Rhode Island Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
Rhode Island car insurance laws require each driver to have at least 25/50/25 in liability coverage, which provides $25,000 in bodily injury per person, $50,000 in bodily injury per accident and $25,000 in property damage.
In the event of an accident, this coverage ensures that policyholders can pay for the medical bills and property damage costs of any third party involved. While this may not be completely sufficient, it can still mitigate the risk of out-of-pocket expenses.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Rhode Island?
While how much car insurance you need in Rhode Island is typically dictated by several factors, your policy should at least meet the state's minimum liability requirements. This includes:
$25,000 in bodily injury per person
$50,000 in bodily injury per accident
$25,000 in property damage
When searching for a policy, insurers may refer to these limits as 25/50/25.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Like most states, car insurance is required in Rhode Island. To legally drive within the state, drivers must have a policy with at least 25/50/25 in liability insurance.
Liability insurance includes bodily injury and property damage coverage. Drivers in Rhode Island should have at least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 per accident to pay for the medical bills and wages lost by the other driver and their passengers. Individuals must also have $25,000 in property damage coverage to pay for any damages made to a third party’s property, including their vehicle or the personal belongings within.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Rhode Island?
Several factors can affect the cost of auto insurance policies in Rhode Island. Insurers consider details like your age, zip code, driving history and credit score — but not all factors hold the same weight with each provider. Some insurers may care more about your credit score or driving history, which can strongly affect your premiums.
According to MoneyGeek's study on insurance costs, the cheapest insurer in Rhode Island is State Farm, with premiums costing an average of $430 per year. Conversely, the most expensive option in the state is MetLife, with premiums averaging $1,739 a year.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Rhode Island
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Rhode Island driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
We collected auto insurance policy costs from insurers in Rhode Island, conforming to the state’s 25/50/25 minimum requirement. MoneyGeek used a driver’s profile of a 40-year-old male resident of Rhode Island with a good driving record and credit score who drives a 2010 Toyota Camry.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Rhode Island While Leasing a Car?
Drivers in Rhode Island who are leasing their car will have another minimum to follow on top of the state’s minimum requirements. Leasing companies typically require you to possess full coverage auto insurance paired with 100/300/50 in liability limits. To find out the minimum coverage you need, contact your financial leasing company.
Although Rhode Island requires that all drivers have auto insurance, the minimum required limits may be insufficient in the event of an actual accident. As auto body repair costs an average of $4,548 in Rhode Island, MoneyGeek recommends getting 50/100/50 full coverage insurance to protect drivers from vehicle repair costs. However, note that how much car insurance you need will ultimately depend on your situation.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Rhode Island
If you are caught driving without auto insurance by law enforcement, you are liable to receive a no car insurance penalty in Rhode Island. Penalties and fines can increase based on your number of offenses — the more times you are caught without insurance, the higher the fine you have to pay.
A fine of $100 up to $1,000, depending on the offense
Suspension of drivers license for up to one year, depending on the offense
Suspension of vehicle registration for up to one year, depending on the offense
Reinstatement fee of $30 up to $50
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Rhode Island
To help readers understand Rhode Island’s car insurance requirements, MoneyGeek answers some frequently asked questions.
Yes. Rhode Island requires drivers to have an auto insurance policy with at least 25/50/25 in liability limits.
Yes. Proof of auto insurance is required to register your vehicle in Rhode Island. You will also need your title and registration application, VIN verification results, a photo ID and an out-of-state title if you are moving from another state.
Rhode Island’s minimum car insurance requirement is 25/50/25 in liability limits, requiring drivers to have $25,000 in bodily injury per person, $50,000 in bodily injury per accident and $25,000 in property damage coverage. This coverage pays for any damages or injuries to third parties.
Auto insurance policies in Rhode Island commonly follow the car instead of the driver. If you authorize someone else to drive your vehicle and they get into an accident, they will be covered by the insurance policy you purchased.
Purchasing an auto insurance policy in Rhode Island without a license is possible, but it may be difficult. Without a license, insurers will view you as risky to insure and may either charge you high premiums or choose not to insure you at all.
No. Rhode Island is not a no-fault state, requiring the individual at fault to pay for third-party injuries. No-fault states require insurance policies that can pay for the policyholder’s own injuries in an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage is not required in Rhode Island. This coverage pays for you and your passenger’s medical bills, pain and suffering and lost wages after an accident.
No. Uninsured motorist insurance, which protects drivers who get into accidents with uninsured individuals, is not a requirement in Rhode Island. However, as 16.5% of drivers in Rhode Island are uninsured, MoneyGeek recommends getting this coverage to stay protected on the road.
Yes. Rhode Island allows a driver to make a claim for diminished value compensation after an accident. Diminished value compensation allows drivers to recover the loss of their vehicle’s value after an accident.
If you receive a DUI in Rhode Island, your insurance requirements won’t change. You will not be required to file for an SR-22 certificate.
Drivers in Rhode Island must complete a CARCO inspection to apply for certain types of auto insurance coverage. This inspection requires a vehicle photo to document its condition before insurance, taking note of the physical condition, mileage and existing accessories. CARCO inspections typically occur to prevent fraud and protect both the driver and the insurer.
Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.