Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Tennessee: Everything You Need to Know

If you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol in Tennessee, it is possible that your insurance company will either cancel or refused to renew your auto insurance policy. Even if your policy is renewed, insurance rates in Tennessee could go up by 62%. DUI offenders in Tennessee pay an average of $1,589 a year for full coverage insurance, while those who don't have a DUI pay about $981.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 11/3/2022
Written By     |  

According to MoneyGeek's research, Erie is the best full coverage and minimum coverage insurance provider for Tennessee's drivers with a DUI. State Farm is the cheapest insurance company for both full coverage and minimum coverage insurance. In the table below, you can compare quotes from multiple insurance providers for both types of coverage.

iconribbonBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI2022

If you have a DUI on your record, insurance companies aren't legally required to cover you. This is up to your insurance company, no matter where you live. Additionally, if you keep your car insurance following a DUI in Tennessee, you can anticipate a roughly 62% rise in your insurance prices, with rates jumping from $981 to $1,589.

Because those arrested for DUI are more likely to submit a claim and are classified as high-risk drivers, insurers charge more expensive premiums.

According to MoneyGeek's study, drivers in Tennessee who are convicted of DUI face up to one year of jail time, up to $15,000 in fines and penalties, as well as having their licenses suspended, being sent to alcohol or drug treatment programs and paying higher insurance rates.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Tennessee After a DUI

According to MoneyGeek’s research, Progressive and State Farm offer the cheapest DUI insurance policies across the United States. Meanwhile, State Farm and Progressive offer the cheapest car insurance for DUI drivers in Tennessee.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Tennessee After a DUI

According to MoneyGeek's research, the following companies provide the most affordable full coverage auto insurance premiums in Tennessee for drivers who have been convicted of a DUI:

  • State Farm: $902 per year
  • Progressive: $1,048 per year
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Rank
    Company
    Annual Premium
  • 1
    State Farm
    $902
  • 2
    Progressive
    $1,048
  • 3
    USAA
    $1,107
  • 4
    Erie
    $1,335
  • 5
    GEICO
    $1,382

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Tennessee After a DUI

If you've been convicted of DUI in Tennessee, MoneyGeek found that the following insurers offer minimum coverage policies at the lowest prices:

  • State Farm: $430 per year
  • Progressive: $484 per year
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

You should keep in mind that even though the state minimum coverage is the cheapest option, it may provide enough coverage, especially in the event of an accident. Drivers in Tennessee need to carry the state's minimum liability coverage. However, you should determine how much coverage you require in order to be adequately protected.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Tennessee After a DUI

You can use MoneyGeek's ratings of Tennessee's insurance companies based on cost, customer satisfaction and financial stability, to find the best policy. For someone with a DUI, we found that Erie is the best full coverage and state minimum car insurance provider in Tennessee.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Tennessee After a DUI

Erie Insurance and State Farm are the best companies for full coverage auto insurance in Tennessee for individuals with a DUI conviction. Use the table below to find out more.


1
ErieBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.5

3.9/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

4.5/5

User Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Tennessee drivers who have been convicted of a DUI pay an average of $1,335 per year for full coverage auto insurance with Erie, while those who have not been convicted pay roughly $877 per year. Having a DUI conviction increases your Erie insurance costs by an average of 52%.

More About Erie

Erie, the best insurer for full coverage insurance for DUI drivers, scored high across multiple categories but is not always the most affordable option. Erie’s policyholders are eligible for add-on coverages like better car replacement and common ones like accident forgiveness and new car replacement. Common coverages offered by other insurers like rideshare insurance and roadside assistance aren’t available. It offers several discounts, including a few unique ones like the anti-lock brakes discount and legacy discount.

2
State Farm
Score:4.5

5/5

Affordability

4/5

Financial Stability

4.5/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Drivers in Tennessee who have a DUI pay an average of $902 per year for full coverage auto insurance with State Farm. On the other hand, drivers without a DUI pay approximately $826 per year. Having a DUI conviction could raise your State Farm insurance costs by around 9%.

More About State Farm

State Farm earned high scores in all MoneyGeek rating categories, including a perfect 5 in the affordability category. Roadside assistance and ridesharing insurance are available as extra coverages, but State Farm does not provide accident forgiveness or gap insurance. The insurer does not offer any unique coverage. It offers one unique discount, which is the new vehicle discount, while others are common ones like driver's education, anti-theft and safe driving discount.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Tennessee After a DUI

When it comes to providing DUI drivers with the minimum coverage insurance, Erie Insurance and State Farm are the best companies in Tennessee. Minimum coverage policies may give you the cheapest quotes but might fail to adequately cover you, particularly in the event of an accident.


1
ErieBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:5

5/5

Stability

5/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Tennessee drivers convicted of DUI pay an average of $680 per year for state minimum coverage with Erie, while those without a DUI pay approximately $427 per year. A DUI conviction increases your Erie insurance premiums by around 37%.

More About Erie

Erie scored high across multiple categories but received a lower score for affordability. Its policyholders are eligible for better car replacement coverage which is not commonly available, and more common coverages like accident forgiveness and new car replacement. Coverages like ridesharing insurance and roadside assistance that are commonly available with most other insurers are not available through Erie. Erie provides a variety of discounts, including those that are not commonly available such as an anti-lock brakes discount and a legacy discount.

