Pennsylvania’s minimum car insurance requirements include 15/30/5 in liability insurance and personal injury protection coverage. This coverage includes $15,000 in bodily injury per person, $30,000 in bodily injury per accident and $5,000 in personal property insurance. Each individual must also receive coverage for a minimum of $5,000 personal injury protection. These requirements ensure that drivers can mitigate the risk of financial ruin in case of an accident. Without car insurance, drivers risk getting penalized or fined and will have to shoulder the costs of accidents.
Pennsylvania Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Pennsylvania?
If you’re wondering how much car insurance you need in Pennsylvania, the state requires liability insurance with a limit of at least 15/30/5, which amounts to the following coverage:
- $15,000 in bodily injury per person
- $30,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 in property damage
- $5,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage
These limits are only the minimum required by the state. If you need more, you can opt for additional coverage or increased limits.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
Pennsylvania’s car insurance laws require all drivers to have at least 15/30/5 in liability insurance and $5,000 in personal injury protection coverage to drive in the state.
Liability insurance includes bodily injury and property damage coverage. Bodily injury coverage pays for the medical bills and rehabilitation expenses of any third party involved. Property damage insurance covers any damage you make to a third party’s property due to the accident. Drivers in Pennsylvania should have at least $15,000 in bodily injury per person, with a $30,000 limit per accident and $5,000 in property damage coverage.
Individuals must also purchase $5,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage in Pennsylvania. This insurance covers damages to you and any of your passengers, regardless of who is at fault in the accident.
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Pennsylvania?
In Pennsylvania, insurers use several factors to determine premiums, including age, zip code, driving history and credit score. Each company weighs these considerations differently, which means your choice of insurer can affect your premiums, as well.
According to MoneyGeek's research, Pennsylvania’s cheapest insurer is USAA, with policies averaging $374 per year. However, their services are only available for military families. For other drivers in Pennsylvania, GEICO features the next-best prices, with auto insurance policies averaging $543 per year.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Pennsylvania
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Pennsylvania
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Pennsylvania driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
Auto insurance rates mentioned from insurers in Pennsylvania were collected based on the state’s minimum requirement of 15/30/5 in liability limits and $5,000 in personal injury protection. We used a profile of a 40-year-old Pennsylvania resident with a good driving record and credit score driving a 2010 Toyota Camry.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Pennsylvania While Leasing a Car?
In Pennsylvania, car lease insurance requirements typically differ from state requirements for ownership. Leasing companies will often require full coverage insurance and a minimum of 100/300/50 in liability limits. Contact your financial leasing company to determine minimum requirements.
In Pennsylvania, 6% of drivers are uninsured. To ensure you have enough auto insurance coverage to face anything on the road, MoneyGeek recommends that drivers in Pennsylvania should have at least 50/100/50 in liability limits and full coverage insurance. This coverage can protect against the cost of damage to your vehicle and ensures you have enough to handle any third-party medical bills with less risk of out-of-pocket expenses.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Pennsylvania
Car insurance is required in Pennsylvania — without it, you may face penalties and fines that can halt your ability to drive legally. Drivers should always keep substantial proof of insurance in their cars, such as an insurance identification card or a copy of the declaration page of your insurance policy.
If you are stopped by law enforcement in Pennsylvania and caught without proof of insurance, you are liable to face the following penalties and expenses:
- Minimum $300 fine
- Three-month suspension of vehicle registration
- Three-month suspension of driver’s license
- Restoration fee for vehicle registration and driver’s license
- No driving of the vehicle while registration is suspended
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Pennsylvania
To help new drivers in Pennsylvania, MoneyGeek has answered a few commonly asked questions.
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- CARCO. "CARCO FAQs." Accessed September 19, 2021.
- Department of Motor Vehicles Pennsylvania. "Insurance Overview." Accessed September 19, 2021.
- Department of Transportation Pennsylvania. "Fact Sheet: Insurance Law." Accessed September 19, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists." Accessed September 19, 2021.
- PennDOT Driver & Vehicle Services. "08 DUI Legislation." Accessed September 19, 2021.