Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Texas: Everything You Need to Know

If you've been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Texas, it's important to know that in many cases, insurance companies may refuse to insure you. Or, if an insurer does cover a DUI driver, premiums will be higher than those for non-DUI policyholders. When it comes to car insurance in Texas, non-DUI drivers pay an average annual cost of $1,277 for full coverage whereas DUI drivers pay $1,926.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 10/10/2022

MoneyGeek examined the best and cheapest car insurance companies in Texas to help you save money if you have a DUI. MoneyGeek found that Farmers provides the best full and minimum coverage policies, as well as the cheapest minimum coverage policies after a DUI. Meanwhile, Esurance is the cheapest provider of full coverage insurance policies in Texas after a DUI.

iconribbonBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI2022

After a DUI, the average cost of car insurance in Texas increases by 50.76%. Full coverage policies for those without a DUI jump from $1,277 to $1,926, and minimum coverage policies increase from $643 to $988.

However, not all car insurance companies cover DUI drivers. While Texas requires car insurance, providers are not legally required to cover you after a DUI. If your auto insurance provider does decide to offer coverage, your rates will increase. Texas drivers with a DUI on their record also face penalties such as license suspensions, additional fees, and required classes.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Texas After a DUI

After a DUI, the cheapest auto insurance provider differs by state. MoneyGeek found Progressive and State Farm to be the most affordable auto insurance companies for DUI offenders nationwide. Meanwhile, Esurance followed by Farmers is the least expensive auto insurer in Texas for drivers with a DUI.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Texas After a DUI

The following companies offer the most affordable full coverage auto insurance rates for DUI-convicted drivers:

  • Esurance: $1,149
  • Farmers: $1,207
Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Rank
    Company
    Annual Premium
  • 1
    Esurance
    $1,149
  • 2
    Farmers
    $1,207
  • 3
    USAA
    $1,310
  • 4
    State Farm
    $1,550
  • 5
    GEICO
    $1,649

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Texas After a DUI

MoneyGeek found the following insurance companies in Texas to provide the cheapest minimum coverage rates for DUI-convicted drivers:

  • Farmers: $621
  • Esurance: $656

Even though USAA came in second with at the rate of $655, we didn't include it on our list because of the company's limited availability; only military personnel and their families are eligible for USAA coverage.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

The most basic and cheapest coverage offered is minimum coverage. Texas law requires minimum insurance coverage of 30/60/25. Before selecting a plan, you should research how much auto insurance coverage you need in order to protect you financially when you submit claims. Buying more coverage may be more expensive, but you will pay less out of pocket if you make an insurance claim.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Texas After a DUI

MoneyGeek assessed Texas auto insurance carriers based on a variety of factors including affordability, customer satisfaction, financial stability and more to help you identify the top car insurance companies in Texas for DUI offenders.

MoneyGeek determined that Farmers is the top car insurance company for DUI-convicted Texas drivers for both full and minimum coverage.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Texas After a DUI

According to MoneyGeek's rating methodology, Farmers and State Farm are the top two best insurance providers for DUI-convicted drivers.


1
FarmersBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.3

4.9/5

Affordability

4/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Non-DUI drivers pay $821 for full coverage with Farmers, whereas DUI offenders pay $1,207. DUI offenders will incur a 46.9% increase in Farmers’ insurance premiums.

More About Farmers

Farmers is moderately priced for drivers who have been convicted of a traffic infraction. Farmer offers several unique add-on coverages such as original equipment manufacturer, custom parts and glass deductible modification. In addition, young drivers may find Farmers expensive.

2
State Farm
Score:4.2

4.2/5

Affordability

5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Non-DUI drivers pay $924 for full coverage with State Farm, whereas DUI offenders pay $1,550. DUI offenders will incur a 67.7% increase in Farmers’ insurance premiums.

More About State Farm

High-risk drivers can get affordable car insurance from State Farm, which ranks well in customer satisfaction, demonstrating that State Farm balances affordability with quality service. This provider doesn't offer accident forgiveness, new car replacement, gap insurance, deductible modification, or better car replacement coverage.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Texas After a DUI

Many drivers may not be adequately covered even if they meet the minimum insurance requirements. MoneyGeek assessed auto insurance carriers offering minimum coverage policies in Texas.


1
FarmersBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

4/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

5/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Non-DUI drivers pay $420 for minimum coverage with Farmers, whereas DUI-convicted drivers pay $621 for the same insurance. This is a difference of $201.

