Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Virginia: Everything You Need to Know

In Virginia, your car insurer may cancel your coverage if your driver's license is suspended due to a DUI conviction. A full coverage policy for car insurance after DUI will increase by 79% to around $1,394 per year, compared to only $777 for non-DUI drivers.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 10/12/2022
Written By     |  

MoneyGeek recognized State Farm as the best car insurance company for Virginia drivers with a DUI for both minimum and full coverage premiums, respectively. In the table below, you can compare the costs of various insurance options.

iconribbonBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI2022

Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2022

Insurance companies have the legal authority to refuse to insure those with a DUI conviction on their record. If your insurance provider decides to keep your policy after you receive a DUI, your rates will increase since you’re now considered a high-risk driver.

In Virginia, the penalties for a DUI conviction are set by law. If you are involved in a car accident and a law enforcement officer has probable cause, you can be arrested without a warrant at any location within three hours of the crash. Drivers in Virginia pay 79% more for full coverage car insurance after a DUI, in addition to having their license suspended.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Virginia After a DUI

Based on MoneyGeek’s resources, State Farm and Progressive are the cheapest car insurance companies after a DUI nationally. Both car insurance companies are also the cheapest providers in Virginia for individuals looking for the most affordable car insurance after a DUI conviction.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Virginia After a DUI

As per MoneyGeek's analysis, the following insurance companies in Virginia offer the cheapest full coverage car insurance for DUI drivers:

  • Progressive: $706 per year
  • State Farm: $814 per year
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Rank
    Company
    Annual Premium
  • 1
    Progressive
    $706
  • 2
    State Farm
    $814
  • 3
    Erie
    $1,064
  • 4
    Mercury
    $1,159
  • 5
    Nationwide
    $1,198

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Virginia After a DUI

The following companies, according to MoneyGeek's analysis, offer the cheapest minimum coverage car insurance for DUI offenders in Virginia:

  • State Farm: $434 per year
  • Progressive: $456 per year
Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

When it comes to auto insurance, the cheapest option isn't always the best. MoneyGeek recommends that you find out how much car insurance you need to cover Virginia's minimum insurance requirements in addition to protecting yourself and your belongings.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Virginia After a DUI

MoneyGeek analyzed insurance companies based on financial stability, pricing and customer satisfaction to help you identify the best policy for your needs. For both full and minimum coverage policies, State Farm offers the best car insurance after a DUI in Virginia.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Virginia After a DUI

State Farm and Progressive are the top two full coverage car insurance companies for DUI offenders in Virginia. Explore MoneyGeek's rankings below to learn more about each insurer's policies, costs and key features.


1
State FarmBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.3

4.8/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Virginia drivers without a DUI pay $744 per year for a full coverage insurance policy with State Farm. Meanwhile, those with a DUI pay almost 9.5% more annually at $814 for the same full coverage policy.

More About State Farm

State Farm has a strong track record in terms of customer service, financial stability and discounts when it comes to car insurance. State Farm, like most insurers, offers standard coverages like liability, comprehensive and collision.

2
Progressive
Score:4.2

5/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

3.5/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

For drivers in Virginia with a spotless record, a Progressive full coverage policy costs around $504 per year. On the other hand, DUI offenders pay an average of $706 per year, a considerable increase of more than 40%.

More About Progressive

Progressive has high scores in terms of complaint rating, financial stability and discounts. However, it has low satisfaction and poor affordability ratings. With the exception of teenage drivers, who pay higher premiums, the cost of Progressive car insurance is average for the industry.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Virginia After a DUI

MoneyGeek researched a number of minimum coverage car insurance companies after a DUI in Virginia and found that State Farm and Travelers offered the best combination of affordability and quality service.


1
State FarmBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

5/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

A State Farm minimum coverage policy costs roughly $392 per year without a DUI. After a DUI, it increases by almost 11% to an average of $434 per year.

More About State Farm

For the average driver that simply needs minimum coverage, State Farm is a perfect pick. State Farm received an 81 out of 100 in MoneyGeek’s rating, making it a leading auto insurer among competitors for affordability and quality service. State Farm is a cost-effective option for most drivers, despite the lack of any specific coverages.

2
Travelers
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

A Travelers' minimum coverage policy for drivers with a clean driving record costs roughly $464 per year. DUI offenders, on the other hand, pay more than 56% at $727 per year for the same policy.

More About Travelers

Travelers has an average reputation for customer satisfaction but received an excellent complaint score, indicating that the company receives very few complaints. Travelers' car insurance is neither cheap nor costly, according to MoneyGeek, with moderate rates for minimum coverage.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Virginia After a DUI?