2
State Farm
Score:4

4/5

Stability

5/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

5/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Drivers with a DUI in Tennessee pay an average of $430 per year for State Farm's minimum coverage auto insurance. Drivers without a DUI, on the other hand, pay around $389 each year. A DUI conviction might result in a 9% increase in your State Farm insurance premiums.

More About State Farm

State Farm, the second-best insurer, received high scores in all of MoneyGeek's categories, with a perfect 5 in the affordability rating. Common coverages, such as roadside assistance and rental car insurance are available, however gap insurance and new car replacement are not. State Farm does not provide any unique coverages either. There is a unique discount for new vehicles, as well as more common discounts like the driver's education discount, safe driving discount and good student discount.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Tennessee After a DUI?

Following a DUI conviction, the average yearly rate for full coverage car insurance in Tennessee jumps by 62%, costing around $1,589. By comparison, the average motorist without a DUI pays around $981 for the same level of coverage. The primary reason for an increase in your insurance rates following a DUI is that you have proven you’re a high-risk driver.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$981
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$1,589
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost:$608 more

This is 62% more expensive.

If you have a DUI on your record, your car insurance premiums may skyrocket because insurance companies now view you as a high-risk driver. MoneyGeek's Tenessee car insurance calculator will help you get a quotation based on your driver profile.

Auto Insurance Calculator

See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.

Tennessee
Female
30-65
Clean

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates

Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.

low end

on average

high end

Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.

USAA
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Besides increased insurance premiums, a DUI in Tennessee can result in other expenses, such as:

  • Fines, court and attorneys' fees: A DUI conviction also results in fines and court costs, as well as the expense of hiring an attorney.
  • Towing/impound fee: A towing and impound fee will be imposed if your vehicle was towed or impounded as a result of you getting arrested for a DUI.
  • Drug education and treatment: You may be required to complete an alcohol or drug education program, which comes at a price.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: If your license was suspended, you will be required to pay a fine to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
  • Damages: If you are at fault for an accident, you will be accountable for the other driver's medical expenses and property losses.

Getting Car Insurance in Tennessee After a DUI

If you've been convicted of a DUI, your insurance company may refuse to cover you. Those fortunate enough to retain their present insurance end up paying higher rates. Because insurance firms are privately owned, they have the legal authority not to renew or refuse a policy for a motorist with a history of DUI.

The 10-year look-back period can make it challenging for you in getting car insurance after a DUI in Tennessee. You can still compare rates and get the best bargain if you do a little research.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

In Tennessee, drivers who have been convicted of a DUI must complete and submit an SR-22 form to the state insurance department. This paperwork is filed on your behalf by your insurer to establish that you have the state's mandated minimum insurance coverage. SR-22 insurance in Tennessee involves additional costs, including filing fees and the chance of losing insurance discounts.

Tennessee DUI Laws

Tennessee law makes it illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and there are serious legal repercussions for doing so. DUI penalties vary from state to state, but one can expect license and driving privilege suspensions, fines, taxes, fees, as well as the possibility of prison time for repeat offenders. MoneyGeek provides a summary of the numerous laws, penalties and punishments associated with driving under the influence in Tennessee.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    The quantity of alcohol in your blood is referred to as your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). In Tennessee, driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or above is illegal. However, even if your BAC is below the legal limit, you may be arrested if you seem unfit to drive safely.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC of 0.2% will result in increased penalties.

    Arrested drivers who have a BAC level of 0.2% or more will have to undergo mandatory jail time of seven consecutive days.

  • This is an icon

    365-day administrative license suspension on first offense

    Officers can seize a driver's license from someone caught driving under the influence under Tennessee's administrative license suspension law. In the state, the suspension period for first offenses is one year. For further offenses, the license will be suspended for a minimum of two years and a maximum of 10 years.

  • This is an icon

    Limited driving privileges for those with no prior DUI conviction

    Restricted license or driving privileges may be available to those with no prior DUI conviction. Convicted drivers are allowed to drive to school, workplace, court, office meeting locations, alcohol safety programs, religious services and interlock monitoring appointments.

  • This is an icon

    Ignition interlocks are mandatory for repeated offenders.

    Drivers may need interlock devices fitted in their vehicles, which will shut down the engine if alcohol is detected in their breath. Judges mandate this in Tennessee for repeat DUI offenses. For the first conviction, this is heavily incentivized.

  • This is an icon

    Repeat offender laws

    In Tennessee, a second DUI brings a sentence of 45 days–11 months and 29 days in jail, a fine of between $600 and $3,500 and license revocation. A third DUI conviction entails a mandatory fine of between $1,100 to $10,000, license revocation for eight years and a prison or jail term of 120 days–11 months and 29 days. Fourth and subsequent DUI offenses entail a fine of between $3,000 and $15,000, license revocation for eight years and a jail time of one year. Ignition Interlock Device for 6 months after reinstatement if you have two DUI convictions in five years.

Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin

Frequently Asked Questions

In the section that follows, you can find the answers to some of the most frequently asked questions, such as how to get car insurance with a DUI in Tennessee.

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Tennessee, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources