A driver in South Dakota will need car insurance with minimum requirements of 25/50/25. You will also need to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The above limits mean that your policy should cover $25,000 in bodily injury per person, up to $50,000 for all injured people in an accident and $25,000 for property damage coverage. Additionally, you should have uninsured motorist coverage with amounts matching your minimum liability limits. If your policy does not meet the South Dakota minimum car insurance requirements, you may face various fines and penalties.
South Dakota Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in South Dakota?
How much car insurance do you need in South Dakota? The minimum required amount of car insurance coverage in South Dakota is as follows:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for all the people injured in the accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured/ underinsured motorists coverage
Apart from bodily injury and property damage coverage, it is also compulsory to have uninsured and underinsured motorists insurance in South Dakota. The limits are similar to the minimum liability coverage, but drivers can purchase more if they need added coverage.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
South Dakota’s minimum car insurance coverage caters to third-party injuries and property damage incurred if you are involved in an at-fault accident. Also known as liability coverage, the minimum coverage is typically the basic coverage required by all drivers within the state. However, this insurance only covers injury and damage to other people and their property in an accident where you are at fault. Therefore, to get protection for yourself and your car, you will need to purchase additional coverage.
Minimum car insurance coverage in South Dakota comprises $25,000 in bodily injury per person up to $50,000 for each accident and up to $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
You also need uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage in South Dakota, which protects you if you collide with an uninsured driver and suffer injury or damage to your property. The amounts should match the liability coverage limits. Uninsured coverage covers you and your passenger during an accident if the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance. In contrast, underinsured motorist coverage will protect you if the at-fault driver has inadequate insurance limits.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in South Dakota?
In South Dakota, different insurance companies charge different costs for minimum car insurance. Factors that contribute to this variation include credit score, age, ZIP code and driving record. So while the average cost per year is $817, you may pay more or less depending on the insurer you choose.
Based on the MoneyGeek scores, Farmers Mutual of Nebraska has the lowest rates for the minimum car insurance coverage in South Dakota, at $257 per year.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in South Dakota
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in South Dakota
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average South Dakota driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
The costs used in this study were derived from a policy that meets the state minimum coverage of 25/50/25 and uninsured/ underinsured motorists coverage of the same limit. The sample driver is a 40-year-old male driving a 2010 Toyota Camry and has a good credit score and driving history.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in South Dakota While Leasing a Car?
South Dakota’s car lease requirements may vary from one leasing company to the other. While the standard liability coverage applies across the state, leasing requirements may differ. You will need to purchase a full coverage car insurance policy with 100/300/50 as the minimum limit in most cases. Ensure you find out what is required before signing the lease agreement.
Liability car insurance coverage meets the state’s requirements but does not cover you under all circumstances. Based on MoneyGeek, a 50/100/50 full coverage is the minimum car insurance policy you should get if you want protection for accidents involving an uninsured motorist. Less coverage than this amount means you may not be covered in certain situations involving uninsured motorists.
South Dakota has one of the least number of uninsured motorists, at 7.4%, but that does not mean you are safe from being involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in South Dakota
South Dakota car insurance requirements apply to all drivers. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will be penalized and may end up losing your license. You may also end up paying huge fines and reinstatement fees for your car’s registration.
During an accident investigation, you will need to provide proof of insurance to the state’s traffic officers. This can be a copy of your policy or an insurance ID issued by your provider. You should always have one of these with you each time you drive within the state.
The following penalties apply in the state should you be caught driving without insurance:
- A fine of between $100 and $500
- $50 to $200 reinstatement fee
- 30 days imprisonment inclusive or exclusive of the standard fine
- Maintain SR-22 for three years. Not maintaining the SR-22 as required can lead to the suspension of your driving license, license plates and vehicle registration for a period of between 30 days and one year.
South Dakota only has one set of penalties, unlike the majority of the states. The above penalties apply regardless of whether it is your first or subsequent offense. If you get sentenced, you will have to complete the jail term before requesting your privileges to be reinstated and filing your SR-22 form through your insurer.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in South Dakota
Here are some answers to questions people ask about car insurance in South Dakota.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- CollisionClaims.com. "South Dakota Diminished Value." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- DMV.org. "Car Insurance in South Dakota." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Farmers Insurance. "Carco Inspections." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Fact Book." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Background on: Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed July 11, 2021.
- Kelley Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- Nationwide. "What States Have No-fault Insurance?." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- ValuePenguin. "Auto Insurance Requirements in South Dakota." Accessed July 14, 2021.
- ValuePenguin. "Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in South Dakota." Accessed July 14, 2021.