MoneyGeek found the best company for minimum or full coverage in West Virginia after a DUI is State Farm. To get the cheapest minimum or full coverage in West Virginia after a DUI, State Farm is also the company to choose.
Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2023
An insurer may still cover you even if you face a DUI conviction in West Virginia. However, it’s not guaranteed. Some insurers choose not to offer insurance to DUI offenders, and they do so legally. The same applies to other states as well.
After a DUI in West Virginia, the average increase of a full coverage policy cost is 82.49%. The increase is because insurers see DUI offenders as high-risk drivers who are more likely to incur financial liabilities due to accidents.
In West Virginia, the BAC threshold is 0.08%, and drivers with a DUI face license suspension and a mandatory ignition interlock.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in West Virginia After a DUI
MoneyGeek determined the cheapest car insurance companies in the U.S. for DUI offenders are usually Progressive and State Farm. In West Virginia, the number one cheapest for minimum and full coverage is State Farm, but Erie is the second most affordable option for car insurance policies after a DUI.
Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in West Virginia After a DUI
Full coverage auto insurance includes added protection for your vehicle in an at-fault accident, making it more expensive than minimum coverage.
On average, the following companies offer the cheapest full coverage car insurance with a DUI in West Virginia:
- State Farm: $869 per year
- Erie: $1,021 per year
Full coverage car insurance has collision and comprehensive insurance with liability, more than West Virginia law requires. In an at-fault accident, you get coverage for damage to your vehicle, and even with non-accident damage, such as a weather event, it covers your car.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI
Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in West Virginia After a DUI
Minimum coverage doesn’t offer much protection because of its low liability limits and no comprehensive or collision insurance. But, if you are on a budget after a DUI in West Virginia, it is the cheapest option to meet state requirements for car insurance.
On average, the cheapest minimum coverage car insurance after a DUI in West Virginia is with:
- State Farm: $434 per year
- Erie: $466 per year
USAA is the second cheapest option, with an average premium of $452 per year, but its policies are strictly for members of the military, veterans and their families.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI
Minimum Annual Premium
States have varying requirements for car insurance. Purchasing minimum coverage car insurance may comply with the state requirement, but it may not cover a significant amount of your liabilities in case of a claim.
The car insurance coverage you need depends on many factors. At the end of the day, it boils down to your needs and the kind of protection you want from your insurance.
Top Car Insurance Companies in West Virginia After a DUI
MoneyGeek evaluated several car insurance companies in West Virginia on affordability, customer satisfaction, financial stability and other factors. Our research found the best company that offers full coverage and minimum coverage car insurance in West Virginia after a DUI is State Farm, and Nationwide is the runner-up.
Best Companies for Full Coverage in West Virginia After a DUI
Full coverage car insurance has the liability coverage requirements you need, plus comprehensive and collision insurance. It provides more protection than what the state requires. The best companies in West Virginia for full coverage car insurance after a DUI are State Farm and Nationwide.
State Farm’s average annual premium for full coverage car insurance with a DUI in West Virginia is $869, while it’s only $805 without a DUI. There is an increase of around 7.95% for DUI offenders.
State Farm is the cheapest option for full coverage car insurance with a DUI in West Virginia. It offers common discounts like bundling but lacks unique add-on coverages. It’s a great option with above-average ratings for customer satisfaction and claims handling alongside excellent financial stability.
Nationwide offers full coverage car insurance for roughly $874 per year without a DUI in West Virginia and around $1,338 per year with a DUI. The difference in premium before and after a DUI is around 53.09%.
Nationwide does well in resolving customer complaints and is very financially stable. It offers common discounts, such as bundling, multi-car and good student. Add-on mechanical breakdown assistance and identity theft coverage are potential inclusions to a policy.
Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in West Virginia After a DUI
Minimum coverage satisfies the car insurance requirements of West Virginia. It doesn’t cover much financial liability — a driver may end up paying out-of-pocket in an at-fault accident — but it’s a lot cheaper than full coverage. The best companies for a minimum coverage car insurance policy in West Virginia after a DUI are State Farm and Nationwide.
A minimum coverage car insurance policy from State Farm in West Virginia averages $397 per year without a DUI. With a DUI, the average cost is $434 per year. That’s over a 9% increase.
State Farm is the most affordable option with a DUI in West Virginia. Customers can receive common discounts such as bundling, anti-theft system and airbag. But State Farm does not offer any unique add-on coverages, such as original equipment manufacturer (OEM).
Nationwide offers minimum coverage car insurance in West Virginia for an average annual premium of $434 without a DUI. It’s around $684 with a DUI, an increase of almost 58%.
Nationwide is financially stable and above-average for affordability with a DUI. It offers add-on coverages, including identity theft and total loss deductible waiver, which are rare. Because it offers several discounts, customers have more opportunities to save money on their premiums.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in West Virginia After a DUI?
In West Virginia, full coverage car insurance before a DUI costs an average of $966 per year. After a DUI, the price could increase by around 82.49%, resulting in a premium of roughly $1,764 per year. The list below shows the difference between car insurance rates in West Virginia before and after a DUI conviction.
How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?
This is 83% more expensive.
Wherever you are in the country, the cost of car insurance after a DUI is more expensive compared to before a DUI. Insurance companies view drivers with a DUI conviction as high-risk drivers that are more likely to file a claim.
MoneyGeek’s car insurance calculator allows you to estimate your car insurance premium with a DUI in West Virginia and find the best company for your coverage needs.
Auto Insurance Calculator
See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.
Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates
Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.
Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.
A DUI comes with other financial consequences aside from an increased car insurance rate. The following are examples:
- Legal fees. During a DUI case, a driver may need to pay fines, court fees and attorney fees.
- Impounding and towing. The police may tow and impound your car after your arrest because you’re not allowed to drive. You must pay the facility to get your car back.
- Reinstatement of driving privileges. Part of the penalties of a DUI is license suspension. After the suspension period is over, you need to pay for the reinstatement of your driver’s license.
- Classes and treatment. Some courts require the driver to have a drug or alcohol evaluation or undergo education or treatment at their expense.
Getting Car Insurance in West Virginia After a DUI
Sometimes, insurance companies don’t offer car insurance to drivers with DUI convictions. Because these companies are usually private businesses, they’re not required by law to accept everyone. Therefore, their refusal of a driver with a DUI is considered legal.
As a result, drivers with DUI convictions may find it difficult to get car insurance, especially when the look-back period is 10 years in West Virginia.
It’s best to compare car insurance quotes between different companies. Even though it might be hard to get car insurance after a DUI, drivers should aim to find the best car insurance for their needs.
High-risk drivers have a history of traffic offenses, DUI convictions or accidents. Insurance companies sometimes determine whether or not a person is a high-risk driver. During the evaluation, they consider a driver’s age, experience and car model, among others.
The most important factor is a driver’s history. So, if a driver has a DUI conviction, they pay more for car insurance — regardless of their location or their chosen insurer.
West Virginia DUI Laws
Getting a DUI conviction not only affects your car insurance costs but also the next few months or years of your life. It can lead to at least 48 hours of jail time, license suspension of at least six months on the first offense and the installation of an ignition interlock device. These penalties become more severe for repeat offenders. MoneyGeek gathered many of the West Virginia DUI laws for you to review.
Driving With a BAC of 0.08% or Above Is Considered a DUI
Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) refers to the amount of alcohol in your blood. The DUI BAC threshold of West Virginia is 0.08%. Reaching this BAC level is automatically considered a DUI.
In some cases, police can arrest drivers who don’t reach the BAC threshold but seem like they’re incapable of driving safely.
Driving With a BAC of 0.15% Will Result in Increased Penalties
A DUI conviction with a BAC of 0.15% or above leads to a mandatory sentence of 48 hours to six months in jail. If a driver is sentenced to only 48 hours of jail time, 24 hours of it must be served in jail.
The fine for this offense is $200 to $1,000, and the driver must have an ignition interlock system for 270 days.
Six-Month Administrative License Suspension on First Offense
On the first offense, a driver’s license is suspended for six months. An officer can also confiscate the license upon failure of the sobriety test.
Limited Driving Privilege After 30 Days From the License Suspension
West Virginia allows limited driving privileges. A driver with a suspended license due to a DUI can drive to and from work, medical treatments and other places subject to the conditions of the privilege. Limited driving privileges may be granted 30 days after suspension.
Ignition Interlock Device Is Mandatory for High BAC and Repeat Offenders
An ignition interlock device is installed in the car. When the device detects alcohol on the breath of the driver, it automatically disables the car from starting.
For West Virginia, this program is only mandatory for drivers with a BAC of 0.15% or above and repeat offenders.
Open Container Law
In West Virginia, drivers are not allowed to have anything that contains alcohol open inside the car. For example, an open beer bottle, a half-empty wine bottle or an alcoholic beverage with a broken seal should not be near the driver or its passengers.
Repeat Offender Laws
Penalties are different depending on the number of DUI convictions of a driver.
A second offender in West Virginia faces jail time of six months to one year, a fine of $1,000 to $3,000 and 10-year license revocation.
A third offender faces two to five years in jail, $3,000 to $5,000 in fines and license revocation for a lifetime.
Compare Insurance Rates
Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
Frequently Asked Questions
MoneyGeek gathered information and answered frequently asked questions regarding car insurance with a DUI in West Virginia.
To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in West Virginia, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.
About Mark Fitzpatrick
- DrivingLaws. "West Virginia Drunk Driving Laws, Penalties, and Consequences." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- DrivingLaws. "West Virginia’s Open Container Laws, Penalties, and Consequences." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- Governors Highway Safety Association. "Alcohol Impaired Driving." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- National Conference for State Legislatures. "Increased Penalties for High Blood Alcohol Content." Accessed April 26, 2022.
- Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility. "National Drunk Driving Statistics Map - Responsibility.org." Accessed May 21, 2022.