Oregon Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws

Oregon’s minimum car insurance requirements comprise a limit of 25/50/20. In addition to this, your policy must have personal injury protection, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. If you are a driver within the state, your policy should cover up to $25,000 per person in bodily injury, $50,000 per accident and a property damage coverage limit of $20,000. If you do not meet the minimum state requirements, you may face various fines or penalties. Apart from spending a lot of time and money on reinstating your license or car registration, you may also be jailed.

Loading...
tip icon

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Oregon?

Minimum car insurance requirements vary from state to state. So, how much car insurance do you need in Oregon?

To drive in Oregon, you need minimum liability coverage, PIP and UM/UIM insurance. The limits are as follows:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury to others
  • $20,000 per accident for third-party property damage
  • $15,000 per personal injury protection
  • $25,000 per person uninsured motorist coverage per person and $50,000 per accident

This is typically written as 25/50/20. You can purchase additional coverage if you want added protection for yourself and your car.

Loading...

What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?

Most states need liability insurance and Oregon is no exception. This insurance coverage covers third-party injuries and damage to their properties should you get involved in an at-fault accident.

The minimum liability coverage limits in Oregon are 25/50/20. These figures represent $25,000 in bodily injury per person, a limit of $50,000 per accident regardless of the number of persons injured and a property damage coverage limit of $20,000.

In Oregon, you also need PIP and UM/UIM coverage. PIP or personal injury protection covers any injuries you may get during an accident regardless of who caused it. This protection has a limit of $15,000 in Oregon. In addition, PIP coverage covers funeral expenses, lost income, medical costs for up to two years after the accident, household replacement and childcare in case of hospitalization. You can also purchase additional PIP coverage if you feel that the $15,000 limit may not meet your needs.

The uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage pays up to $25,000 per person in bodily injury and $50,000 per accident if you get hit by an uninsured driver. This amount is the minimum allowed in Oregon, although you can purchase higher limits.

How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Oregon?

While shopping around for car insurance in Oregon, you might notice a significant variation in cost among different insurers. Some of the factors behind this difference include your age, credit score, driving record and ZIP code. However, you may end up paying higher or lower costs than the state’s average of $1,181 per year.

According to MoneyGeek, the cheapest car insurance within the state comes from GEICO, costing $566 per year. USAA’s car insurance policy costs an average of $465 per year but is limited to military persons and their families.

Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Oregon

Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in Oregon
  • Company
    Annually
    Monthly
  • 1.
    $465
    $39
  • 2.
    $566
    $47
  • 3.
    $629
    $52
  • 4.
    $683
    $57
  • 5.
    $718
    $60

These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average Oregon driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.

The rates used by MoneyGeek in this study are for a policy that meets the Oregon car insurance requirements of 25/50/20 and $15,000 PIP coverage plus uninsured motorists coverage limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. The policy belongs to a 40-year-old male driver with a 2010 Toyota Camry. The driver has a good credit score and driving record.

Loading...

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in Oregon While Leasing a Car?

Although car insurance laws are clear in Oregon, leasing companies may have different guidelines for drivers who intend to ease their car. Most insurers will ask you to purchase full coverage auto insurance with 100/300/50 as the minimum limit. Before purchasing your coverage, reach out to your leasing company to establish how much coverage you will need.

MoneyGeek recommends that you purchase at least 50/100/50 full coverage car insurance in Oregon. Most drivers understand the amount of car insurance coverage to purchase yet may fail to get covered when hit by an uninsured or underinsured motorist if they do not have full coverage insurance. In Oregon, 10.7% of the drivers are uninsured/ underinsured.

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Oregon

Purchasing car insurance saves you a lot of money and time. If you drive without car insurance in Oregon, you may face several fines and penalties. That is why you should have proof of insurance with you each time you are on the road. The proof can either be on hard copy or electronic.

If you get involved in an accident while uninsured, your license may be suspended for up to a year. You will then need to provide insurance proof for three years to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Your insurer will need to send an SR-22 form to DMV to confirm that you have the requisite coverage.

You can face the following penalties for failing to meet the Oregon car insurance requirements.

  • Conviction by the court of law
  • Carry SR-22 insurance with you for at least three years
  • Impounding of your vehicle
  • Suspension of driving privileges for one year
  • File proof with DMV for purchasing insurance for three years
  • Insurer completes and submits an SR-22 insurance form to DMV

Most insurers consider drivers with SR-22 as high-risk and therefore charge higher car insurance rates. So if you are found driving under the influence, you will need to purchase twice the minimum car insurance requirements for the state, which can be very costly.

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in Oregon

When looking for an auto insurance policy in Oregon, drivers may have some questions. We’ve answered some of them below.

Learn More About Car Insurance

About the Author


expert-profile

Mark Fitzpatrick is a senior content manager with MoneyGeek specializing in insurance. Mark has years of experience analyzing the insurance market and creating original research and content. He graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts and Johns Hopkins University with a Master of Arts.


sources