Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Utah: Everything You Need to Know

If your license is suspended due to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), your car insurer may cancel your policy. Even if you retain your car insurance, premiums after a DUI in Utah will climb by 51%. In Utah, full coverage insurance with a DUI conviction costs $1,674, while a policy without one costs just $1,108.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 10/12/2022
Written By     |  

MoneyGeek recommends State Farm for both full and minimal coverage if you require car insurance after a DUI conviction in Utah. State Farm and American Family are the most cost-effective full coverage and minimum coverage insurers. You can compare prices for the different types of insurance in the table below.

iconribbonBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI2022

Insurance companies can legally refuse to cover drivers who have a DUI on their record, even though all states require car insurance. Because DUI drivers are considered high-risk, insurance firms covering them usually hike their prices.

A DUI conviction in Utah might result in a 51.13% increase in your yearly insurance premiums. You may also incur penalties, such as license suspension and mandatory use of an ignition interlock device.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Utah After a DUI

In general, Progressive and State Farm are the cheapest auto insurance companies after a DUI throughout the country. In Utah, American Family and State Farm are the cheapest car insurers for full and minimum coverage after a DUI.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Utah After a DUI

The amount of coverage you choose affects the cost of your auto insurance after a DUI conviction. According to MoneyGeek's research, the following provides the most affordable full-coverage auto insurance for DUI drivers in Utah:

  • American Family: $1,426 per year
  • State Farm: $1,429 per year

However, if you have a military background, USAA offers the cheapest full coverage premium of $1,188 after a DUI in Utah.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Rank
    Company
    Annual Premium
  • 1
    USAA
    $1,188
  • 2
    American Family
    $1,426
  • 3
    State Farm
    $1,429
  • 4
    Allstate
    $1,479
  • 5
    Progressive
    $1,511

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Utah After a DUI

As previously mentioned, the level of coverage you choose impacts the price of your auto insurance. The following providers offer the lowest minimum coverage car insurance after a DUI in Utah:

  • State Farm: $827 per year
  • Progressive: $869 per year

However, if you’re a member of the military, USAA offers the lowest insurance in Utah for minimal coverage after a DUI, at $666 per year.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

When it comes to car insurance, the cheapest option isn't always the best because it might not offer enough coverage in case of an accident. While Utah law requires drivers to have the state's minimum coverage, we suggest figuring out how much car insurance you really need to be financially secure.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Utah After a DUI

MoneyGeek identified the best insurers based on affordability, customer satisfaction, financial soundness and other considerations. We found that State Farm is the top auto insurance company for someone with a DUI in Utah for both full and minimum coverage.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Utah After a DUI

State Farm and GEICO are the top two companies offering full coverage auto insurance for DUI offenders in Utah. Take a look at both companies in more detail below.


1
State FarmBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.5

4.4/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

5/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

State Farm's full coverage insurance costs the typical driver $1,299 per year. The average premium for DUI offenders is $1,429, roughly 10% higher.

More About State Farm

State Farm is a top-rated car insurance provider and has branches around the country. Despite the absence of extra coverages such as OEM, it is a cost-effective option for most drivers.

2
GEICO
Score:4.2

4.2/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

GEICO's full coverage insurance costs roughly $677 per year for motorists with a spotless record. On the other hand, DUI offenders pay an average of $1,534 per year, a considerable increase of 77.5%.

More About GEICO

GEICO provides low-cost insurance for all kinds of drivers and offers a variety of discounts, including anti-theft system and multiple-car. However, it does not cover the cost of a new automobile or a better car replacement.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Utah After a DUI

Minimum car insurance coverage is the most cost-effective choice, but it may suit everyone's requirements. MoneyGeek researched auto insurance companies in Utah that provide minimum coverage insurance. Read more about our top picks, State Farm and GEICO, in the table below.


1
State FarmBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:5

5/5

Stability

5/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Without a DUI, State Farm minimum coverage insurance costs about $748 per year. On the other hand, DUI offenders pay an average of $827 per year, which is 10% higher.

