Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in New Hampshire: Everything You Need to Know

After being charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI), your car insurance company can legally drop or choose not to renew your policy. If you don’t get dropped, you can expect to pay higher insurance premiums. On average, car insurance in New Hampshire after a DUI costs $1,291 per year, while it’s only an average of $744 per year for drivers without a DUI.

Advertising & Editorial Disclosure
Last Updated: 10/6/2022
Written By     |  

Progressive is MoneyGeek’s pick as the best full coverage and minimum coverage insurance provider following a DUI in New Hampshire. Our research found that Progressive is also the cheapest car insurance provider for both full and minimum coverage insurance in the state following a DUI.

iconribbonBestAuto InsuranceAfter a DUI2022

Best Companies for DUI Insurance in 2022

Insurance companies in New Hampshire can legally refuse to insure you if you have a DUI on your record. Providers may still offer you car insurance after getting a DUI, but you could pay up to 73.45% higher compared to drivers with clean records.

Your rates get more expensive after a DUI because having such a violation indicates that you’re a high-risk driver. Aside from severe financial setbacks, a DUI in New Hampshire can result in jail time, fines, license suspension and mandatory interlock installation.

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin
Insurance Rates

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Hampshire After a DUI

Nationally, the cheapest car insurance companies for people with a DUI are Progressive and State Farm. In New Hampshire, Progressive has the most affordable rates for DUI offenders while State Farm’s offers are averagely priced. It is important to note that the lowest rates can change based on your location.

Cheapest Companies for Full Coverage in New Hampshire After a DUI

The price of your car insurance premiums after a DUI can vary based on your desired coverage level. Full coverage insurance provides more financial protection in case of an accident, but they are pricier compared to minimum coverage policies.

You can find the cheapest rates if you are buying post-DUI full coverage insurance in New Hampshire from these companies:

  • Progressive: $695 per year
  • Concord Group: $1,015 per year

At around $723 per year, USAA is also an affordable option, but it’s only available for veterans, military members and their families.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Full Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
  • Rank
    Company
    Annual Premium
  • 1
    Progressive
    $695
  • 2
    USAA
    $723
  • 3
    Concord Group
    $1,015
  • 4
    Allstate
    $1,144
  • 5
    GEICO
    $1,221

Cheapest Companies for Minimum Coverage in New Hampshire After a DUI

After a DUI, the amount of coverage you choose can affect the price of your car insurance. Minimum coverage policies are often the cheapest available, but they have less protection compared to full coverage policies.

In New Hampshire, you can find the lowest offers from these companies if you’re looking for state minimum car insurance after a DUI:

  • Progressive: $409 per year
  • Concord Group: $582 per year

USAA has the cheapest prices for state minimum insurance for those with a DUI at around $360 per year, but it’s only available to active and retired military members and their families.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Minimum Coverage After a DUI

Scroll for more

swipe icon
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

While state minimum insurance is usually the most affordable car insurance on the market, most people may find this protection to be insufficient. These policies only have liability coverage, which pays for damages in case you’re at fault in an accident. However, minimum coverage policies don’t have comprehensive and collision coverage. It’s best to think about the amount of insurance you need before deciding on a policy.

Top Car Insurance Companies in New Hampshire After a DUI

MoneyGeek ranked the top car insurance companies in New Hampshire for drivers with a DUI. We scored carriers based on affordability, customer satisfaction, financial stability, and more. Based on our analysis, Progressive scored the highest for both minimum coverage policies and full coverage insurance.

Best Companies for Full Coverage in New Hampshire After a DUI

MoneyGeek’s scoring system found that Progressive and Allstate are the best options in New Hampshire for drivers with a DUI looking for full coverage car insurance. They achieved the highest ratings out of the six companies in our study. Progressive scored excellent in complaints, financial stability and discounts, while Allstate had good scores on customer satisfaction and complaints.


