policy. For a first time offender, the criminal penalties for a DUI conviction in Arkansas include at least 24 hours or up to a year of jail time and a maximum of $1,000 in fines. In lieu of jail time, the judge can order community service.

Loading...

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Arkansas After a DUI

Progressive and State Farm are the cheapest car insurance companies after a DUI in the United States. Depending on your state, you may find lower quotes from other companies.

In Arkansas, Southern Farm Bureau is the most affordable car insurance provider for full and minimum coverage policies after a DUI.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Arkansas After a DUI

For a full coverage policy, the following providers offer the cheapest car insurance in Arkansas after a DUI:

  • Southern Farm Bureau: $1,010 per year
  • State Farm: $1,104 per year

MoneyGeek collected annual premiums from other auto insurers for full coverage policies after getting a DUI in Arkansas in the table below.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
1CompanySouthern Farm BureauAnnual Premium$1,010
2CompanyState FarmAnnual Premium$1,104
3CompanyUSAAAnnual Premium$1,214
4CompanyFarmersAnnual Premium$1,283
5CompanyAllstateAnnual Premium$1,460

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Arkansas After a DUI

You should also remember that your coverage level impacts the cost of your auto insurance. The following are the least expensive car insurance providers for minimum coverage after a DUI in Arkansas:

  • Southern Farm Bureau: $481 per year
  • State Farm: $558 per year

Additionally, USAA is an affordable choice for military members, veterans and their families, with the same coverage averaging $557 per year.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
Southern Farm BureauMinimum Annual Premium$481
USAAMinimum Annual Premium$557
State FarmMinimum Annual Premium$558
ProgressiveMinimum Annual Premium$678
FarmersMinimum Annual Premium$710
mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Although the minimum coverage policy is the cheapest option for auto insurance, it has some limitations that may not meet your specific needs. While Arkansas law only requires state minimums for auto insurance, you should determine how much car insurance you need to protect yourself and your assets.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Arkansas After a DUI

To find the best car insurance companies in Arkansas after a DUI, MoneyGeek ranked companies based on affordability, customer satisfaction, financial stability and more. Our analysis shows that State Farm is the best car insurance for DUI offenders in the state for both full coverage and minimum coverage policies.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Arkansas After a DUI

In Arkansas, State Farm and Allstate are two of the best insurers for full coverage car insurance after a DUI. You can see our ratings and find out more about each company in the table below.


1
State FarmBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.5

5/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4.5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

In Arkansas, State Farm offers full coverage car insurance at about $1,104 per year for drivers with a DUI, compared to $1,012 for those without a DUI. This means that you will see about a 9% increase in premiums if you have a DUI conviction.

More About State Farm

In terms of financial stability, customer satisfaction and affordability, State Farm made it to our top spot. This insurer is available in 50 states, offers rideshare insurance and gives discounts for clean drivers and students. However, it doesn't provide unique coverages like Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM).

2
Allstate
Score:4

2.9/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

In Arkansas, Allstate offers full-coverage car insurance policies to those with a DUI at $1,460 per year, while the cost without a DUI is $1,110. This means you will have to pay over 31% more for auto insurance if you have a DUI on your record.

More About Allstate

Allstate also received high ratings for financial stability, customer satisfaction and affordability. It is available in 50 states and is a reasonably priced insurer for young drivers. Their policy offers unique add-ons such as custom parts coverage but doesn't offer better car replacement coverage or discounts on defensive and multiple car driving.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Arkansas After a DUI

For those with a DUI in Arkansas, State Farm and Allstate provide the best minimum coverage. While minimum coverage is the most affordable option for car insurance, note that it may not fully cover your expenses if you are involved in an accident.


1
State FarmBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

At State Farm, a minimum coverage auto policy without a DUI costs roughly $506 per year and $558 per year with a DUI. State Farm's average annual premiums increase by about 9% if you have a DUI conviction in Arkansas.

More About State Farm

For Arkansas drivers with traffic violations, State Farm offers the best minimum coverage, receiving top ratings in multiple categories. With this type of policy, typical add-on coverages are provided, such as rental car reimbursement and roadside assistance. However, no unique coverages are available from this insurer.

2
Allstate
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

3/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

A minimum coverage Allstate auto insurance policy in Arkansas costs an average of $772 per year with a DUI, versus $617 without one. This means a DUI on your record will increase your car insurance cost by more than 31%.

More About Allstate

Allstate provides coverage to drivers in 50 states. It also provides insurance policies to young drivers at a reasonable price. It offers unique add-ons, such as custom parts coverage, but it doesn't offer better car replacement coverage or discounts for multiple car drivers and defensive driving.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Arkansas After a DUI?