In Virginia, the average cost of car insurance after a DUI increases by more than 79% with the average annual cost of a full coverage policy at $1,394. Meanwhile, drivers without a DUI pay only $777 for the same coverage.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$777
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$1,394
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$617 more

This is 79% more expensive.

Your car insurance rates after a DUI in Virginia will increase since you've been labeled a high-risk driver. To get a better idea of how your premiums can vary after a DUI, you may use MoneyGeek's car insurance calculator.

Auto Insurance Calculator

See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.

Virginia
Female
30-65
Clean

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates

Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.

low end

on average

high end

Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.

USAA
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

In addition to your car insurance rates increase after a DUI, you will also have to pay for other DUI fines and charges, face a license suspension for 30 days or more and serve possible jail time or community service.

  • Fines, court costs and legal fees. Costs and fines in addition to increased car insurance are of utmost concern. There is the possibility of receiving further fines up to three times the original sum.
  • Towing and impound charges. If you’re arrested for a DUI, your car may be towed and impounded.
  • Treatment and education. Alcohol or drug education could be as simple as an eight-hour online course or as complex as months of treatment.
  • Reinstatement fee for DMV. You will have to pay a charge to reactivate your license once it has been suspended.

Getting Car Insurance in Virginia After a DUI

Since they are private businesses, car insurance companies can refuse to cover or renew policies for drivers who have been convicted of DUI. Because the look-back period in Virginia is ten years, getting car insurance after a DUI might be challenging.

You can find the best car insurance company for you by shopping around and comparing quotes. For example, a full coverage policy after a DUI with Progressive costs $706 per year, over $978 less expensive than a similar policy with GEICO at $1,684 per year.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

If you are convicted of a high-risk driving violation in Virginia — reckless driving, driving without insurance, or driving while your license is suspended — you will need to purchase SR-22 insurance. An SR-22 is a form that your insurance company submits to the state in order to purchase higher liability limits.

With an average annual rate of $434, State Farm offers the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Virginia.

Virginia DUI Laws

A DUI is a charge that a driver can receive in Virginia if they drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you are driving while under the influence of any drug, you may face the same consequences as if you were driving while impaired.

The table below from MoneyGeek explains the laws regarding DUI in Virginia.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    The percentage of alcohol in blood is measured by the blood alcohol content (BAC). If your BAC is 0.08% or more and you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Virginia, you are legally deemed to be driving under the influence.

    Even if you aren't over the legal limit, you may be arrested if you appear to be driving intoxicated.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC of 0.15%. A BAC of 0.20% will result in increased penalties

    For the first offense with a BAC greater than 0.15% but less than 0.20%, you’ll serve a mandatory jail sentence of five days. If your BAC is greater than 0.20%, you’ll serve a mandatory jail time of ten days.

    A driver who has been convicted of driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher is prohibited from operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or higher within three years of the preceding violation. If you’re a second time high BAC offender and are caught operating a vehicle with a BAC of more than 0.02%, you’ll receive a third high BAC DUI violation.

  • This is an icon

    Up to 12-month administrative license suspension on first offense

    A first DUI conviction in Virginia can result in a 12-month license suspension. After a conviction, a driver may be eligible for a restricted license, which allows them to drive only to particular destinations or at specific hours.

  • This is an icon

    Limited driving privileges based on previous offenses

    After a drunk driving arrest, drivers may be given limited driving privileges. However, in Virginia, a driver must usually wait out the entire suspension period and complete all required criteria before having full driving privileges restored.

  • This is an icon

    Ignition interlocks are mandatory for all DUI convictions

    Regardless of your BAC level at the time of your arrest, if you've been convicted of a DUI, you must immediately install an ignition interlock device (IID) in every car you own or intend to drive.

  • This is an icon

    Open container laws

    It is unlawful in Virginia for anyone to drink an alcoholic beverage while driving a motor vehicle. If an open container is found within the passenger area of the vehicle, or within reach of the driver, you may be charged with drinking while operating a motor vehicle.

  • This is an icon

    Repeat offender laws

    Anyone who commits multiple DUI offenses is liable to a harsher penalty structure, as described in Virginia Code Section 18.2-270. Repeat DUI offenders can expect to face heavy criminal consequences in Virginia, including long jail sentences and high fines.

Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin

Frequently Asked Questions

Finding a good car insurance provider in Virginia after a DUI can be daunting. To assist you, MoneyGeek provided answers to the most frequently asked questions.

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Virginia, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources