Car Insurance in Utah: How to Find the Policy That Fits You
MoneyGeek offers analysis and solutions for every Utah driver’s insurance needs.
Find the Best or Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah
MoneyGeek gathered and evaluated car insurance quotes from various providers in Utah to help drivers find the cheapest rates. We used our unique scoring system to rank companies that balance cost and affordability.
To help drivers understand car insurance costs in Utah, MoneyGeek broke down the price of car insurance and how it’s impacted by age, driving record and other factors.
MoneyGeek’s resources above discuss the cheapest and best car insurance in Utah for different kinds of drivers. Meanwhile, our table below offers a brief overview of what can be expected. Note that all our recommendations are for a full coverage policy unless specified otherwise.
- Minimum liability: GEICO
- Full coverage: GEICO
- Drivers with a DUI: American Family
- After an accident: USAA
- Drivers with a ticket: GEICO
- Drivers with bad credit: GEICO
- Senior drivers: GEICO
- Student drivers: GEICO
- Overall: GEICO
- Customer Service: State Farm
- On a Budget: GEICO
- Poor Driving Record: GEICO
- Military: USAA
- Young Drivers: GEICO
- New Cars: Allstate
- Low-Mileage Drivers: Nationwide
Get a Utah Car Insurance Quote
MoneyGeek’s research found that car insurance quotes in Utah can vary for the same driver by as much as $700 per year depending on the company. The best way to find the lowest rates is by shopping around and comparing quotes. Obtaining offers doesn’t have to be time-consuming, and it could result in huge savings on monthly premiums.
Car Insurance Laws in Utah
MoneyGeek provides all the information you need to know about Utah’s car insurance laws and requirements. Utah requires drivers in the state to have the following coverages:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $65,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $15,000 property damage liability per accident
- $3,000 personal injury protection per person
Utah’s state minimum insurance doesn’t include comprehensive and collision insurance, and it has low liability limits. As such, it’s important for drivers to know how much insurance they really need and consider if they should get more insurance than what the state requires.
In Utah, drivers who have received traffic violations such as a DUI are required to file an SR-22. This is a form showing proof of insurance. MoneyGeek analyzed the cost of getting insurance with an SR-22 and explained the process of filing the form with an insurer.
Specialty Car Insurance in Utah
Traditional car insurance does not always fit some drivers’ needs. MoneyGeek covered alternative forms of car insurance in Utah to help consumers make informed decisions, including non-owner, temporary and low-income car insurance. Learn more about these unique car insurance options in Utah below.
MoneyGeek Specialty Car Insurance Resources
Non-owner car insurance
In Utah, non-owner car insurance is an option for someone who doesn’t own a car but needs proof of insurance.
Temporary car insurance
Drivers who rent cars often or who are going to need insurance for a short amount of time can opt for temporary car insurance in Utah. They can buy a traditional policy and cancel it early or opt for rental car insurance.
Car insurance for low-income drivers
While most states don’t offer support for car insurance, MoneyGeek listed ways that low-income people in Utah can save on their car insurance.
About the Author