In Arkansas, the average car insurance rate increases by over 79% after a DUI. With a DUI conviction, a full coverage policy costs $2,056 on average per year. The same coverage costs about $1,145 for Arkansas drivers with no such violations. Learn how and why your rates may increase after you are charged with a DUI.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$1,145
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$2,056
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$911 more

This is 80% more expensive.

Your car insurance rates will likely rise significantly if you have a DUI on your record. The reason for this is that insurers will now classify you as a high-risk driver. The MoneyGeek auto insurance calculator below will provide you with an estimate based on your profile.

Car Insurance Calculator

MoneyGeeks's car insurance calculator will give you a customized estimate of your auto insurance cost. It's free to use, requires no personal information and we won't send you any spam.

High
Average
Low

Rates updated:

Jun 13, 2024

Shield Insurance
Why You Can Trust MoneyGeek

Although MoneyGeek partners with some of the companies we recommend, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of writers, editors and licensed agents. Learn more about our editorial policies and expert editorial team.

mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

You should not underestimate a DUI's financial repercussions. Besides higher insurance rates, you might also need to pay the following penalties for getting a DUI:

  • Fines, court and attorneys' fees: DUI convictions are often accompanied by fines and court fees, such as hiring an attorney for post-conviction assistance.
  • Towing/impound fee: You'll have to pay to reclaim your vehicle if it's towed and impounded after an arrest.
  • Drug education and treatment: You may have to attend an alcohol or drug education program after your first offense.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: If your license has been suspended, you will need to pay a reinstatement fee.

Getting Car Insurance in Arkansas After a DUI

It can be difficult to obtain car insurance after a DUI. Many car insurance companies are privately owned businesses, so they may refuse coverage to drivers they deem risky. In some states, the look-back period may be too long, compounding these challenges. If you are convicted of DUI in Arkansas, it will stay on your record for five years.

If you are convicted of DUI, your insurance premiums will probably increase by hundreds or even thousands of dollars. This is the best time to find companies that offer high-risk coverage. You can get the best rate for your situation by comparing quotes from different providers.

mglogo icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

SR-22 insurance forms are required by law in Arkansas for drivers who are convicted of DUI. To verify that you have the required minimum insurance coverage for your state, your insurer will provide this document to the state on your behalf. The cost of SR-22 insurance in Arkansas includes filing fees and loss of discounts.

Arkansas DUI Laws

The legal consequences of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs are severe. The penalties for DUI vary across states, so it is worth reviewing what each consequence entails. MoneyGeek outlines several DUI laws in Arkansas in the table below.

    bac1 icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is a measure of the amount of alcohol present in the blood. It is illegal to drive in Arkansas if your blood alcohol concentration is greater than 0.08%. It is still possible for you to be arrested for noticeably intoxicated driving, even if you fall under this threshold.

    bac2 icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.15% will NOT result in increased penalties

    Arkansas doesn't impose increased penalties for offenders with a high BAC.

    driverLicense icon

    Six-month administrative license suspension on first offense

    You will lose your driving privileges for six months if you are caught with a BAC of 0.08% or higher on your first offense.

    car2Colored icon

    Limited driving privileges

    After your license is suspended, you can get a restricted license that allows you to drive with limited privileges.

    ignition icon

    Mandatory ignition interlocks

    You must install a device that disables your car's engine if alcohol is detected on your breath. This is mandatory in Arkansas for all DUI convictions.

Loading...

Frequently Asked Questions

When you have been convicted of DUI in Arkansas, finding the best auto insurance can be challenging. MoneyGeek answered some of the most commonly asked questions to help you through the process.

Will my insurer continue to cover me if I get a DUI in Arkansas?
How much do car insurance premiums increase in Arkansas after a DUI?
What is the cheapest car insurance company in Arkansas after a DUI?
How long will having a DUI affect my car insurance rates?
How do I get car insurance if I have a DUI?

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Arkansas, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

About Mark Fitzpatrick


Mark Fitzpatrick headshot

Mark Fitzpatrick has analyzed the property and casualty insurance market for over five years, conducting original research and creating personalized content for every kind of buyer. Currently, he leads P&C insurance content production at MoneyGeek. Fitzpatrick has been quoted in several insurance-related publications, including CNBC, NBC News and Mashable.

Fitzpatrick earned a master’s degree in economics and international relations from Johns Hopkins University and a bachelor’s degree from Boston College. He is passionate about using his knowledge of economics and insurance to bring transparency around financial topics and help others feel confident in their money moves.


sources