Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Louisiana: Everything You Need to Know

After a DUI conviction, your insurer may choose to drop you or decline to renew your policy. Alternatively, they may charge you higher rates for being a high-risk driver. The average cost of car insurance for DUI offenders in Louisiana is $4,628 per year, whereas drivers without a DUI pay around $2,858 per year.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 9/29/2022

For drivers with a record of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Louisiana, MoneyGeek found that the cheapest car insurance company for full and minimum coverage is Southern Farm Bureau. For the best car insurance provider in the state, State Farm wins our pick across both levels of coverage.

iconribbonBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI2022

Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2022

Although car insurance is required in all states, insurance companies can legally refuse to insure drivers with a DUI on their records. Companies that do cover drivers after a DUI usually increase their insurance rates, as they’re now considered high-risk.

In Louisiana, you can expect your annual premiums to increase by 62% after a DUI conviction. You might also face penalties such as license suspension and mandatory ignition interlock.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Louisiana After a DUI

The nationwide providers offering the cheapest car insurance after a DUI are Progressive and State Farm. However, other companies in your state may offer lower rates. In Louisiana, the most affordable car insurance provider for full coverage and minimum coverage after a DUI is Southern Farm Bureau.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in Louisiana After a DUI

The amount you’ll pay for car insurance after a DUI conviction will depend on several factors, including your preferred coverage level. The cheapest car insurance companies for a full coverage policy in Louisiana are:

  • Southern Farm Bureau: $2,110 per year
  • State Farm: $2,612 per year

USAA is also an affordable option for active military members, veterans and their families, averaging $2,357 per year for full coverage in Louisiana after a DUI.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Rank
    Company
    Annual Premium
  • 1
    Southern Farm Bureau
    $2,110
  • 2
    USAA
    $2,357
  • 3
    State Farm
    $2,612
  • 4
    Allstate
    $3,687
  • 5
    Progressive
    $5,396

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in Louisiana After a DUI

Keep in mind that coverage level also affects the cost of your car insurance premiums. For minimum coverage after a DUI, the most affordable car insurance providers in Louisiana are:

  • Southern Farm Bureau: $1,031 per year
  • State Farm: $1,186 per year

A minimum coverage USAA policy at $1,075 per year is also among the cheapest for eligible drivers.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Minimum coverage is usually the cheapest car insurance you can purchase. However, state minimums for car insurance are often not enough to financially protect you after an accident. This is because minimum coverage typically only includes liability insurance, which covers the costs of injuries and damages for the other driver if you’re at fault in an accident.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Louisiana After a DUI

MoneyGeek ranked the best car insurance companies for DUI offenders in Louisiana based on affordability, customer satisfaction, financial stability and more. According to our analysis, the top-ranked insurer in the state for full coverage and minimum coverage is State Farm.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in Louisiana After a DUI

MoneyGeek’s unique scoring system determined that State Farm and Allstate are the best car insurance companies offering full coverage for DUI offenders in Louisiana.


1
State FarmBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.3

4.6/5

Affordability

4/5

Financial Stability

4.5/5

User Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

State Farm offers full coverage car insurance to Louisiana drivers with a DUI at roughly $2,612 per year, compared to $2,442 for drivers without a DUI. That’s a 7% increase in average annual premiums if you have a DUI conviction.

More About State Farm

State Farm received high scores across all categories, making it the top company for DUI offenders in Louisiana. State Farm offers rideshare insurance and several discounts, including ones for students and good drivers. However, it doesn’t have unique coverage, such as Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) coverage.

2
Allstate
Score:3.7

3.8/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

3.5/5

User Satisfaction

3.5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

The average cost of Allstate’s full coverage car insurance with a DUI in Louisiana is $3,687 per year, whereas the price for the same policy without a DUI is $2,845. Having a DUI on your record increases your average annual premium by 30%.

More About Allstate

Allstate scored well on financial stability, customer satisfaction and affordability. This insurer is relatively cheap for teen drivers. Although it offers unique add-ons like custom parts coverage, it lacks commonly found multiple cars or defensive driving discounts.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in Louisiana After a DUI

In Louisiana, the best car insurance companies providing minimum coverage for those with a DUI are State Farm and GEICO. Although minimum coverage is the cheapest option for car insurance, keep in mind that it might not be enough to cover all your expenses after an accident.


1
State FarmBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

4/5

Stability

5/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

5/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI in Louisiana, a minimum coverage policy from State Farm costs an average of $1,186 per year. The same policy without a DUI costs $1,092. That’s a 7% increase in annual premiums with this company if you have a DUI on your record.

More About State Farm

State Farm is the best company offering minimum coverage for drivers with traffic violations in Louisiana, receiving high ratings across multiple categories. It provides typical add-on coverages, such as roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement. However, you won’t find any unique coverage from this insurer.

2
GEICO
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

3/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

GEICO offers minimum coverage auto insurance with and without a DUI at approximately $2,719 per year and $1,046 per year, respectively. Having a DUI conviction in Louisiana increases GEICO’s average annual premiums by 148%.

More About GEICO

GEICO received a perfect score on financial stability and high ratings for customer satisfaction and claims. It provides rare discount opportunities for wearing your seatbelt, installing anti-lock brakes and having daytime running lights. However, this insurer doesn't offer new- or better-car replacement coverage.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Louisiana After a DUI?

MoneyGeek found that average annual premiums increase by 62% in Louisiana after getting a DUI, about $4,628 per year for full coverage car insurance. Use the list below to compare the cost of a full coverage policy before and after a DUI.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$2,859
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$4,628
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$1,769 more

This is 62% more expensive.

Having a DUI on your record will likely cause your car insurance rates to increase significantly. This is because insurance companies will now consider you a high-risk driver. Use MoneyGeek’s auto insurance calculator below to get a personalized estimate based on your driver profile.

Auto Insurance Calculator

See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.

Louisiana
Female
30-65
Clean

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates

Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.

low end

on average

high end

Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.

USAA
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

The financial implications of a DUI cannot be overstated. In addition to increased car insurance premiums, you will also incur the following costs from a DUI:

  • Fines, court and attorneys' fees: A DUI conviction usually entails fines and various court fees, including paying for an attorney to help you post bail or fight an unfair charge.
  • Towing/impound fee: If your car is towed and impounded following an arrest, you’ll have to pay to reclaim your vehicle.
  • Drug education and treatment: After your first offense, you may be required to undergo an alcohol or drug education program.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: You’ll need to pay a fee to reinstate your driving privileges after your license is suspended.

Getting Car Insurance in Louisiana After a DUI

Getting car insurance after a DUI can be challenging. Since many car insurance companies are private businesses, they may deny coverage to drivers they consider risky to insure. The length of a state’s look-back period can compound these challenges. In Louisiana, a DUI offense stays on a driver’s record for 10 years.

After a DUI conviction, you will most likely face higher premiums that cost you hundreds or thousands of dollars. Around this time, it’s best to shop around for companies that offer coverage for high-risk drivers. Comparing quotes from different providers will help you get the best possible rate for your situation.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

Note that Louisiana drivers convicted of a DUI must obtain an SR-22 insurance form. This is a document that your insurer submits to the state on your behalf to verify that you have the required minimum insurance coverage for your state. SR-22 insurance in Louisiana has its own associated costs, such as filing fees and loss of discounts, that would benefit you to know.

Louisiana DUI Laws

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs has severe legal consequences. DUI penalties may vary across state lines but often include license suspension, fines, fees, ignition interlock device (IID) installation and jail time. MoneyGeek enumerates several Louisiana DUI laws in the table below.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) refers to the amount of alcohol in your blood. In Louisiana, it’s criminal to drive with a BAC of 0.08% or above. Even if you’re under this threshold, you can still be arrested for noticeably impaired driving.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.15% will result in increased penalties

    Louisiana drivers with a BAC of 0.15% will serve at least 48 hours in jail without the benefit of parole, probation or suspension of sentence. Those with a BAC of 0.20% will face the same penalties and be fined between $750 and $1,000.

  • This is an icon

    90-day administrative license suspension on a first offense

    Louisiana’s administrative license suspension law authorizes an officer to confiscate the license of those who fail an alcohol test. Suspension for first offenses in the state lasts 90 days.

  • This is an icon

    Mandatory ignition interlocks

    In Louisiana, an ignition interlock system is mandatory for 12 months for a first offense if your BAC is 0.20% and above.

Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin

Frequently Asked Questions

If you’re still unsure how having a DUI affects car insurance in Louisiana, MoneyGeek’s answers to frequently asked questions may help.

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in STATE, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

sources