More About State Farm

State Farm ranks high for financial stability but has an average customer satisfaction rating due to a high number of customer complaints. It offers ridesharing insurance, savings to students and various discounts, including bundling and anti-theft. It does not, however, offer pay-in-full or paperless discounts.

2
GEICO
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

In Utah, a GEICO basic coverage policy for drivers with a clean driving record might cost about $393 per year. DUI offenders, on the other hand, pay $833, an extra 77%.

More About GEICO

GEICO gets above-average ratings for consumer happiness and has good reviews for price, stability, and discounts. However, one of its disadvantages is that it does not provide coverage for new or better automobile replacement.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Utah After a DUI?

The average cost of car insurance in Utah increases by 51% after a DUI. If you've been convicted of a DUI, full coverage insurance will set you back $1,674 per year on average. In contrast, non-DUI drivers in the state pay roughly $1,108 for the same coverage.

MoneyGeek explains how and why your car insurance costs in Utah vary if you get a DUI.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$1,108
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$1,674
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$566 more

This is 51% more expensive.

After a DUI, you're classified as a high-risk driver, which raises the cost of your Utah auto insurance. Use MoneyGeek's car insurance calculator to get a more tailored idea of how your premiums could change after a DUI.

Auto Insurance Calculator

See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.

Utah
Female
30-65
Clean

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates

Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.

low end

on average

high end

Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.

USAA
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

In addition to higher car insurance rates, other DUI-related costs can reach hundreds of dollars. Here are some of the extra expenses you may shoulder:

  • Fines, court and attorneys' fees: A DUI conviction usually entails fines and court costs, as well as the cost of hiring a lawyer to help you post bail or defend yourself against a false allegation.
  • Towing/impound fee: You'll pay to have your car returned if it's towed and confiscated due to an arrest.
  • Drug education and treatment: After your first offense, you may be required to complete an alcohol or drug education program.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: You'll pay a fee to recover your driving privileges after your license has been suspended.

Getting Car Insurance in Utah After a DUI

Some auto insurance companies refuse to cover drivers who have been convicted of drunk driving. Insurance companies are private businesses and have the legal power to deny or refuse to renew coverage for DUI offenders.

Utah’s look-back period prolongs the difficulty of getting insurance after a DUI for 10 years. But you can still shop about, compare pricing, and choose the insurance company that will best fit your needs.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Utah requires an SR-22 insurance form for all drivers convicted of a DUI. This is a document that your insurer submits to the state on your behalf confirming you have the state-required bare minimum coverage. You should be aware that SR-22 insurance in Utah has its own set of costs, like filing fees and loss of discounts.

Utah DUI Laws

Driving while drunk or under the influence of drugs or alcohol may result in severe legal consequences. License suspension, fines, taxes, installing an ignition interlock device (IID) and prison time are all common DUI penalties. MoneyGeek has compiled a list of several Utah DUI laws in the table below.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.05% is considered a DUI

    Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) determines how much alcohol is in someone's bloodstream. In 2019, Utah became the first and only state to make driving with a BAC of.05% or above unlawful. Note that even if you aren't above the legal limit, you may be arrested if you seem unable to drive safely.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC of 0.16% will result in increased penalties

    If a BAC is 0.16% or greater, the court must order (or explain why the order is not appropriate) treatment, as well as one or both of the following:

    • An ignition interlock device as a condition of probation
    • Electronic monitoring at home
  • This is an icon

    Period of license revocation on first offense

    Your license will be suspended for at least 120 days if you are found driving with a BAC of 0.05% or higher.

  • This is an icon

    Limited driving privileges during your suspension

    None.

  • This is an icon

    Ignition interlocks

    Mandatory for repeat convictions; highly incentivized for first convictions.

  • This is an icon

    Open container laws

    Yes.

  • This is an icon

    Repeat offender laws

    Yes.

Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin

Frequently Asked Questions

It can be tough to get affordable car insurance after a DUI conviction in Utah. To help you with the process, MoneyGeek answers some frequently asked questions.

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Utah, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data and information obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources