What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in New Hampshire?
When it comes to how much car insurance you need in New Hampshire, the minimum requirements stipulate that every driver must have at least 25/50/25 in liability coverage, which means:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
Note that in New Hampshire, not all drivers are legally required to have auto insurance. Drivers need only to be able to prove they have the means to be financially responsible in case of an accident. This means that no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) coverage and uninsured motorists (UM) coverage are not legally required.
Not all minimum coverage costs the same
Comparing quotes will help you find the cheapest policy.
Choose your best option
Compare rates and coverage options from top insurers.
Compare multiple insurers' quotes to maximize your savings.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Having 25/50/25 in liability limits means having $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident with a $25,000 limit per person along with $25,000 in property damage liability.
Bodily injury coverage protects third parties if you are at fault in an accident and pays for their medical bills, pain and suffering and lost wages as a result of not being able to work while recovering from injuries. Property damage coverage pays for damages made to someone else’s property, such as a vehicle or even the items inside it.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in New Hampshire?
The cost of car insurance in New Hampshire as well as any other state depends on a variety of factors. These can include the driver’s age, postal code, driving history, credit score and other factors. The least expensive car insurance in New Hampshire is USAA at an average of $204 per year, but note that this is only available for military families. The next cheapest and most widely available option is Amica Mutual, which offers an average annual premium of $304.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in New Hampshire
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in New Hampshire
- 3.Commerce Group Inc$313$26
- 5.Concord Group$337$28
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average New Hampshire driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
Car insurance costs by company in New Hampshire are based on the minimum coverage of 25/50/25 for a 40-year-old male residing in New Hampshire driving a 2010 Toyota Camry with a good driving record and credit score.
If you're instead looking for a policy that balances quality with affordability, MoneyGeek also ranked the top car insurance companies in New Hampshire.
Compare Auto Insurance Rates
Ensure you're getting the best rate for your auto insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in New Hampshire While Leasing a Car?
Note that the minimum requirements for car insurance in New Hampshire required by the leasing company will likely differ from the mandates from the state. Most leasing companies often require that drivers get full coverage car insurance, with a minimum of 100/300/50 in limits. To determine your exact minimum coverage requirements, contact your financial leasing company.
How much insurance you should get will depend on a variety of factors, such as how much your car is worth, the assets in your car you want to protect and more. MoneyGeek recommends getting at least full coverage insurance with 50/100/50 limits in New Hampshire. Take note that 6.1% of the driver population in New Hampshire remains uninsured. If an uninsured driver hits you, you may not be covered unless you have full coverage insurance.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in New Hampshire
While New Hampshire does not require car insurance, uninsured drivers who get into an accident can still get penalties. This includes, but is not limited to:
- License and registration suspension
- License and registration revocation for repeat offenders
- Driving privilege suspension
- Restoration fees that can reach up to $100
- Requirement of SR-22 insurance
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in New Hampshire
Learn More About Car Insurance
About Mark Fitzpatrick
- CollisionClaims.com. "Utah Diminished Value." Accessed June 28, 2021.
- New Hampshire Department of Safety. "Insurance Requirements/SR-22." Accessed June 26, 2021.
- New Hampshire Department of Safety. "Fees and Fines." Accessed June 26, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Fact Book." Accessed June 26, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Background on: Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists." Accessed June 26, 2021.
- Kelley Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance by State." Accessed June 28, 2021.
- New Hampshire Department of Safety. "Insurance Requirements/SR-22." Accessed June 28, 2021.