More About Farmers

MoneyGeek’s data shows that Farmers is a below-average insurer for some drivers based on several categories. However, its high ratings in complaints and stability were two of the insurer's strengths, while other metrics including customer satisfaction, affordability and discounts were not.

2
State Farm
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

4/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

State Farm's minimum coverage for DUI convictions in Texas costs $872. You'll pay $495 for the same coverage if you don't have a DUI. Annual rates for this carrier will increase by 76% for drivers with a DUI on their driving record.

More About State Farm

High-risk drivers can get affordable car insurance from State Farm, which ranks well in customer satisfaction, demonstrating that State Farm balances affordability with quality service. This provider doesn't offer accident forgiveness, new car replacement, gap insurance, deductible modification or better car replacement coverage.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Texas After a DUI?

In Texas, the average cost of car insurance for DUI offenders is $1,926, showing premium rates of 50.76% higher than non-DUI drivers. Some car insurance companies may deny DUI-convicted drivers coverage. Companies that do cover DUI drivers may demand a higher rate since DUI offenders are considered high-risk drivers who are more likely to submit a claim.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$1,277
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$1,926
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$649 more

This is 51% more expensive.

DUI-convicted drivers in Texas are classified as high-risk by car insurance providers, resulting in a high insurance rate. To get an idea of how much your vehicle insurance would cost if you were convicted of DUI, use the MoneyGeek calculator below to get tailored insurance quotes.

Auto Insurance Calculator

See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.

Texas
Female
30-65
Clean

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates

Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.

low end

on average

high end

Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.

USAA
AAA
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

The following are some of the extra financial implications of being a DUI offender:

  • Fines, court and attorneys' fees: DUI convicts are required to pay a variety of fees, including bail, legal fees, court charges and fines.
  • Towing/impound fee: If you are arrested for DUI, you must pay for towing as well as a DUI impound charge. The cost of towing and impounding your automobile varies based on where you dwell.
  • Drug education and treatment: It is possible that a first-time DUI offender will be legally bound to participate in drug education and rehabilitation.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: DUI offenders must complete the DMV reinstatement process and pay a reinstatement fee in order to regain their driving privileges.

Getting Car Insurance in Texas After a DUI

Getting insurance after a DUI might be difficult due to insurers' unwillingness to cover you. Because many car insurance companies are private businesses, they may refuse coverage to drivers they deem risky. This risk may grow with a state's look-back time and a DUI conviction in Texas stays on your record for life.

After a DUI, your insurance rates will almost certainly increase, costing you more money. It is best to compare quotes from many providers to get the best deal.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

DUI drivers in Texas are required to get SR-22 insurance. The SR-22 form is often referred to as a certificate of insurance or a financial responsibility form. Most state DMV offices need car liability insurance documentation for DUI drivers' insurance policies.

Texas DUI Laws

DUI offenders in Texas face a variety of consequences, including fines, jail time, court expenses, probation and evaluation fees, depending on the severity of their violation.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    DUI laws in Texas prohibit all drivers from driving a car with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of.08% or above. Even if you are under this limit but can't drive safely, you might still be penalized. It is illegal for Texas drivers under the age of 21 to drive with any measurable level of alcohol in their bodies.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC of .15% will result in increased penalties

    If a driver’s BAC is more than .15%, the court must mandate the installation of ignition interlock devices on all owned motor vehicles for a period of one year after the time of license suspension.

  • This is an icon

    90–180 days administrative license suspension on first offense

    First-time DUI offenders in Texas risk a 90-day administrative license suspension if .08% BAC or above is detected, and a 180-day suspension if they refuse to take the test. This implies that the driver's license will be suspended immediately, with the duration of the suspension determined by the severity of the offense.

  • This is an icon

    Ignition interlocks

    Ignition interlocks are mandatory for repeat DUI offenders in Texas.

  • This is an icon

    Open container laws

    In Texas, it is illegal to have an open container of alcohol while you are driving a vehicle.

  • This is an icon

    Repeat offender laws

    Repeat offenders in Texas are subject to more extensive punishments for DUIs.

Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin

Frequently Asked Questions

Your DUI insurance requirements will determine the best DUI auto insurance provider for you. MoneyGeek covers the most frequently asked questions to identify the most suitable carrier for you.

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in Texas, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

sources