Auto insurance protects you against financial loss due to an accident. North Dakota minimum car insurance includes 25/50/25 liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, along with personal injury protection (PIP). Drivers must have a policy with at least $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident and $25,000 for property damage. For uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, minimum liability limits are $25,000 per person for bodily injury and up to $50,000 per accident. The minimum requirement for PIP is $30,000. Drivers who do not comply with these requirements can face penalties, suspension, fines or jail time.
North Dakota Minimum Car Insurance Requirements, Penalties and Other Auto Insurance Laws
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in North Dakota?
To determine how much car insurance you need in North Dakota, you will have to consider your needs and circumstances as a driver. For some people, having a minimum coverage policy is enough. The minimum coverage policy includes the following:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
- $30,000 personal injury protection
North Dakota minimum car insurance tends to have the cheapest premium rates but has the lowest protection level. For more coverage, get higher liability limits for an additional cost.
What Does This Minimum Coverage Mean?
North Dakota car insurance laws require that all drivers must have liability insurance. This coverage pays for the injuries the other party incurs and damages to the other person’s property if the policyholder causes an accident. Liability limits in North Dakota are 25/50/25, which means you must carry a policy with a minimum of $25,000 per person for injuries and up to $50,000 per accident for all parties involved, along with $25,000 in property damage coverage.
The state also requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage with at least 25/50 limits or $25,000 per person for bodily injury and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury. This type of coverage protects you and your family in the event of an accident due to another driver’s negligence with limited or no coverage.
Additionally, North Dakota car insurance requirements include personal injury protection (PIP) with a minimum coverage limit of $30,000. PIP covers expenses for injuries you get in a car accident regardless of who is at fault. PIP insurance in North Dakota pays for:
- Medical expenses
- Rehabilitation expenses
- Work loss not exceeding $150 per week
- Survivors income loss not exceeding $150 per week
- $3,500 for funeral, cremation and burial expenses
- Replacement services loss not exceeding $15 per day
How Much Does the Minimum Car Insurance Cost in North Dakota?
Various factors affect the cost of auto insurance in North Dakota. Insurance carriers will consider your age, credit score, driving history and ZIP code to calculate your premium. Insurance rates also vary significantly by company.
For the average driver with a North Dakota minimum car insurance, the cheapest widely available option is Nodak Mutual, with an average rate of $208 per year.
The least expensive option based on average rates is USAA ($171 per year). However, USAA policies are only available to current and former military members or their families.
Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in North Dakota
Cheapest Minimum Car Insurance in North Dakota
These prices are only estimates based on rates for an average North Dakota driver and should not be used to compare insurance prices.
The average car insurance rates used in this study are based on North Dakota’s minimum car insurance requirements of 25/50/20 liability coverage, 25/50 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and $30,000 PIP. The sample driver profile is a 40-year-old male driving a 2010 Toyota Camry who has a good driving record and credit score.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in North Dakota While Leasing a Car?
North Dakota residents need to meet the minimum coverage requirements to operate a motor vehicle legally. But if you plan on leasing a car, your minimum requirements may not be the same. Leasing companies typically require full coverage car insurance with minimum liability limits of 100/300/50. Actual North Dakota car lease insurance requirements may vary per company. Contact your financial leasing company to determine the coverage you need.
The best auto insurance policy for you will be based on your needs and circumstances as a driver. North Dakota minimum car insurance provides basic protection. If you need additional protection, consider full coverage. MoneyGeek recommends 50/100/50 full coverage.
Suppose you get hit by a driver who has limited or no insurance. In that case, your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will pay for the expenses you incur if you suffer from related injuries. In North Dakota, around 13% of motorists are uninsured.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in North Dakota
North Dakota drivers must have auto insurance with at least the minimum coverage requirements. In addition, drivers should present proof of insurance if a law enforcement officer asks for it. This ID card is also necessary to register a motor vehicle in North Dakota. Driving without car insurance in North Dakota can lead to fines, penalties, suspension and jail time.
- First offense: you can be charged a fine ranging from $150 to $1,000. The state will also suspend your license until you purchase an insurance policy.
- Second and subsequent offenses: If you are found driving without insurance again within a year of your previous conviction, the penalties increase. The state may charge a fine of $300–$5,000, set jail time for 30 days and suspend your license indefinitely until you can show proof of insurance in court.
Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance in North Dakota
When looking for the best auto insurance policy in North Dakota, drivers may have some questions in mind. We’ve answered some of these questions below:
Learn More About Car Insurance
About the Author
- CARCO Group. "CARCO FAQs: Pre-Insurance Inspection FAQs." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Claims Journal. "Does Automobile Insurance Follow the Car or the Driver?." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Consumer Federation of America. "Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance by State." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Farmers. "CARCO Inspections." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "2020 Insurance Fact Book." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Background On: Compulsory Auto/Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Insurance Information Institute. "Facts + Statistics: Uninsured Motorists." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Kelley Blue Book. "Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance by State." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- Nationwide. "What States Have No-Fault Insurance?." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- North Dakota Legislative Assembly. "Chapter 26.1-40 Automobile Insurance and Warranties." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- North Dakota Department of Transportation. "Driving Record Services/Suspensions." Accessed July 12, 2021.
- North Dakota Department of Transportation. "North Dakota Motor Vehicle Registration Information." Accessed July 12, 2021.