1
ProgressiveBest full coverage after a DUI
Score:4.2

5/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

4/5

User Satisfaction

3.5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

If you have a DUI in New Hampshire, Progressive offers the cheapest full coverage policies in the state at around $695 per year. You’ll be paying 17.20% higher compared to what someone with a clean record pays, which is approximately $593 per year.

More About Progressive

Progressive scored excellent in complaints, financial stability and discounts, but they have an average customer satisfaction score. They offer multiple discounts such as bundling, multiple cars, good student, safe driving, pay-in-full and paperless. They also offer unique add-ons like custom parts and equipment coverage. However, they are expensive for young drivers and lack common discounts like anti-theft systems, defensive driving and airbag.

2
Allstate
Score:4.2

3.4/5

Affordability

4.5/5

Financial Stability

4.5/5

User Satisfaction

4.5/5

Claims

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Allstate offers full coverage car insurance for DUI offenders at roughly $1,144 per year. This rate is 23.76% higher than the $924 per year that drivers without a DUI pay for the same policy.

More About Allstate

Allstate is our runner-up pick as the best car insurance provider for DUI offenders in New Hampshire. This provider gained high scores for customer satisfaction and complaints, and it’s cheap for young drivers. It also offers custom parts and sound system coverage. However, you can’t get common discounts such as multiple cars and defensive driving from this company, and it has below-average scores for affordability and discounts.

Best Companies for Minimum Coverage in New Hampshire After a DUI

MoneyGeek’s analysis found that Progressive and Allstate are the highest scoring providers in New Hampshire for DUI offenders looking for state minimum policies. Keep in mind that despite the affordability of minimum coverage policies, their protection may not be enough for most people.


1
ProgressiveBest minimum coverage after a DUI
Score:4

5/5

Stability

4/5

Satisfaction

4/5

Claims

5/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

Following a DUI violation, you can buy Progressive’s’ state minimum insurance in New Hampshire for approximately $409 per year. Meanwhile, a driver with a clean record would pay an average of $356 per year for the same coverage. Drivers with a DUI pay an average of 12.9% more.

More About Progressive

Progressive scored excellent in complaints, financial stability and discounts, but they have an average customer satisfaction score. Nonetheless, they offer multiple discounts such as bundling, multiple cars, good student, safe driving, pay-in-full and paperless. They also offer unique add-ons like custom parts and equipment coverage. However, they are expensive for young drivers and lack common discounts like anti-theft systems, defensive driving and airbag.

2
Allstate
Score:4

5/5

Stability

5/5

Satisfaction

5/5

Claims

3/5

Affordability

Geek Quick Take
Geek Quick Take

In New Hampshire, Allstate’s minimum coverage policies for drivers with DUI costs around $675 per year. The same policy costs approximately $563 per year for drivers without a DUI. Drivers with a DUI pay an average of 16.6% more.

More About Allstate

Allstate is our runner-up pick as the best car insurance provider for DUI offenders in New Hampshire. This provider gained high scores for customer satisfaction and complaints, and it’s cheap for young drivers. It also offers custom parts and sound system coverage. However, you can’t get common discounts such as multiple cars and defensive driving from this company, and it has below-average scores for affordability and discounts.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in New Hampshire After a DUI?

A DUI arrest or conviction in New Hampshire can increase your car insurance premiums by 73.45% because you have proven to be a risky driver. MoneyGeek’s found that DUI offenders pay approximately $1,291 per year for a full coverage policy, while the same policy for drivers with a clean record costs around $744 per year.

Compare insurance costs before and after a DUI using the table below.

How long does a DUI affect the cost of your car insurance?

wallet
Average Cost

Full Coverage

$744
insurance2
Average Cost with DUI

Full Coverage

$1,291
Full coverage policy premiums after a DUI cost::$547 more

This is 74% more expensive.

You can expect your car insurance rates to go up after a DUI violation. This is because driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is risky. If you get a DUI, it only proves to insurance companies that you’re a high-risk driver. Nonetheless, you can use MoneyGeek’s car insurance calculator to get a personalized estimate of rates based on your profile.

Auto Insurance Calculator

See how the Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates vary with the options chosen.

New Hampshire
Female
30-65
Clean

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates

Click the section of the wheel in your price range to see options.

low end

on average

high end

Click an insurer below to visit their review page or continue to your personalized quote.

USAA
tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

A DUI violation can become a costly experience for you. Not only will you have to pay higher insurance premiums, but you’ll also have to deal with additional costs:

  • Fines, court and attorneys’ fees: You’ll need to pay fines and court fees following a DUI arrest or conviction. It may also be necessary for you to hire a lawyer in case you need to post bail or challenge an unfair ruling.
  • Towing or impound fee: After your arrest, your car can get towed and impounded. You’ll need to pay the corresponding towing and impounding fees to reclaim your vehicle.
  • Drug education and treatment: You may be required to undergo drug education and treatment after a DUI.
  • DMV reinstatement fee: You’ll have to pay a fee to reinstate your driving privileges after your license revocation.

Getting Car Insurance in New Hampshire After a DUI

It can get challenging for you to get car insurance after a DUI. Because insurance companies are private businesses, they are usually free to refuse to insure you. If you have a DUI, that means you’ve engaged in risky behavior, making you a high-risk driver in the eyes of insurance carriers. With a 10-year look-back period, you can expect difficulties obtaining insurance during this period.

However, it’s still possible for you to find car insurance companies who will offer you auto insurance, but expect that they will charge more. Shopping around and comparing offers is the best way to get the lowest rates available for you.

tip icon
MONEYGEEK EXPERT TIP

In New Hampshire, drivers with a high-risk traffic violation such as a DUI are legally required to buy SR-22 insurance before they can restore their driving privileges. It’s a document that confirms that a driver’s insurance coverage meets the state’s minimum requirements. SR-22 insurance policies and regular insurance policies are essentially the same. However, the latter is more expensive due to the increased insurance premiums that usually follow a high-risk violation.

New Hampshire DUI Laws

In New Hampshire, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs has severe legal consequences. Depending on your prior DUI convictions, you can get jail time, pay fines and lose your driving privileges. MoneyGeek broke down DUI laws in New Hampshire in the table below.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC at or above 0.08% is considered a DUI

    Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) refers to the percentage of alcohol in your bloodstream. In New Hampshire, operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% (0.02% for under-21 drivers) or higher is considered a DUI. Additionally, you can still get arrested with a lower BAC if your ability to drive is noticeably impaired.

  • This is an icon

    Driving with a BAC of 0.16% or higher will result in increased penalties

    If you’re caught driving with a BAC of 0.16% or higher, you’ll be facing more severe penalties because that’s considered an aggravated DUI. Driving with a BAC of .16% or higher is considered a Class A misdemeanor.

  • This is an icon

    Six-month administrative license suspension on first offense

    During your first DUI offense, your license can get suspended for six months.

  • This is an icon

    Ignition interlocks are mandatory

    You’ll be required to install an ignition interlock device after your license reinstatement. Depending on the court ruling, it can be anywhere from 1–2 years.

  • This is an icon

    Has open container laws

    New Hampshire prohibits you from possessing open containers of alcohol inside a vehicle, whether you’re a driver or a passenger.

  • This is an icon

    Has repeat offender laws

    If you’ve committed another DUI during your look-back period, you’ll be given harsher penalties.

Insurance Rates

Compare Insurance Rates

Ensure you are getting the best rate for your insurance. Compare quotes from the top insurance companies.

widget-location-pin

Frequently Asked Questions

It can be challenging to find car insurance after a getting DUI in New Hampshire. MoneyGeek answered some frequently asked questions to help you know more.

Methodology

To determine the top companies for individuals with DUIs in New Hampshire, MoneyGeek analyzed each company’s financial stability, customer satisfaction, claims and affordability based on data obtained from state insurance departments and Quadrant Information Services. The rates above are based on a 40-year-old male with and without a DUI driving a 2010 Toyota Camry LE with 12K annual mileage.

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources